We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With hosts like this it's no surprise Chalet Tzigane is such a success!”
Review of Chalet Tzigane

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chatel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Tzigane
Ranked #1 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Chatel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Al greeted us at the airport like we were old friends, and the hospitality we recieved during the week from Emilie, Al and Charlotte was was second to none. They went out of their way to ensure we had an easy and relaxing time. Ski passes were organised beforehand and were handed out on our arrival. For those requiring equipment rental, Al organised the guys at SkiHire2U to drop in on Sunday night and fit everyone out and then collect everything again at the end of the week.
The chalet is awesome and the hot tub is a bonus after the long days of throwing yourself down a mountain.
Mealtime was a treat, worthy of being served in a 5 Star restaurant.
After having had such a great time, I don't think that I'd like to go anywhere else. I'll definately be back next year.
Thanks guys!

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Its_Me_Wally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 192 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2012

I have just returned from an amazing weeks skiing in the stunning Porte du Soleil. Not only were the skiing conditions just fabulous on and off piste but I was part of a group of 8 who were lucky enough to end up in the hands of Al and Emily. Thank you for an amazing stay.

It was so nice not to have to worry about airport transfers but also Al and Emily provide such a flexible shuttle to the piste that there was no need for a car. It was perfect.
The Chalet is super clean, spacious, comfortable, well kitted out and homely. The hottub was perfect apres ski. The food from start to finish was delicious. Faultless three course suppers are complimented with the most delicous red and white wines. Teatime treats were well loved.

Al organised for us to be kitted out by a billiant company called Skihire2U (I think) who are really knowledgable and have great kit to come to the chalet and sort us out - I feel that I must mention my super comfy pair of skiboots! Al sorted out the skipass in advance so we were ready and raring to go.

Hosting obviously comes naturally to this pair who provide a truly chilled out holiday. Thank you again Julia and Kit Clifford

Room Tip: All the rooms are great...all doubles are ensuite. They all benefit from stunning mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia551719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Stayed here in Jan 2012 with 10 friends and had an amazing time. I was a beginner, had never skied before and the chalet and resort were ideal for my first time skiing, as well as for all my friends who are all very good skiers and snowboarders. Al, Emily and Charlotte were the perfect hosts, really friendly and knowledgeable and would definitely recommend to friends or families looking to stay in the area.

Best bits...

1. Hot tub was perfect post skiing
2. Food was excellent, 3 course dinner 6 nights of the week and unlimited
3. Al went skiing with some of the group around the resort and showed them the best runs and also arranged for the snowboards to go out for the day with a ex Pro, they loved it!
4. Chatel is a great little town, good nightlife, lots of bars and restaurants
5. Boot drying room is really useful
6. Rooms were all good sizes and spotless, free wifi and PC to use
A great chalet, thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank treacle1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Once again another great trip. An awesome chalet in both the summer and winter. Al is a great host and will definatley be seeing us again next winter!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt_sheppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Third time now and still won't look anywhere else... I've been going back and forth to the Alps for over 10 years now and never wanted to stay in the same place even twice! The hosts make a great team, dinner is always great and the Chalet, on top of being spotless, has everything you could ever want. I've read some of the other reviews on here and totally second all the positive comments!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul_JvV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed at the chalet over the new year period for a week’s skiing and snowboarding. We had an amazing time made all the better by our hosts Alasdair & Emilie as they were extremely welcoming and by doing so instantly made us feel at home within the chalet!

All the rooms are of a good size and the whole chalet is decorated to a high standard throughout! Lovely open fire in the living area with a large plasma screen TV and very comfy sofa!

The hot tub is amazing after a hard day on the slopes to relieve the aches and pains from a full day out on the mountain!

The food that both Emilie and Alasdair laid on was absolutely lovely! My favourite of the week would have to be the Thai Curry Alasdair made (Sorry Emilie!). The food is plentiful and there was usually the option of a seconds if required although more often than not you left the table completely stuffed!

Also had a great couple of days on the slopes with Alasdair as a guide, and although my girlfriend and I managed to get lost and end up in Morzine at the end of day, as the chair lifts/gondolas had all shut! Al however came to the rescue and picked us up (Going beyond the call of duty!) However I recommend you try as best as you can not to get lost as it’s a good hour and a half drive from Chatel to Morzine! (Thanks again for picking us up Al, you were a lifesaver!)

A very memorable holiday and I’m sure will be back again soon! Wish we were still there to be honest!

James and Laura

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

A difficult review to write - not because it's bad or critical. But because I don't really want the place to become so popular that it makes it hard to get a booking in future years. Here are some of the thing's I really don't want to say:
- the hosts are genuinely open and friendly and want you to treat the place as your home.
- the chalet is very well appointed. Bedrooms are spotlessly clean with more than enough storage space (as is the rest of the chalet). How often can you say that about French resort rooms. The outside hot tub is excellent. The boot warmers were more than welcome. Really good size changing area to get into your ski gear. Lounge area excellently laid out for socialising. Smallish beer fridge and stock of wine available as an honesty bar.
- food is exactly what you want from a ski chalet. Self service breakfast with a warm / hot option from the kitchen (usually eggs or fresh cooked pastries). Tea / coffee and cake for when you get back from the slopes. Then a good quality hearty evening meal with plenty of wine. No pretencious messing around with your food here - best described as good, honest hearty food. Perfect fuel for the slopes.
- ski guiding is superb. We had two full days out on the slopes with Alasdair - the 2nd day was a full tour of the entire area. Slept really well that night.
- Alasdair / Emilie can't do enough to make your trip as perfect as it can be. Includes visits to the local mirco brewery (if there's time between slopes and evening meal), offers of lifts into town - even on their 'night off' etc. etc. Great example of delivering more than should be expected.

Location is also perfect. Was a bit concerned about the out of town location and lack of ski-in / ski-out when booking this chalet. But, with the door to lift minibus service to any of the lifts in the Chatel ski area, as well as pick up service from any of the Chatel lifts at the end of the day, this might as well be ski-in ski-out. In fact it's better - you still get the door to lift feeling, but get the peace and quiet of the out of town location as well. There's also a free bus service into town during the day and The Tunnel Bar gives lifts back at night if needed(just tip the driver).

There are places you go to where you think you might come back one day, but you never do as there's always somewhere new to try. With this place it's a 'you know you will be back again'. It's excellent, but please, now stop giving good reviews otherwise it will be the worst kept secret in Chatel !

An excellent week's skiing holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nigs_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chatel hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel - Restaurant Fleur de Neige
0.9 mi away
Hotel Macchi
Hotel Macchi
#1 of 18 in Chatel
283 reviews
0.5 mi away
Logis le Roitelet
Logis le Roitelet
#6 of 18 in Chatel
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant le Castellan
0.5 mi away
Le Kandahar Hotel
Le Kandahar Hotel
#5 of 18 in Chatel
47 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Les Triolets
Hotel Les Triolets
#10 of 18 in Chatel
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Tzigane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Tzigane

Address: 20 Chemin des Vorres, 74390 Chatel, Abondance, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Abondance > Chatel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Chatel
Price Range: $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner run independent luxury catered chalet in Chatel offering great value ski holidays and fully catered mountain bike adventures in the Portes Du Soleil. Free transfers,Open fire, wifi, hot tub and much more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing