We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Incredible chalet...!”
other traveler has booked this property
Lounge and fireplace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge and fireplace
Boutique, luxury Penthouse over top two floors of this majestic building Luxurious, lounge with log fire and piste views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
146 reviews
Lounge and fireplace
Boutique, luxury Penthouse over top two floors of this majestic building
Luxurious, lounge with log fire and piste views
Dining for 16
Dining area with open fire, staircase and vaulted ceiling
Log fire
Large kitchen breakfast area with piste views
Large kitchen breakfast area with piste views
Mezzanine tv area
Games area mezzanine
Mont du Grange Bedroom 1 King size bed
Cret Beni bedroom suite with 1 king size bed plus 2 singles
Cornettes Bedroom 3 Double bed and bunks
En suite Cret Beni
Cornettes, luxury wetroom/shower
Penthouse Caribou in Winter
Penthouse Caribou, Spring
Dents du Midi
Spring view from Penthouse
Dining on the balcony
Abondance Valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Chatel, Abondance, Portes du Soleil, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 146 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
SarahbPri...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Incredible chalet...!”
Reviewed February 23, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

A group of 11 of us stayed here during the last week in January, and it was the ideal base for skiing in Chantel, linga and the surrounding valleys- only a short 15-20minute bus ride away.
The chalet itself is incredibly spacious with more than enough room for all of us. The kitchen was well equipped for our needs when we chose to eat in- otherwise there is a range of delicious restaurants just a short walk away. The dining table had more than enough room to seat us all and the 2 lounge spaces and pool table were enjoyed by all. All in all would definitely recommend as a place to stay for an ideal skiing break- thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesca L
1 review
“ChatelAmazing! Very Cozy! Excellent stay!”
Reviewed February 20, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We stayed here with a group of friends in January and our first impression when we first walked in was WOW! this place is beautiful. The chalet was incredibly clean and the interior design is amazing. I'm amazed how big the rooms are and each room has its own individual theme and personality. The best part is coming back to a warm, cozy, relaxing after a long day of skiing. The views of the mountains across the rooms is breathtaking! :))

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma W
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“perfect location, great owners”
Reviewed August 30, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Stayed here for a walking holiday. Everything made very easy by the owner who has really thought through what might be needed, from an easy and good value airport transfer to boot racks to suggested walking routes with or without restaurants/bars on the way round. Kitchen very well supplied if you want to cook and a boulangerie with gorgeous croissants and spar type shop are 5 minutes walk away. We also followed owner's suggestions for evening meals in restaurants nearby and ate brilliantly every time, no need to drive if you want a drink as there are lots of places in the village but taxis available if you want to go further afield.

Views from the apartment to the ski slope opposite are fabulous, and it's lovely to hear the cow bells and then to be able to buy the cheese from the local farm shop. Great apartment, great location for summer or winter holidays.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed July 12, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Fabulous place to stay all the home comforts .
Near to the town
Very welcoming owners
We returned again this year (3rd year) for my birthday .
We had great conditions for snowboarding and with so many resorts within reach we visited as many as possible in the week we stayed .
Will be planing a return next year might even try for the summer as it is so picturesque .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We-love-t...
North Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fantastic few days spent with friends”
Reviewed June 30, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Arranged a walking holiday with friends staying at Penthouse Caribou, have visited in the winter and stayed here and it is just as good in the summer! Plenty of walks from the apartment, ranging from level walking to some steep climbs out of the valley. The flowers in the alpine meadows are amazing, stunning views, good food on the slopes and in Chapelle. A great central apartment with lots of room to share with family or friends, nice to chill on the large balconies and watch the sun go down. We'll be back xxx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and views
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sslorach4...
Hutton Rudby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic luxury retreat for a large group to explore the area.”
Reviewed June 28, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I have just returned from spending 4 nights in Penthouse Caribou with a group of friends.
We came for a few days walking and weren't disappointed. Challenging walks, spectacular scenery and plenty to do and see.
Impressive accommodation, spacious and very well-presented. Lovely croissants & bread from local boulangerie.
I would have no hesitation to recommend this to anyone for a Summer or Winter stay.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
38forthel...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Breath-taking views, fantastic apartment and”
Reviewed April 9, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We were lucky enough to visit Penthouse Caribou a few weeks ago and it was such a treat. The apartment is just incredible. The communal areas are spacious and open and have been decorated to feel homely, and there is an amazing mezzanine floor with pool table and snug area. The bedrooms are huge with lovely comfy beds and fluffy pillows which are very much needed after a hard days skiing. Our bathroom had an enormous bath which looks out through big French Windows directly out at the mountains so you can soak your weary legs with a view to die for!

Jaqui was an excellent host even sorting all of our lift passes, ski hire and transfers. All we needed to do was turn up!

La Chappelle is a beautiful, quaint French village with lovely restaurants and amenities. There are some fab walks around the area if you want to have a break from the slopes. There are slopes at your doorstep or you can get a quick bus to reach the porters du soleil ski area.

It was such a perfect trip and I look forward to going back again some time!

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful view from the bath!
Liked least: Having to leave 😢
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing