We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely stunning”
La Grange au Merle - Luxury Catered Chalet, Chatel. Sleeps 10-13.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Grange au Merle - Luxury Catered Chalet, Chatel. Sleeps 10-13.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
La Grange au Merle - Luxury Catered Chalet, Chatel. Sleeps 10-13.
La Grange au Merle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Chatel, Abondance, Portes du Soleil, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Y9182XLin...
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely stunning”
Reviewed January 23, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

fabulous chalet in a fabulous location . Nothing was too much trouble for the hosts who made us feel very very welcome indeed. Would recommend without a shadow of a doubt , in fact looking to book next year:)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 24, 2018
Thank you for your comments. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us in Chatel!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamGreen4...
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautifully Appointed Chalet”
Reviewed September 18, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We booked La Grange as a place for extended family to meet for a summer holiday. The chalet has been beautifully renovated and is really well appointed. There are 5 good size double bedrooms plus a kids bunk room - beds comfy and nice linen. We were self catering and Clare put us in touch with a local lady who made some very nice and good value meals that we could heat up and eat in. The chalet is probably a 15 min walk into town so we often drove up as had small kids in tow. Would happily recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and I hope we can welcome you back to Châtel in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassado...
1 review
“Beautiful accommodation in wonderful location”
Reviewed May 26, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

La Grange au Merle is a beautiful traditional Alpine Chalet that has been magnificently restored to provide a luxurious base for a break in the mountains. The location offers wonderful views over Chatel and surrounding peaks and although, during our late spring visit, the ski lifts were closed we were still able to find walks in all directions. All of the bedroom spaces are superb, living areas are large and the balconies a real focal point. Wonderful hot tub and sauna - a real bonus.
I would highly recommend the chalet for a break at any time of the year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 26, 2017
Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you in Châtel in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gorgeous catered chalet in sunny Chatel”
Reviewed April 26, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

A real luxury ski experience for me and my family - first time we have stayed in a catered chalet and we are converts! - fantastic food, delicious and hearty breakfast and a too-inviting afternoon tea awaiting after a day's skiing. Silka and Valerio, who manage the chalet made us all feel very welcome and taken care of during a memorable stay. Nice touch for hosts to organise ski passes, transfers and also ski hire to visit you at chalet on arrival - no dash to ski hire shop with kids in tow. My young children (10, 6 and 3) loved their snuggly bunk bed, the roaring log fire, the hot tub and the garden to play in / make snowmen in the afternoons. Great canapes in the evening once the children tucked up, with lovely selection of wine to choose. Valerio also doubles up as our taxi driver for the 3 minute drive into town or 20 mins to Pre la Jou (good for young ones), so plenty of ski variety. We were blessed with great sunshine during our stay but snow held up well on the slopes. A very memorable, sunny and happy holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure to have you stay at La Grange au Merle.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al_Graves...
gravesend
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Sold as luxury but certainly does not live up to that!”
Reviewed March 14, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I should have been suspicious of all the excellent reviews for this chalet that were by people only submitting 1 review

When we arrived we were dropped off nobody came out to help us with our luggage – we didn’t even know where to go as there were no signs!

The other family staying were lovely but they had 2 children – 1 very young – they asked us if we had been told about the children before we booked and we were not!

The dinner on the first night was terrible – we had cooked frozen assortment of pastries, no starter and then roasted chicken – this was cut into pieces but they were more pigeon sized and certainly not enough to go round – the veg served was rock solid!

The food over the week improved slightly but the chef was certainly not Michelin trained as the web site states. Every night though the food came out barely warm – serving on cold plates certainly did not help this!

According to the website we should have had home baked afternoon teas! – this was not the case – they were shop brought cakes! Not great and not what we were expecting – when we returned to the chalet there was nobody there and no teas ready or even a fire going! We had to do this ourselves! Again not what I’d expect in a “Luxury chalet”
Breakfasts were ok but we had to ask for milk and butter on most days, I also had to ask for coffee every morning as the services really wasn’t that great! I was also surprised that there was no porridge?

We were also asked to stagger our showers as there were problems with the hot water – again not expected in a luxury chalet.

We were also told not to use the sauna as is tripped the electrics.
The hot tub was dirty and had lots of gravel in the bottom it also seemed like there was too much chlorine in it – the fumes from the water actually made our eyes water.

We were also made to feel very uncomfortable about transfers and pickups – never know anything like it – a 1 hour slot in the evening and the same in the morning is not great when you are quite a walk from the nearest slope!

The chalet itself is lovely it’s just a shame it’s not up to the standard described on the website and the chalet staff let you down, we were not made to feel particularly welcome and felt bad when we had to ask anything.

I know the other family were not happy

The chalet staff also did not seem aware of the website and what the expectation were for them.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 18, 2017
I am disappointed to hear that you did not have a good experience at La Grange au Merle. Feedback is always encouraged and we will investigate the reasons for your less than perfect stay with us. I hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a more agreeable holiday in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolmjam...
Esher, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cannot fault this chalet, everything is fantastic, chef and host best ever”
Reviewed March 5, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

It was so easy to book this chalet, the owner responds immediately, takes care of the ski hire, ski passes, transfers, etc etc. You arrive at the chalet and everything is ready. The standard of chalet is first class, an absolute winner.

The chef is the best we have ever come across for a catered chalet, its likes eating at a top London restaurant every night.

Our party consisted of 9 adults and 5 children under the age of 3 years old and as you can imagine it was extremely chaotic but our chalet host dealt with every challenge easily and professionally.

This chalet is a must.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 7, 2017
I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at La Grange au Merle. Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie...
1 review
“Absolutely brilliant”
Reviewed March 4, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This ski chalet is second to none. Not only is the chalet beautifully refurbished with great facilities but the hosts Silke and Valerio could not have been better. The food was incredible, far better than in most restaurants. No request was too much for the team who cooked and cleaned and ferried us to and from the slopes.

We were a group of 9 adults and 5 children aged 3 and under. The chalet was really well equipped with buggies and beds and high chairs. A hearty home cooked equally delicious meal was provided for them every evening. During the day there was plenty of space for them to play inside or outside in the garden and little play house.

For the adults there was a bar and a wine cellar, jacuzzi and sauna which all made it very hard to leave the chalet after returning from the slopes.

I would highly recommend this chalet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 5, 2017
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Clarian Chalets. Thank you for your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing