We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Summer in Chatel”

Review of Chalet Le Reve

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Chatel, Abondance, Portes du Soleil, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Phyllis P
Wigan
1 review
“Summer in Chatel”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This was our 3rd visit to the chalet but our first in the summer. We were not disappointed!
The weather was perfect and we found so much to do for the whole family (3 Generations)
The chalet was great as we were able to make use of the outside space and had breakfast on the deck most mornings with pre dinner drinks there in the evening.
Would certainly recommend the area and the chalet for both winter and summer holidays.
Lawrence the owner was as usual more than helpful and that is what makes holidaying here such a welcoming and enjoyable experience.

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely feel to the property and customer service which is excellent
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 21, 2013
Thanks Phyll, pleasure to have you back and pleased you enjoyed your holiday so much and there was something for all the family. Looking forward to seeing you back soon for skiing. Best wishes Lawrence.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Reviewed August 13, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2013
Thanks Lisa so pleased you and the kids enjoyed such a wonderful summer holiday relaxing and also doing so many things and visiting so many places enjoying the wonderful food and scenery. Great that the chalet suited everyone so well and that there was so much to do. Pleased all the guides I sent were helpful - never expected you to get to all those places. You're welcome back any time! Perhaps try some skiing - sure you and the kids would love it. Best wishes Lawrence
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PJP17
Surrey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Recently returned from wonderful skiing week in Chatel. Chalet was perfect for our mixed age group with plenty of space for everyone to chill and relax. Beds and bathrooms ( which apart from snow are the most important things for a skiing holiday!) were great and we never ran out of hot water! Ski bus service to Linga was a 2 minute walk which saved using the cars. A lovely warm and welcoming chalet with an extremely helpful owner (Lawrence). Can highly recommend to anyone wishing to ski this region.

Date of stay: March 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and comfort
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 14, 2013
Thanks for your great review and pleased that you had a fantastic holiday and that everyone enjoyed themselves. Helpful to know that all the facilities worked well. It was lovely to hear all your news during the week and thanks for the photos. Thanks for being such terrific guests and looking after the chalet so well. You're welcome back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pronsias5...
Tullamore, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A perfect home from home!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

This is one of the best chalets we have rented for a large group. It is really spacious and exceptionally well equipped. So cozy and comfortable. Having a bathroom for every bedroom was ideal and the extra apartment downstairs was great for the teenagers in our group to have their own space to watch DVD's or listen to music while the adults relaxed in front of the roaring log fire with a glass of wine. There is a large selection of the latest movies and a bookshelf full of books and a variety of board games at the chalet - so no reason to be bored! Having two kitchens made cooking for 12 really easy and two fridges accommodated all the food for such a large group. Lawrence, the owner, is an exceptional host, sending much information on the resort, bus routes and practical information before we even left home. He recommended Al for transfers who provided an excellent service cheaper than any other company online. Andy the chalet manager picked up our lift passes and left them at the chalet for us on arrival. We used skihire2u for our equipment and it was as simple as providing the required information online before departure and all our gear was delivered and adjusted at the chalet on the eve of our arrival and collected on the eve before our departure - all hassle free and at a substantial discount! The large and well equipped supermarket a five minute walk away, albeit along a very busy main road, had a wide selection of foodstuffs which made catering very easy. If you want to go into Chatel at night or stay late after skiing, it's not very practical as the buses finish at 8.00 p.m. and there are no taxis catering for large groups. Although the village is within walking distance,the road is dark and does not have a footpath making it quite dangerous for walking. All in all, great accommodation with excellent support services and a charming host!

Date of stay: February 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The separate kitchen which was really well equipped and two living rooms.
Liked least: The dangerous main road on way to the bus stop and supermarket.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 28, 2013
Wow what a wonderful review, what can I say - so flattered, thanks. So good that the chalet met all your requirements and felt like home from home. It's very satisfying when all the hard work pays off and guests have a really enjoyable holiday. I'm exceptionally fortunate to be supported by such a great team: Andy, Ali, and Dave/Donna who work so hard too to make sure you have the best holiday and it all goes as smoothly as possible. Pleased you enjoyed the books and DVDs. Love catching up on the National Geos myself and just stepping off the world. You chose a great week for skiing and sun and sorry if there was too much snow covering the pavements. We often shop on the way back from skiing and take the bus back from outside the supermarket. You were fantastic guests who really looked after the chalet so well, thanks. You're welcome back any time, winter or summer. Thanks again for such a superb review and have a great Easter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaandM...
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic spacious Chalet in an amazing ski area. A real gem!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We enjoyed an amazing week in half term here. The chalet is extremely spacious with 2 separate living areas, 2 kitchens, a large dining table all bedrooms either had en suite facilities or a separate bathroom. There was ample parking for 3 cars. We were a group of 10 adults and had more than enough space for all. The bus stop to the slopes is very close by and a good well stocked (and not too pricey) supermarket within walking distance. The wood burner in the living area was amazing and with loads of outside space I can imagine the chalet would also be great in summer. The chalet was clean and nicely furnished, booking very easy and the owner was a pleasure to deal with and happy to help in any way he could. We had an amazing week and would definitely recommend this chalet for large groups or families. Thanks for a great week!

Date of stay: February 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious and comfortable layout, ease of access to slopes
Liked least: No restaurants / bars within walking distance
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 16, 2013
Many thanks for such a great review and recommendation. Really pleased the chalet suited your requirements so well and you all had such a good time and enjoyed Chatel and the chalet. Being 'foodies' having the large supermarket nearby was important so good to see that it provided everything needed. Many families like the space and comfort and don't stray too far from the large log fire though the many bars and restaurants are also very tempting. My chalet manager works hard to prepare the chalet well especially at Feb half-term, busiest week of the season, so pleased that all was good for you on arrival. Having picked a great week for skiing, you enjoyed all the varied and extensive runs that the PDS offers and so many Bluebirds. You were fantastic guests and took great care of the chalet, thanks. Please come back soon; you're welcome any time winter or summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 12, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Date of stay: March 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: layout of chalet, with TV downstairs
Liked least: Bus journey home from Pre La Joux at end of day
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 15, 2013
Thanks so much for such a great review. Pleased that the chalet suited all your needs and you relaxed so much and enjoyed your holiday making the most of the skiing. It was a pleasure to help you with all your plans and to find a suitable place at Les Dents Blanches for part of your group and that the two chalets worked so well. Appreciate all your feedback about making ski hire even better and have passed this on. You were fantastic guests and looked after the chalet so well, thanks. You're welcome back any time winter or summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hopestar7...
Aldershot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic chalet and great amenities.”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

This chalet was fantastic and ideal for our skiing trip. The location was great, situated on a quiet street and very close to the supermarket which was great as we were self catering. The log fire in the main living room made it very cosy and was a treat when coming in off the piste. The amenities were great and plenty of bathrooms etc for our groups needs. The handover/takeover of the chalet was straight forward with the chalet manager and we had no problems whatsoever over our week. I will be returning again without a doubt and would recommend this chalet highly. The skiing in resort was excellent and the town is around 15 minute walk however there are plenty of buses that pass by the chalet and the nearest bus stop is 50 m away. Great chalet, very clean and looked after. Thanks for a great holiday.

Date of stay: January 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I liked the cosyness of the chalet, and the log fire was fantastic.
Liked least: Cant really think of anything I didnt like.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 5, 2013
Many thanks for such a complimentary review and high commendation. We try to ensure that there are good facilities and amenities for large groups so are pleased it suited your group so well. My chalet manager and others work hard to ensure that things run smoothly with accommodation, transfers, lift passes and ski hire and appreciate your kind remarks. Being so close to the main supermarket is also convenient so glad that also worked well. Thanks also for taking such good care of the chalet. You were fantastic guests and are welcome back any time winter or summer - you'd love the cycling in the summer; lots of road biking and mountain trails to discover and some great walks and hikes in the Chablais mountains to keep you in the peak of fitness.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing