We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, friendly staff, caring,...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Kandahar Hotel

Le Kandahar Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Kandahar Hotel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Chatel
Aalst, Belgium
1 review
“Excellent, friendly staff, caring,...”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

They serve really nice food. They serve gluten-free food if you ask for it. Classic european breakfast with various choice. Freshly sqeezed orange juice. Excellent and clean relaxation facilities (sauna/hammam/gym/shower). Charming room!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scheerlinck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We did not stay at the Kandahar hotel but ate twice in the restaurant. Both times we were a large party of 16. We had a wide selection of food from snails to salads and steaks, all of which were excellent quality and value.Our waiter, Kevin was charming and helpful and provided an excellent service.He even conjured up a large firework candle on the desert for one of our party who was celebrating her birthday. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuziBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Didn't stay at the hotel, but dined here and can only recommend this restaurant to anyone. They managed to squeeze us in on a heavily booked Friday night and the service was great, the menu was child friendly, the food was fantastic and such good value.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We ate there in February 2013. It was excellent and not too expensive. You must reserve as it is often full. We had fondue aux cêpes which was exceptional. The wines were good also and not too expensive. We were seven each time we ate and we did not reserve but they managed to fit us in. We were very lucky, best is to call and reserve beforehand.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paris75018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here on a family skiing holiday for a week in February 2013 and I was very pleased.

The positives:

- The staff were very helpful about accommodating our 3-month-old baby daughter - including removing one of the beds and putting up a travel cot.
- The buffet breakfast was great, with a range of pastries, freshly squeezed orange juice and plenty to set you up for a day on the slopes.
- Most of the meals (with the exception of one or two) were enjoyable. More what I would describe as solid Alpine fare (tartiflette, a fair bit of cheese, cream, bacon used, etc etc) than super-swish cuisine but flavoursome and very competently executed. Drinks were good value, too.
- The hotel is very close to a ski bus stop and particularly convenient for La Linga. (NB the maps shown on the bus stop signs are completely unintelligible and appear to show a mirror image of the actual route...)
- Convenient basement ski storage and boot warmers.

The negatives:

- While the room was plenty big enough for a couple with a baby, it was not super large and I imagine that if there had been a 3rd grown-up it would have been rather cramped.
- The decor was getting a bit tired.
- Quite hard to strike a balance at night between temperature and noise: windows all closed = overheating, window open = some traffic noise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londoner27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is a conveniently sited hotel for skiing, close to a ski bus stop that serves the Linga and Super Chatel lifts. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the food is excellent. My only complaint is that the rooms (and particularly the toilets within them) are very small, to the extent that it is quite difficult to use the toilet with the door closed.

Room Tip: Not surprisingly, rooms away from the road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mantadad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chatel hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Macchi
Hotel Macchi
#1 of 18 in Chatel
260 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Neige
Hotel Fleur de Neige
#2 of 18 in Chatel
269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Logis le Roitelet
Logis le Roitelet
#7 of 18 in Chatel
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
L'Escale
L'Escale
#3 of 18 in Chatel
44 reviews
0.5 mi away
B&B Le Choucas
B&B Le Choucas
#5 of 18 in Chatel
57 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Eliova l'Eau Vive
Hotel Eliova l'Eau Vive
#8 of 18 in Chatel
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Kandahar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Kandahar Hotel

Property: Le Kandahar Hotel
Address: 1620 route de la Dranse, 74390 Chatel, Abondance, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Abondance > Chatel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Chatel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Kandahar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Kandahar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing