We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning and astonishing place to go!!!!!”
Review of Chalet Tzigane

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chatel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Tzigane
Ranked #1 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Chatel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 11, 2011

I keep wanting to go back! I've been a few times now and it gets better every time. The hosts are more than welcoming and not only was the atmosphere superb, the chalet is awesome!

I learnt to ski there this year, Al and Emily were so helpful with sorting out Ski hire and lessons. Which gave me peace of mind on holiday and made an exciting week.

Also, the summer is just as impressive for mountain biking and I'm looking forward to going back this summer!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank horder555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for Chalet Tzigane
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 192 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2011

I have stayed at Chalet Tzigane 3 times now for both mountain biking holidays and skiing holidays. I am again going back over June this year for the Passporte Du Soliel event. I have decided to keep going back to Al and Emilie's awesome Chalet because of several reasons.
They make you feel welcome, from Al picking you up from the airport to the minute you check in at the airport to go home!
Everything from Ski boots to ski passes is sorted before you arrive, with the ski's and boots being delievered and fitted and kept warm at the chalet.
We were taken to and from the chalet to the ski lifts each day in both summer and winter trips (saves the agro of catching the bus everyday with all of the other skiers and MTBers). Al or Emilie will even come out skiing and riding with you to show you the best spots!
The Chalet is spacious and warm with Free wifi access and a communal computer for guests. A filling breakfast served in the morning and great food and wine served for dinner (both Al and Emilie are fantastic cooks!).
The chalet is in a great location, only 3 or 4 minutes from the local supermarket and a quick trip to either the town or ski lifts.

Chalet Tzigane really is starting to become a home away from home for me, and I'm sure i will be going back for years to come!

I fully reccomend this place to anyone who is looking for great hosts and an awesome chalet.

See you soon!

Paul

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paule1388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

From the minute you arrive at the airport to the first step inside the Chalet, Al and Emily make you feel amazingly welcome!! This is our third year with the guys and will continue to stay with them as long as they'll have us!

We were greeted with Champagne and Canapés while sitting around the open log fire. After which we had our first meal which was gorgeous!! In fact all the food over the whole week is gorgeous!

Everyday you are dropped off and collected from the lifts, which makes a massive difference especially as other Chalets chuck you on the bus... Al usually guides us too which is brilliant! It makes skiing the Portes Du Soleil even more enjoyable!

Beer and wine in the hot tub usually wraps up a hard days skiing as we wait for our dinner! again!! :)

The Chalet has free wifi, IPod dock, Nintendo wii and a PC which keeps us entertained, a round of jokes from Al and a tipple or 2.

The whole place feels like a home away from home, which is a massive part of Al and Emilys ethos!

We're already planning 2 weeks next season and would highly recommend a visit.

Cheers guys!!!

Ramy and Katie x

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ramyeldance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

I am a bit reluctant to write a review of Chalet Tzigane as this may lead to many others wanting to go there too!! That said, Ali and Emily deserve all the praise they get as our two stays have both been great. They make all the organisation very easy indeed. Ski passes are all sorted, ski hire delivered. I am sure they would reduce the half term ski lift queues if they could. Hopefully we will return at some point soon.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iano_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

We have stayed at Chalet Tzigane twicw now, both times the first week in January. Our group consisted of 5 adults and 4 young children.

Booking with hosts Al and Emilie takes the whole hassle out of organizing a ski holiday. We were picked up at the airport and transferred to the chalet. Our ski passes and lessons were booked for us. And they organized for the ski hire company to come to the chalet to fit us out with skis and boots. Everyday we were taken to & collected from the slopes just at whatever time suited us.

The chalet is really lovely, very spacious. Al and Emilie were fantastic hosts, very relaxed and great with the children. They cooked them a separate early dinner while the adults enjoyed the hot tub. Then when the adults were eating the children could either have fun with the Wii or watch a DVD. Al and Emilie are both great cooks, we enjoyed delicious, varied meals every evening.

All in all, a lovely relaxed week.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UnaTimoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

We stayed in Chalet Tzigane for Xmas week 2010. Everything was under a heavy blanket of snow when we arrived so we headed straight out to play on the slopes behind the house, then back inside for an excellent meal and fitting of our skis at the Chalet organised by Al.

It was a very enjoyable stay and Al and Emilie were excellent hosts. The chalet was just as we expected and we loved the hot pool each evening. The rooms were nicely furnished and the living area comfortable and well designed. There is a computer for guest use in the living room which is always on, which was great for checking the snow forecast. The ski boot room is very well designed at the entrance with heated boot warmers.

We especially enjoyed our day of ski guiding with Al, as it allowed us to range much further than would would have on our own. Chatel really does link in to some amazing ski-terrain - you can go for miles. Al and Emilie were very flexible with the shuttle service allowing us to text them when we wanted to come home. BASS ski-school were brilliant and accommodating.

Christmas dinner was amazing, and we loved that Al and Emilie shared it with us. The kids loved playing on the Wii with Al and our daughter loved Stolly the cat. All in all a great experience and one we would like to repeat.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
Thank ParisKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

We stayed in Chalet Tzigane in February for the second year in a row. We are a family of 5 who stay with another family of 5 in the chalet and it works brilliantly. The Chalet is large and spacious with good sized bedrooms with en suites in most of them, and a really great communal lounge and dining area, and a large warm area to change into and store your ski boots. The hot tub is an additional bonus that the kids and adults all enjoy. Alasdair and Emilie are absulutely superb hosts who look after us really well, and make the whole Chatel Skiing experiance as easy as possible. They sorted all our lift passes before we arrived, and this year we didn't even have to leave the chalet to sort out our ski's as Al and Em arranged for the ski hire company came to us, and all the equipment was brand new. Al and Em ran us up and back to the slopes every day (in nice warm ski boots from the rack!), and did seperate collections if people finished 'early'! As for the food - a gourmet's delight - everyone looked forward to the evenings feast every night - Emilie is a great cook (as is Al!). For our goup - 4 adults and 6 children aged between 8 and 16, the Chalet is perfect, and we thoroughly recommend Chalet Tzigane.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie_Withers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Macchi
Hotel Macchi
#1 of 18 in Chatel
281 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel - Restaurant Fleur de Neige
0.5 mi away
Logis le Roitelet
Logis le Roitelet
#6 of 18 in Chatel
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Kandahar Hotel
Le Kandahar Hotel
#5 of 18 in Chatel
46 reviews
0.9 mi away
B&B Le Choucas
B&B Le Choucas
#4 of 18 in Chatel
64 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chalet Le Dragon
Chalet Le Dragon
#2 of 11 in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Tzigane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Tzigane

Address: 20 Chemin des Vorres, 74390 Chatel, Abondance, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Abondance > Chatel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Chatel
Price Range: $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner run independent luxury catered chalet in Chatel offering great value ski holidays and fully catered mountain bike adventures in the Portes Du Soleil. Free transfers,Open fire, wifi, hot tub and much more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing