We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing chalet, great roads for driving and...”
other traveler has booked this property
Lounge and fireplace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge and fireplace
Boutique, luxury Penthouse over top two floors of this majestic building Luxurious, lounge with log fire and piste views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
146 reviews
Lounge and fireplace
Boutique, luxury Penthouse over top two floors of this majestic building
Luxurious, lounge with log fire and piste views
Dining for 16
Dining area with open fire, staircase and vaulted ceiling
Log fire
Large kitchen breakfast area with piste views
Large kitchen breakfast area with piste views
Mezzanine tv area
Games area mezzanine
Mont du Grange Bedroom 1 King size bed
Cret Beni bedroom suite with 1 king size bed plus 2 singles
Cornettes Bedroom 3 Double bed and bunks
En suite Cret Beni
Cornettes, luxury wetroom/shower
Penthouse Caribou in Winter
Penthouse Caribou, Spring
Dents du Midi
Spring view from Penthouse
Dining on the balcony
Abondance Valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Chatel, Abondance, Portes du Soleil, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 146 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Wendy C
Amersham
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Amazing chalet, great roads for driving and exceptional hosts”
Reviewed July 1, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just had a driving tour to the Alps in our Caterham car. We stayed at the Penthouse Caribou with three other couples who drove their beloved little cars out there as well. The chalet is exceptional...spacious, welcoming, beautifully presented and immaculately clean. There is everything you could wish for - large and comfortable lounges, a large dining room table to enjoy breakfast and dinner and a large balcony for when the weather is fine and you can stand and gaze at the mountains whilst sipping a drink. We occupied four of the five bedrooms...all have private bathroom facilities, the fifth room has a bathroom through a door close by, and robes were provided in this room to save anyone's blushes. The bedrooms are large (the chalet can sleep up to 16 people with sharing of rooms) and well appointed in tasteful furnishings and the bathrooms spotlessly clean with extremely powerful and hot showers which is a real bonus in any apartment. Hair driers are provided as is an extension lead taking English plugs on a French socket adaptor so there is no problem charging up any phones, lap tops etc. Jacqui and Martin are the perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble. Some route maps had been organised by Martin and the drives were spectacular taking in stunning scenery, lovely windey roads and stopping at various points of interest along the way. As a car group or biking group, there is a abundance of choice in the length of drives you can do in and around the area or to go further afield. Martin and Jacqui have an extensive knowledge of the area and can help point you in the direction of restaurants, shopping and most importantly for us, petrol stations! We would thoroughly recommend staying at The Penthouse Caribou if you are on a driving or biking holiday....most importantly, there are facilities to be able to clean your car or bike downstairs. We had an amazing time with our friends and our little cars and we hope to return next year for another tour and maybe a ski trip as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the luxurious feel of the chalet and the helpfulness of the hosts.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason T
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
“Incredible Chalet, Perfect Location”
Reviewed May 2, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I stayed at Penthouse Caribou with some friends back in March. Firstly we were so impressed by the chalet; massive, luxury with open log fire and great dinning, lounge and mezzanine areas where we had some great fun-filled nights, dinners and apres-ski! The location was prefect, nestled in the charming village of La Chapelle d'Abondance we were up on the slopes in no time and enjoyed some fantastic skiing as well as great french cuisine in nearby restaurants. Jacqui was an absoulute star host and ensured we had as much fun as possible. An amazing few days, we cannot wait for next season so we can go back!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubysmum6...
Stokesley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fourth Visit”
Reviewed April 23, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Third return to the wonderful Penthouse Caribou where it was awesome to see the amazing accommodation alterations as well as some subtle decorative updates. I slept in the "loft" in the "new room" and it was like escaping to my own little heavenly hideaway every night. The skiing was once again perfect and the sunny weather was fantastic. Ate out in the village on two occasions, just an easy walk up to the restaurants and the return route a welcome downhill after an action packed day. The vast ski area and facilities Chapelle d'Abondance and Chatel have to offer, combined with this fantastic apartment really necessitates spending twice as long out here to fully appreciate everything. Any non-skiers would certainly have no problem in occupying their time while the rest of the party were out on the slopes.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The spaciousness and the good showers/bathrooms.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus K
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A delightful experience.”
Reviewed April 18, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

"[The Swiss Wall is] made to be loved, not understood" - Oscar Wilde

There are a few times in a man's life when he can say, with full gratitude, that a week achieved pure perfection. This delightful chalet, equipped with anything anyone could want or need, provided the base for a truly magical skiing experience. The slopes boasted some of the best skiing in the world; our party was not disappointed. This charming chalet had all the trappings and effects synonymous with an authentic alpine adventure; warm fittings and subtly opulent decor. I, and all my friends, would wholeheartedly recommend this beautiful apartment and captivating area to anyone wishing to have a delightful experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
272emmap
Headingley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gorgeous chalet making my first ski holiday even more special!”
Reviewed April 13, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

10 of us stayed here for 6 days towards the end of the ski season, and couldn't of had a better time! The chalet itself is lovely, clean and spacious and has a very homely feel. Jacqui and Martin made us feel very welcome and recommended some great restaurants to visit, including Les Cornettes. Their knowledge of the area was also a great advantage to us, and as this was my first skiing holiday Jacqui organised some ski lessons for me with a great instructor which was wonderful. The chalet has beautiful views of the area, and the heated boot room downstairs to store all our gear was an added bonus, meaning everything could dry out overnight.
I had a fantastic holiday and would definitely return to Penthouse Caribou without question!

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura N
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fourth time and still as good as the first!”
Reviewed April 3, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Another year rolls by and yet again I returned to the wonderful Caribou with friends for a relaxing few days. This time we opted for car hire (arranged ourselves) which negated the need for rushing around to catch a bus/the seemingly long wait for the last bus home when all you want to do is get your boots off and the fire on the go!

The property remains in a great condition and of course that amazing view of the slopes never changes. The hosts have an in depth knowledge of the local area and are happy to arrange ski hire, transfers and lift passes. We were a smaller group this time than in previous years but everyone remained social and communed around the kitchen for a chat about the days antics as the wine flowed and the sun set.

Lunch in Les Cornettes on our last day is a tradition now and sets us up for the late journey home. (Make sure you book a table in advance!)

I hope to back for a fifth time in 2016!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We-love-t...
North Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC PLACE TO STAY”
Reviewed March 26, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My third stay at Penthouse Caribou! I was with a group of 8 friends and this is a great place to stay, sleeps up to 16 and even then there would be plenty of space. Large lounge, dining room and a fantastic mezzanine, with pool table and tv seating area, great to chill out and watch the last skiers coming down Cret Beni, which is the closest ski run within walking distance. We hired cars this time, but the ski bus stops close to the Penthouse and takes you to the massive ski area of Porte de soleil. Jacqui arranged ski passes, lessons and advised on the best places to eat, of which there are a few within walking distance.

Another fantastic stay, Hope to return...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The space
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing