We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cannot fault this chalet, everything is...”
La Grange au Merle - Luxury Catered Chalet, Chatel. Sleeps 10-13.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Grange au Merle - Luxury Catered Chalet, Chatel. Sleeps 10-13.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
La Grange au Merle - Luxury Catered Chalet, Chatel. Sleeps 10-13.
La Grange au Merle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Chatel, Abondance, Portes du Soleil, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Al_Graves...
gravesend
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Sold as luxury but certainly does not live up to that!”
Reviewed March 14, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I should have been suspicious of all the excellent reviews for this chalet that were by people only submitting 1 review

When we arrived we were dropped off nobody came out to help us with our luggage – we didn’t even know where to go as there were no signs!

The other family staying were lovely but they had 2 children – 1 very young – they asked us if we had been told about the children before we booked and we were not!

The dinner on the first night was terrible – we had cooked frozen assortment of pastries, no starter and then roasted chicken – this was cut into pieces but they were more pigeon sized and certainly not enough to go round – the veg served was rock solid!

The food over the week improved slightly but the chef was certainly not Michelin trained as the web site states. Every night though the food came out barely warm – serving on cold plates certainly did not help this!

According to the website we should have had home baked afternoon teas! – this was not the case – they were shop brought cakes! Not great and not what we were expecting – when we returned to the chalet there was nobody there and no teas ready or even a fire going! We had to do this ourselves! Again not what I’d expect in a “Luxury chalet”
Breakfasts were ok but we had to ask for milk and butter on most days, I also had to ask for coffee every morning as the services really wasn’t that great! I was also surprised that there was no porridge?

We were also asked to stagger our showers as there were problems with the hot water – again not expected in a luxury chalet.

We were also told not to use the sauna as is tripped the electrics.
The hot tub was dirty and had lots of gravel in the bottom it also seemed like there was too much chlorine in it – the fumes from the water actually made our eyes water.

We were also made to feel very uncomfortable about transfers and pickups – never know anything like it – a 1 hour slot in the evening and the same in the morning is not great when you are quite a walk from the nearest slope!

The chalet itself is lovely it’s just a shame it’s not up to the standard described on the website and the chalet staff let you down, we were not made to feel particularly welcome and felt bad when we had to ask anything.

I know the other family were not happy

The chalet staff also did not seem aware of the website and what the expectation were for them.

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 18, 2017
I am disappointed to hear that you did not have a good experience at La Grange au Merle. Feedback is always encouraged and we will investigate the reasons for your less than perfect stay with us. I hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a more agreeable holiday in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolmjam...
Esher, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cannot fault this chalet, everything is fantastic, chef and host best ever”
Reviewed March 5, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

It was so easy to book this chalet, the owner responds immediately, takes care of the ski hire, ski passes, transfers, etc etc. You arrive at the chalet and everything is ready. The standard of chalet is first class, an absolute winner.

The chef is the best we have ever come across for a catered chalet, its likes eating at a top London restaurant every night.

Our party consisted of 9 adults and 5 children under the age of 3 years old and as you can imagine it was extremely chaotic but our chalet host dealt with every challenge easily and professionally.

This chalet is a must.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 7, 2017
I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at La Grange au Merle. Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie...
1 review
“Absolutely brilliant”
Reviewed March 4, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This ski chalet is second to none. Not only is the chalet beautifully refurbished with great facilities but the hosts Silke and Valerio could not have been better. The food was incredible, far better than in most restaurants. No request was too much for the team who cooked and cleaned and ferried us to and from the slopes.

We were a group of 9 adults and 5 children aged 3 and under. The chalet was really well equipped with buggies and beds and high chairs. A hearty home cooked equally delicious meal was provided for them every evening. During the day there was plenty of space for them to play inside or outside in the garden and little play house.

For the adults there was a bar and a wine cellar, jacuzzi and sauna which all made it very hard to leave the chalet after returning from the slopes.

I would highly recommend this chalet.

Date of stay: March 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 5, 2017
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Clarian Chalets. Thank you for your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sg437
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed February 11, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Absolutely beautiful chalet. Amazing chalet hosts who were a delight to have around. Food was far superior to anything we have ever had in the Alps before. Nothing was too much trouble and they did everything they could to accommodate our group. We travelled with five children under the age of 5 and the chalet was very well set up for them all. Cots, high chairs, playroom, changing mats etc. Babysitting was included for staff night off which was great. Washing machine and dryer was also very useful!
Stunning views from the front bedrooms and the sitting room.
Minibus service to the lifts at the beginning and end of the day was brilliant but easy enough to catch local bus back to chalet between times if need be.
All in all a great holiday!

Date of stay: January 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 11, 2017
Thank you for your kind words and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stacijame...
Doncaster yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Chalet”
Reviewed February 6, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We have recently returned from a wonderful weeks holiday staying at the Chalet . They Chalet it's self is fabulous the best we have stayed in , very clean , great interiors , tv we could all work !!! , beautiful bed linen and comfy beds . We had family and friends in the whole Chalet , my family stayed in the family room with my six year old twins sharing the bunk beds , my little girl got the bottom bunk and had a wonderful surprise because it had fairy lights underneath which she could turn on and off her self !
Silke was a fantastic host nothing was to much trouble for her to organise! We also enjoyed some wonderful meals by Valero and trips to the slopes , he even helped us down the drive so we didn't slip .
It's also with great access to the village and super Chatel lift ! Our children enjoyed ESF ski school , and we enjoyed the vast skiing area making it to Avoriza .
Clare was super organised before we went booking everything inc our ski hire passes lessons etc
Thank you for a great skiing holiday .

Date of stay: January 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 7, 2017
It was our pleasure to welcome you to Chatel and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards, Clare
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joebrenna...
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Just Brilliant”
Reviewed January 30, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Every part of our stay this January was so good that it was hard to write a review in the hope we could keep this place a secret for ourselves (considering we already looked to book a year in advance with the fear it would be booked out once the word got out of how good it is).

What a warm welcome arrival to the Chalet with a blazing open fire ready after your journey and dinner in the oven. Our two hosts were so friendly and helpful on arrival and such patience and clarity in explaining everything about the accommodation. Having stayed in other ski accommodation, walking into the bedrooms made you feel like you were staying in a 5 star log cabin hotel. Amazing warm cosy bedrooms (with easy system to set your own temp) and beautiful spa like bathrooms with all the best touches. (Bed could not be more comfortable by the way.)

Ski hire arrives to chalet and fit us all individually at our leisure so the our first day of skiing wasn't a trek to the ski shop and loads of flustering around, what a lovely luxury.

Distance to the nearest lift was 2 min drive (less then 10 min walk) which is to the centre of Chatel. The chalet staff dropped us down every morning, or to any other locations we wanted to start from which were all close by. Staff were really flexible in arranging pick up times and locations at the end of each day and all with such ease. However, there is a really brilliant constant bus and shuttle service right to the door of the Chalet. The main bus circle between resorts is quick and regular and then the smaller bus around the town which drops you to the door of the chalet again is so handy every half hour. (Watch out for lunch though where there is an hour and a half gap in the bus service).

So the food...well, fantastic is an understatement. Firstly it was so flexible time wise in accordance to what suited our group which was brilliant. It was practically like a 5 star menu every evening. Beautiful pre meal drinks and snacks followed by 4/5 course meals every night. Every course announced in detail by our host, all homemade from local produce and amazing deserts every evening. Wonderful cheeseboards followed with local cheese and lovely house wines throughout. We had 2 younger children in the group and staff were so kind to them and catered food for them to whatever they liked and gave them such attention to keep them really feeling special.

Wonderful selections of other wines available at a very reasonable price.

Breakfast was set for whatever time we wanted (but generally early enough with ski school which inevitably was better to get us all up and on the slopes anyway). Great selection of cereals, fruit, pastries every morning followed by a mix of eggs, bacon etc . Again really relaxed and great service to wake up to.

Our fabulous chef made afternoon tea every day which consisted of a surprise cake of some sort waiting for you when you arrived home from your days skiing. Was really a great touch to arrive home to.

One night of the week we ate out and had a really great meal in a spot recommended by staff. Lovely food at again reasonable price and great evening. Walked back in ten mins to Chalet.

The Chalet has great sound system, easy to use and enables everyone to have control of music throughout the house through Wi-fi. Wi-fi itself was really good and reliable. Each room looked out on to the hills and brilliant views to wake up to every morning. The outdoor hot tub was really a treat. Brilliant to sit there before dinner every day looking out over the mountains and warming up after our days skiing. Theres a great big tv with comfortable bean bags and couches for everyone to enjoy with all mod cons for kids.

Staff were so so kind and professional. They could not do enough for us as a group and were so thoughtful in everything. Such small things as getting baby wipes when they did a shop because we had a young child with us, really little touches of anything they could help with was wonderful. They brought such relaxed atmosphere and really made us feel at ease while looking to make us feel so comfortable all the time.

We comfortably had 11 adults and 2 kids sharing the Chalet and its so big that you wouldn't even notice. Every one of us had such a wonderful time and there was not a single negative thing about the holiday. (We were lucky with the snow pre arrival so even the weather was perfect.) The drive from Geneva Airpot was approx 1.5hrs and transfers not too expensive.

The pre dealings with the owner in all arrangements were really good and she was very helpful in all her help. We really look forward to returning next year (and I imagine at least one of the group will look to make a summer booking for walking holiday as well which proves how perfect our stay was!!!).

Really cannot say enough about Chalet, location, communication, food and importantly the staff. Absolutely fabulous.

Joe and the R-O Ski Group

Date of stay: January 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 30, 2017
Hi Joe,
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again!
Kind regards
Clare
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMoutofto...
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxurious cozy chalet with a 4 star chef”
Reviewed January 25, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at La Grange au Merle for 6 days over New Year with another couple. We all (including our 7- and 9-year-old children) didn’t want to leave. The location is awesome, close but not too close to the center of Châtel with a magic view of the mountains on the other side of the valley. Picture postcard perfect.

We were really looked after. Upon our arrival skis and boots were fitted in the boot room of the chalet and ski passes had been arranged.

The chalet itself is immaculate. Newly refurbished with lots of lovely touches that make it a warm, cozy home away from home. The owners clearly have an eye for the finer details and know what's required.
The beds are excellent with Egyptian cotton linens that make it so easy to get a great night's sleep. For downtime, there is a jacuzzi outside and a sauna inside, they are wonderful additions that add to the relaxation. In the beautiful living area with a vaulted ceiling is a large dining table for long evening dinners. In an adjoining snug the children played games or watch TV without disturbing the others.

The chef's years at alBulli clearly paid off and the hostess kept us and the chalet in top shape.
It's also so nice that there's an ample supply of tea, coffee, wine and beer to enjoy as you like.

Overall a great place to stay, somewhere we highly recommend and we can't wait to come again.

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing