We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Professinally run with a homely feel”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Chatel, Abondance, Portes du Soleil, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Karockred
Sussex
1 review
“Professinally run with a homely feel”
Reviewed March 2, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Stayed here for a week with some of my family and found the chalet to be excellent standard and the food was really good with great variety and plenty of wine. The hosts definitely dont' hold back on quantity or quality and really put themselves out to ensure you get the most from your holiday. The door-to-piste-to-door shuttle service is a real bonus as the chalet is too far to walk to lifts but is in perfect position to access the village shops, restaurants and swimming pool. If I had one negative its that the room my son had was not designed for a 6'2" adult as the bed was bit small and sloping bathroom ceiling made the shower too low for him., However this room would be fine for anyone of "standard" height and didnt really detract from his holiday experience. The Chatel area was lovely and there was plenty of off slope attractions as well as miles of excellent skiiing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the location was excellent (with the shuttle service)
Liked least: skiing conditions but thats pot luck with the weather!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richard_a...
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Going the extra mile to make our holiday special”
Reviewed March 2, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Stayed in the last week of February 2015. We were a party of three, Dad + 2 ("20 something") daughters , all previous skiers with fairly wide experience of Hotels./Chalets/Self catering. Right from our initial booking, Frances gave the attention to detail before our arrival, which is both unusual and most welcome and meant Passes, Lessons, Ski hire.etc were all arranged and ready when we arrived. . The Transfer arrangements from and to the Airport were excellent with minimal waiting. The Chalet is modern but traditional in style, warm, spacious, welcoming and very well positioned for both ski lifts and the village centre. Notwithstanding the very good ski bus service that stopped 80 metres from the chalet, Glen, Frances or our chalet host, dropped us off each morning at our choice of lift and happily collected us later if requested in time. The ground floor Ski room had heated boot racks which made boots warm and good ski racks. The Chalet hosts, Rory, Hayley and Melissa were very friendly, cheerful and always helpful. The meals and wine were very good and generous and alternatives were available if requested. We used the hot tub and sauna and the satellite TV for 6 Nations on Saturday. The bedrooms were comfortable, ensuite and well equipped. Glen & Frances were excellent, entertaining owner/managers, clearly concerned that their guests enjoyed themselves, which we all did. They also offered useful guidance on Ski areas and restaurants/bars etc. Our fellow guests were also delightful and were repeat visitors for a 3rd time, which surely says it all. I'm delighted to say there was nothing to criticise, it was an excellent week and exceeded our expectations. Will we visit again ? When we return to the Portes Du Soleil, yes we will.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendliness and helpfulness of the owners & staff
Liked least: Having to leave !
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect place to spend your ski-ing holiday”
Reviewed February 10, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Had a wonderful time during our stay in Chalet Les Frangins. Our hosts Glenn & Francis were very friendly, helpful and accommodating and the catering by Hailey & Rory was excellent.

The chalet is well laid out with ample relaxing room for all and is probably the best we've experienced in our 10 years of skiing. The location is spot with easy access to pistes - especially with the new lifts recently opened, or for walking to nearby shops/restaurants.

We highly recommend it and hope to return.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duncan e
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT WEEK FOR LARGE GROUP - EXCELLENT STAFF!”
Reviewed February 3, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

15 of us shared Chalets Aaron and Coeur du Bois - we have been skiing as a group for several years and have never experienced such helpful and flexible staff - nothing was too much trouble! The food was fantastic, the chalets very spacious and we enjoyed the hot tubs and saunas too! We will booking for next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The staff
Liked least: The five minute walk home from the lift !
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralphiesk...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another fantastic experience at chalet Les Frangins”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Another great weeks stay at the chalet les frangins where we were looked after excellently by Cat and Matt whose cooking was excellent. Frances and Glen looked after us excellently both on and off the slopes and catered for all our requests. We had a great themed night to celebrate 1 of the parties 50th birthday where Cat, Matt, Glen and Fraces ensured we had an excellent night where they went beyond and above what we could have expected. They also all joined in which made it an even better night of celebrations. This is as good as it gets in regard to chalet holidays.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_W437
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful chalet, food, hosts & skiing. Perfect all round.”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We have been staying with Glen & Frances for several years in Les Frangins, Coer de Bois and this year a girls ski trip in Chalet Aaron. The chalet was as expected wonderful, immaculately clean, good food and of course the hot tub. As usual Glen & Frances were there to greet us and everything was organised for us. Right opposite the Linga bubble for direct access to the slopes but the bus also stops at the bottom of the drive for the 5 minute drive to Pre la Joux. Even though we had mixed weather, we still managed to ski loads of the huge Portes de Soleil ski area. Definitely will be back next year with the family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shona R
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service, well equipped chalet and great skiing”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

The service from staff was excellent throughout - nothing was too much trouble. The chalet was very spacious and well equipped with a lovely view across the valet. The price was competitive. Chatel turned out to be a diamond of a ski area. First class on all counts.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing