We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Chalet and hosts - just don't tell anyone else”
Review of Chalet Tzigane

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chatel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Tzigane
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Chatel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Fantastic Chalet and hosts - just don't tell anyone else”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

A difficult review to write - not because it's bad or critical. But because I don't really want the place to become so popular that it makes it hard to get a booking in future years. Here are some of the thing's I really don't want to say:
- the hosts are genuinely open and friendly and want you to treat the place as your home.
- the chalet is very well appointed. Bedrooms are spotlessly clean with more than enough storage space (as is the rest of the chalet). How often can you say that about French resort rooms. The outside hot tub is excellent. The boot warmers were more than welcome. Really good size changing area to get into your ski gear. Lounge area excellently laid out for socialising. Smallish beer fridge and stock of wine available as an honesty bar.
- food is exactly what you want from a ski chalet. Self service breakfast with a warm / hot option from the kitchen (usually eggs or fresh cooked pastries). Tea / coffee and cake for when you get back from the slopes. Then a good quality hearty evening meal with plenty of wine. No pretencious messing around with your food here - best described as good, honest hearty food. Perfect fuel for the slopes.
- ski guiding is superb. We had two full days out on the slopes with Alasdair - the 2nd day was a full tour of the entire area. Slept really well that night.
- Alasdair / Emilie can't do enough to make your trip as perfect as it can be. Includes visits to the local mirco brewery (if there's time between slopes and evening meal), offers of lifts into town - even on their 'night off' etc. etc. Great example of delivering more than should be expected.

Location is also perfect. Was a bit concerned about the out of town location and lack of ski-in / ski-out when booking this chalet. But, with the door to lift minibus service to any of the lifts in the Chatel ski area, as well as pick up service from any of the Chatel lifts at the end of the day, this might as well be ski-in ski-out. In fact it's better - you still get the door to lift feeling, but get the peace and quiet of the out of town location as well. There's also a free bus service into town during the day and The Tunnel Bar gives lifts back at night if needed(just tip the driver).

There are places you go to where you think you might come back one day, but you never do as there's always somewhere new to try. With this place it's a 'you know you will be back again'. It's excellent, but please, now stop giving good reviews otherwise it will be the worst kept secret in Chatel !

An excellent week's skiing holiday.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nigs_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
4
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Have just returned from our skiing holiday at Chalet Tzigane - Everything was done to help us relax and unwind; lift passes & ski hire all sorted for us on the first evening from the comfort of the chalet. We were given lifts to and from the chalet every morning and evening, as well as in to the village at other times. The food was delicious. Nothing was ever too much trouble and there was a lovely relaxed atmosphere in the chalet. Thank you Alisdair and Emillie for making our ski holiday so special.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John-Joe78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

It was our first visit to Chatel,there was 8 adults plus our 20 months old granddaughter.What accomodation and hospitality.You could not fault the skiing and the service Al and Emilie gave us it was second to none,nothing was a problem.The food was excellent,and they could not help us enough when going to and from the slopes.
we will definitely be going back,and may try it in the summertime as well.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matchoftheday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Just come back from an excellent week at Chalet Tzigane, 4 friends with 4 bikes. The Chalet is in an excellent place in Chatel for accessing the whole Portes du Soleil. Early breakfasts each day and then a lift up in the van to Pre la Joux and away all day in the hills. Chalet is in the bottom of the valley so you just roll down the hill all the way home at night and straight into the hot tub in the garden.

Dinner in the chalet each night was of a very high standard. The chalet hosts are excellent cooks, well Emilie is, Ali talks a good game and looks busy whilst dinner is being made. Always plenty of food on offer, good variety and when you thought you couldn't eat any more, there was dessert. Throughout the stay, beer and wine were free flowing and our hosts kept us well entertained.

Bedooms, some of which are en-suite, were well presented and clean. In the basement is a room for storing your bikes and equipment and in the shed are a variety of tools and a bike stand for repairing damage from the rather punishing trails of Portes du Soleil.

Ali is a keen cyclist and has a pretty good knowledge of the trails in the area (and outside it) so can tell you how to make the most of your time. He'll even show you some of the best ones in person if you talk nicely to him.

We got a lot from our week in the Chatel and if your looking for some great cycling in the alps, you should probably be looking at staying at Chalet Tzigane.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank callum r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

I hardly know where to begin. Been our first time to Chatel and our first time mountain biking we hardly knew what to expect. However from start to finish the experience was fantastic! Chatel Tzigane is truly lovely and Al and Emily are fantastic hosts. The accomadation is excellent from the comfotable bedrooms to the spacious livingroom and for the summer a beautiful deck with the added bonus of a hot tub.We were advised on routes and driven daily to our start point and if unable to make it the final stretch home a cheeky request for a lift home from the ever accomadating Al! Each morning we were served a tasty breakfast and in the evening we arrived home to a fabolous dinner with wine and good conversation with fellow guests. Very different from our usual hotel holiday ( we like 5* star quality) but something that I would recomend again and again. Without doubt this biking holiday was brillant and I would recomend to all...Chalet Tzigane is a class act!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reids84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We had amazing time in Chatel, thanks to our hosts Al and Emilie. The rooms were nicely decorated, clean and in most cases had an en-suite bathroom, which was a nice bonus.
Dinner was always the highlight of a long day in the mountains and always really tasty.
Looking forward to come back in the winter when the scenery will be totally different!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunny380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Stayed here with 8 friends last January, and had a great time - really warm and friendly welcome from the moment we were picked up at the airport. Chalet was immaculate, great food, evenings spent next to the open log fire - and the skiing was perfect too. We're heading back there later this year for the mountain biking season, looking forward to it!

Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank owenhindley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatel
1.0 mi away
Hotel - Restaurant Fleur de Neige
0.9 mi away
Hotel Macchi
Hotel Macchi
#1 of 18 in Chatel
265 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chalet Le Dragon
Chalet Le Dragon
#2 of 11 in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chalet Cannelle
Chalet Cannelle
#1 of 11 in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
160 reviews
0.9 mi away
Residence Prestige Odalys Les Fermes de Chatel
0.6 mi away
CGH-Residence les Chalets d'Angele
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Tzigane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Tzigane

Property: Chalet Tzigane
Address: 20 Chemin des Vorres, 74390 Chatel, Abondance, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Abondance > Chatel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Chatel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner run independent luxury catered chalet in Chatel offering great value ski holidays and fully catered mountain bike adventures in the Portes Du Soleil. Free transfers,Open fire, wifi, hot tub and much more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing