We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great snow! Great chalet! Great holiday!”
Review of Chalet Tzigane

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chatel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Tzigane
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Chatel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great snow! Great chalet! Great holiday!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Thanks to Al at all for another great week! Comfortable chalet with all the amenities you could ask for from free wifi to boot warmers. What's better than putting on warm, toasted boots in the morning to relaxing in the hot tub after long day on the slopes or even after après ski :)

Great hospitality and catering with friendly team that goes beyond the norm, providing transfers to and from the lifts and the obligatory night into town. Al also provided a day's guiding, even if you're not familiar with the area you always felt you were in good hands.

Fantastic Value for money and looking forward to next year! Thanks Al and team!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
4
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Well this was my first Trip to the Chalet Tzigane and I know it won’t be my last. Thanks to the amazing hospitality by Al and the team, and the homely comforts that the Chalet very confidently provides. I really could not fault any part of my stay. The food and non-stop flowing wine was fabulous and very welcomed after a long day on the slopes not to mention the amazing hot tub which was always available to sooth away the aches and pains of the day. Thanks Guys, looking forward to seeing you next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Another cracking visit to Chalet Tzigane!

This winter was my third time there (1 summer and 2 winter trips) and the chalet is certainly starting to feel like my home away from home in the Alps thanks to the awesome hospitality delivered by Al and his team. Tasty food, excellent chalet and great location. Looking forward to visit number 4!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Al and his team work so hard to provide you with the best custom holiday experience you can ask for. Nothing is too much trouble and they do it with a big smile on their face.

Chalet Tzigane is beautiful kept, so comfortable, and both rustic and high tech were needed. The Hot Tub - luxury......

Finally onto the food. Beautifully prepared and presented, with gorgeous wine to compliment. I could not have asked more.

Thanks to the team for making my week!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Spent a week at Chalet Tzigane at the end of Jan 2013. From drinking Jagermeister in the hot tub to fantastic food each night, the place could not have been better. Al and Emilie are incredibly friendly and Al took us out twice for some priceless guiding, we wont mention the Apres Ski, but Al makes an effort to participate with his guests.......!
The chalet has everything you need, with games consoles, internet, a superb roaring fire and new boot warmers, I will be back next year for sure.
Cant fault the place at all and be reassured you will have a worry free holiday should you stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knokke-Heist, België
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Thanks Al & Emilie for one of the best skiholidays we've had.

The chalet was well equipped - spacious rooms, 2 living rooms (one for adults, one for kids with PS & XBOX (games available)), hottub on the terrace, heating rack for your ski shoes, ...

The service provided by Al, his wife Emilie and the 3 people who work for them is superb. We had a little child with us and they provided babysitting services on multiple occasions, even on the day off for the personell (extra charge, but we don't mind paying for extra services rendered). Al is a superb guide, and he took us skiing 2 times - this is very handy if you don't know the domain well since he shows you places you probably wouldn't find on your own.

The food was excellent and very varied. They even made seperate food for our 3 little children (3,5,5 years) since they don't like eating the same as the parents do... :) The breakfast was good, and if you want extra things for breakfast just let them know and they'll try and sort it out for yo on the next day. Wine/Champaign/Sodas included are good, though they should get some Belgian beers in the house :)))...

Thanks for the excellent vacation Al, we might come back one day!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Yet again another fantastic week in Chalet Tzigane. 2 big dumps of snow helped but Al, Emilie and their staff looked after the 10 of us brilliantly. This is the sixth time i've stayed with them and will go again. From sipping wine in the hot tub after a hard days skiing to relaxing in front of a cosy fire after a lovely 3 course meal the chalet has everything you need to completely unwind. Can't wait to go again next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatel
1.0 mi away
Hotel - Restaurant Fleur de Neige
0.9 mi away
Hotel Macchi
Hotel Macchi
#1 of 18 in Chatel
266 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chalet Le Dragon
Chalet Le Dragon
#2 of 11 in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chalet Cannelle
Chalet Cannelle
#1 of 11 in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
161 reviews
0.9 mi away
Residence Prestige Odalys Les Fermes de Chatel
0.6 mi away
CGH-Residence les Chalets d'Angele
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Chalet Tzigane

Property: Chalet Tzigane
Address: 20 Chemin des Vorres, 74390 Chatel, Abondance, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Abondance > Chatel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Chatel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner run independent luxury catered chalet in Chatel offering great value ski holidays and fully catered mountain bike adventures in the Portes Du Soleil. Free transfers,Open fire, wifi, hot tub and much more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing