We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other traveler has booked this property
Lounge and fireplace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge and fireplace
Boutique, luxury Penthouse over top two floors of this majestic building Luxurious, lounge with log fire and piste views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
144 reviews
Lounge and fireplace
Boutique, luxury Penthouse over top two floors of this majestic building
Luxurious, lounge with log fire and piste views
Dining for 16
Dining area with open fire, staircase and vaulted ceiling
Log fire
Large kitchen breakfast area with piste views
Large kitchen breakfast area with piste views
Mezzanine tv area
Games area mezzanine
Mont du Grange Bedroom 1 King size bed
Cret Beni bedroom suite with 1 king size bed plus 2 singles
Cornettes Bedroom 3 Double bed and bunks
En suite Cret Beni
Cornettes, luxury wetroom/shower
Penthouse Caribou in Winter
Penthouse Caribou, Spring
Dents du Midi
Spring view from Penthouse
Dining on the balcony
Abondance Valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Chatel, Abondance, Portes du Soleil, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 144 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Simon V
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 3, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We’ve recently returned from our second visit to Penthouse Caribou. Great location in a small skiing village that actually feels French. The Penthouse is a fantastic size for our three families. Well equipped. Helpful owners who are close by but are not intrusive. Would strongly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hocking74...
South Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great week is skiing with friends and kids”
Reviewed February 26, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Had an amazing week of skiing with 4 other families. Chalet was like home from home so much space and ability to sit together to eat. Great location close to slopes and had some runs to ourselves on occasions. Martyn and Jacqui always on hand to help. Already thinking about when to go back. Also used ski2hire which was also a great service. Can't wait.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarajoeob
County Wicklow, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Ms”
Reviewed February 12, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Wonderful Penthouse Apartment with amazing mountain views. The apartment is over 2 floors, with a large fire, pool table and outdoor hot tub, within walking distance of the slopes and town, and a 15 minute drive to the larger resort of Chatel.

The apartment is spotless, and has everything you would need for a group holiday. There are 5 bedrooms - 3 en suite and 2 with individual bathrooms.

Thank you to our hosts Jacqui and Martin who were so helpful during our stay! We will definitely be back next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lady_aika
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Lovely and cosy getaway for a group of friends”
Reviewed January 30, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Penthouse Caribou is located on the third floor of a 3-floor house (there's an elevator, so don't worry.) One half of the 2-floor large apartment faces the skiing slope of Cret Breni, providing a superb view over the mountain. We were a group of 13 friends with three toddlers. There were enough space for each of us both in the living rooms and the dining.
Martin and Jacqui are the most welcoming hosts. They provided us with all the advice and care that we needed. I would definitely recommend the place as a base for exploration of Portes du Soleil, if your group has a car.
We could not dream of a better space for our winter vacation. Thank you Martin and Jacqui :-)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W
2 reviews
“Had a brilliant holiday!”
Reviewed January 26, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Had a brilliant week in the Penthouse Caribou. We really enjoyed the Portes du Soleil, what a massive ski area and great snow. Great to relax in the evenings in this huge very well equipped apartment. The hot tub was a tonic for tired ski legs! The owners were on hand with local advice(restaurants, ski lifts and ski passes) and to maintain the hot tub. Will definitely be back again next winter.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen G
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed January 26, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We went to Caribou with a group of friends, the sitting room, dining area & kitchen are large enough for everyone to be together but there is also plenty of space if you need some time alone!! The new addition of the hot tub is great after a day on the slopes (nice to know it’s checked daily by the owners). Jacqui & Martin were very helpful, it was nice to know they are on hand for any information needed. We will definitely book for next years ski holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
d0r0thycb
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous modern spacious chalet with wonderful facilities in a beautiful village”
Reviewed January 25, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Penthouse Caribou sits in a wonderful position with stunning views over the ski slopes which are a 2 minute walk away. The village has local shops and a patisserie and good hotels, ski shops and restaurants. The chalet itself is very modern and spacious but also feels really cosy with the open fire in the middle of the large living area. The kitchen is very well equipped with a large range. I did not use the hot tub but several of our group used and enjoyed it every night and the pool table was a source of much competition. Owners (Martin and Jackie) were great and on hand for any info we needed and Martin checked the hot tub chlorine levels regularly. It is our first time in the chalet during the ski season but we hope to be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing