We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Restaurant le Castellan
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Belalp(Chatel)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
L'Escale(Chatel)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Arc en Ciel(Chatel)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Internet
No availability for your dates from our partners
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveler rating
25
16
13
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
16
13
3
2
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 59 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2009

Travelling to Chatel early in Jan 09, post the New year rush, ensures empty pistes, no queuing and superb service. Chatel offers easy access from Geneva to the extensive Portes du Soleil area
We decided to return to this hotel 2 years after our first visit and were not disappointed. Yes the bedrooms are due for a refurbishment but are clean and warm and the public areas are lovely. At this price it is unfair to expect 5 star luxury.

The staff could not have been more obliging. We would definitely recommend eating in the resturant for dinner.

This remains a perfect option for a short ski break.

(I would avoid Germain Sports 2000 in the centre of Chatel for ski hire. We have had poor service and quality now on 2 occasions).

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulianandGillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

Very dated hotel, rooms are in dire need in refurbishment, specially bathrooms. we stayed in a standard room with shower cubicle. shower was terrible. walls are very thin and you are waken up very early by your neighbours every morning.

staff were the most unwelcoming encountered in a ski resort.

location was ok, 5 min walk from centre of village, but standard rooms came with no view.

breakfast was ok, but continental exclusively.

overall would not go back to this hotel nor would I recommend. not worth the money, we've stayed in cheaper and better hotels in more famous resorts.

Chatel ski area was not very interesting: very slow lifts, pists were too narrow and crowded. Too many cars and too much traffic in the centre of the village with hardly any pavements to walk on.

avoid linga lift system if you try to reach the portes du soleil (cannot cope with the crowd). best access is from pre-la joux, once you reach Avoriaz ski is amazing.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Carlotta777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2008

WE stayed at this hotel over last weekend and it was FAB. We had booked the 2 superior rooms and for the differenct it was well worth it. The rooms were large and spacious. Ours had a bath with plently of hot water just what you need after a day on the slopes.
Breakfast was very good with croissants to die for. Dinner was out of this world - haven't had better in any Hotel restaurants.

Really recommend

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HAHA-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2008

For a 2** Hotel Le Castellan was very good value for money. We paid £200pp for 4 nights B&B including flight from London LHR to Geneva. The hotel was a 10 minute walk from the main Super Chatel Gondola and with the good conditions we were able to ski back down to the Gondola. The hotel rooms are very basic and in need of modernisation, however they are clean, well serviced and more than adaquate for a base to explore the Portes Du Soleil ski area.
The hotel has a restaurant, bar, ski storage and games rooms.
Breakfast is a continental buffet and is more than you can eat.
Well worth the money and an excellent base for the area and Chatel itself is a very nice Alpine Village/Town.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jcmsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2008

What a beautiful, well loved hotel. We were able to stay for a few select nights and really enjoyed the experience. The hotel is so pretty, with much care to the interior decor, hand painted wooden signs and much more. The breakfast is continental but what a fantastic spread, including homemade cake, local produce, fruit etc. The staff are very friendly. The hotel is ideally situated for skiing as the ski bus passes outside the hotel and the shops and main town are walking distance (turn two corners and you're there, about 300m). The room was spacious and there is the use of a convenient lift, along with parking.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PassionateSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews