We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't tell anyone...”
Review of Chalet Tzigane

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chatel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Tzigane
Ranked #1 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Chatel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Yet another amazing ski holiday, staying in Chalet Tzigane. From the moment you arrive Al and Emilie ensure that you have a wondeful time, you don't want to leave! The chalet is a wonderful place to relax. You cannot help but enjoy every part of your day whether on the slopes, in the hot tub, enjoying a touch of apres ski or sitting down with your friends or family to a wonderful 3 course meal. What a terrific way to spend Chris' 40th and a great excuse for a 2 week adventure! I can't wait to spend his 41st the same way!! Let's do it all over again!! THANK YOU.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 192 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2012

Simply the best! This was our 3 time back to Chalet Tzigane! Al & Emilie made it such a fantastic family holiday for us. Al was there to meet us at the Airport and thats when the holiday begins. Emilie is there when you arrive to welcome you to there beautiful immaculate chalet. They both look after us all so well and make your stay so relaxing. The food is fantastic and the wine flows all evening!! Al is there to take us to and from the slopes everyday. He took us this year to parts of the Portes du Soleil we had not been to as our guide - amazing!! It really is the best holiday and our girls particularly enjoy the hot tub after a hard day on the slopes!! Its so relaxing enjoying a glass of wine in front of the log fire and discussing the days skiing! We shared the chalet again this year with a family we had met there 2 years ago and its now our best holiday and can't wait for next year!! Its like home from home, Emilie is such a perfectionist and the chalet is so warm and welcoming. Stolly the cat deserves a mention too! he is adorable !! Al and Emilie are the best hosts and that is why we keep going back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJDewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We and 2 friends and families have just spent a week staying with Al and Emilie, and we have had a perfect week. Whilst the snow was great it was the fantastic stay at Chalet Tzigane that made the week. It started with a champagne welcome and our children's ski equipment greeting our arrival. The food was excellent, and nothing was too much trouble. A log fire and a relaxing dip in the hot tub greeted our arrival back from the slopes, having been picked up by Al and Emilie when asked. The 2 days that Al spent with us on the slopes was so much fun, the kids were in his pocket the whole time. We are looking to return to Chatel next year and it will definitely be Al and Emilie.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I have just come back from staying at Chalet Tzigane for the 5th time now in three years. I usually have at least one summer trip mountain biking and a winter trip snowboarding. It really does say something when you don't want to stay anywhere else apart from here. The Portes Du Soleil area is absolutely fantastic for sking, snowboarding and mountain biking, but to top this off staying at Al and Emilie's really makes this place special. The hospitality is incredible, and once you get to know these guys it seems like a trip to see some really good friends, rather than a planned holiday. The Chalet is superb and most evenings are spent in the hot tub whilst some fantastic food is cooking. I have been all over the alps snowboarding since the late nineties and really have not found a better place. Thanks guys, will be seeing you in June!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong here they are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimbigdrums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Yet again another fabulous ski holiday (2012 was our third year back). Picked up and welcomed like old friends by Al at the airport and from that moment the holiday really starts. Total relaxation and great skiing. I think the hardest decision I had to make all week was if I wanted another portion of Emilie's delicious food or if I should really have another vin chaud! The chalet gets better and better with improvements being made very year - all the bedrooms are of high standard with comfy beds and the lounge dining/decking and jacuzzi area are stylish yet homely with space for everyone to relax after another hard day on the slopes!

Thanks for another great holiday - see you next season X

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FiSymes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Al and Emilie made everything so easy. From picking us up at the airport to sorting out passes, skis and boots, which were at the chalet ready for us try on when we arrived. Those of us who wanted to ski straight away were whisked to the lifts, a few minutes away, by Al and we were on the slopes by 1pm having left London that morning. Back at the chalet in the evenings we were looked after like kings and queens. The quality of the food would put many restaurants to shame and with a hot tub and a log fire it's hard not to relax after a hard day's skiing. The skiing area is massive, there's something for all levels and if you want to head out at night Chatel village has some decent bars as well.
To sum up... i'll be going back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Somewhat of a delayed posting seeing as we stayed there the 2nd week of January but I had to write something. What can I say about Chalet Tzigane and the hosts Al and Emilie!!!!! Where do I begin......the booking of the Chalet was really easy from the start, Al and Emilie were very accommodating of our group and we were fully informed of services that were on offer. The Ski2U service (see separate posting on this one) was perfect, we would have fumbled our way through ski hire shops had this not been recommended. The Chalet was absolutely perfect, the layout was great and it was very clean giving everyone enough space if they wanted some quiet time but also very cosy if you wanted to socialise. The food was brilliant, we even tried our hand at our own Tartiflette. It was great going out with Al on two days out of our 7 and made a real difference as he knew all the best places to go and which lifts to get on when......I think we covered about 80km of terrain on the 2nd day phew : o)) We had a great laugh competing in the Chalet Slalom race at the end of the week and were the very proud winners of the "GRAND CHAMPIGNON" Al and Emilie were truely grateful we started the season well for them. I would definately return to Chatel and when I do I wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: The room just outside the bootroom is very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chatel hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel - Restaurant Fleur de Neige
0.9 mi away
Hotel Macchi
Hotel Macchi
#1 of 18 in Chatel
283 reviews
0.5 mi away
Logis le Roitelet
Logis le Roitelet
#6 of 18 in Chatel
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant le Castellan
0.5 mi away
Le Kandahar Hotel
Le Kandahar Hotel
#5 of 18 in Chatel
48 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Les Triolets
Hotel Les Triolets
#11 of 18 in Chatel
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Tzigane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Tzigane

Address: 20 Chemin des Vorres, 74390 Chatel, Abondance, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Abondance > Chatel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Chatel
Price Range: $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner run independent luxury catered chalet in Chatel offering great value ski holidays and fully catered mountain bike adventures in the Portes Du Soleil. Free transfers,Open fire, wifi, hot tub and much more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing