We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word -"Amazing"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chatel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Connick Ski - La Chaumiere
Ranked #13 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Chatel
Wicklow, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One word -"Amazing"”
Reviewed March 17, 2010

We usually go Skiing on a self catering basis, but with a 9 month old and a 4 yr old, it sounded like hard work this year. By chance we came across Connick on Trip Advisor. We read the reviews and actually thought this place couldn't be that good. Well how wrong we were. From the minute we booked, nothing was too much trouble (thanks Kathryn). La Chaumiere has been lovingly restored and totally updated. The bedrooms are perfect, flat screen tv's with built in dvd players, ipod docking stations, fantastic bathrooms and views to die for. Great playroom for the kids, amazing nannies (Kim you better be there next year!!!!) The food is top class, it just feels like a big family. Then there's the skiing. Nick and his team are brilliant, they had our 4 year old skiing down, green, blues and nice parts of red runs after 5 days. There is great skiing for all abilities, you won't be bored. If you are planning a ski holiday - and want a holiday where EVERYONE has a great time, look no further. If there is a negative to come out of it - it's my 4 yr old who keeps telling us every 5 mins, that she misses her holiday home!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindsayV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
1
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2010

We have visited the resort of Chatel for the past 10 years since our children were aged 8 and 5. We have previously stayed at a friend's chalet on the road to Pre La Joux. On this occasion there were 3 families and we concluded that a Catered Chalet would suit our needs better. All I can say is that if you want to visit this resort (and you will not be disappointed whatever your ability) and a catered chalet arrangement is something that appeals then look no further than La Chaumiere. It is absolutely outstanding and the team could not be more friendly or helpful.
Gary, Joanne, Jamie and Alex (Surrey)

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary1961Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2009

We travelled with friends and our group included four children under eight.
From arrival to departure, we were made to feel incredibly welcome. Nothing was too much trouble for ANY of the La Chaumiere team.
First-class accommodation in Chatel - a wonderful ski town, the chalet was exactly what you would hope for, spacious bedrooms, two different lounges, one perfect for children with TV/dvd etc and one quieter lounge which was perfect for adults in need of a nightcap. The drinks cabinet never closes!
Breakfast and dinner were served in the dining room, where all guests are seated at one big table. This was a perfect way of getting to know all the other guests in the chalet and we had such a laugh at meal times, they provided some of the highlights of the trip.
The food was varied and always a high class quality menu, washed down with all drinks required as part of the package.
Xmas Eve at La Chaumiere is a special night. Santa paid a visit to the children, while the festive meal was perfect.
Nick and the team provided skiing tuition which was always tailored to groups of the level of those skiing. Groups of two, three or four are the norm and this provided a great way for learning or developing your ability, while having great fun. Be it Nick, Pete, Wilkes or Harry - you are taken to different slopes, making use of the amazing scenery of the French and Swiss alps. Some of us went from novice to blues and reds with comfort thanks to the guys.
Transport from the airport to the chalet was great, as was the daily shuttles up and down from the slopes and to the ski hire shops, or the pubs!
The staff at La Chaumiere were such a good team, always working in a positive manner, which created such a good vibe.
Chatel has bars and restaurants to suit all. Try Le Pierrier and L'Escalier for a dinner or just a drink. A terrace drink on Le Chesery, or for something a bit livlier there is Le Tunnel and L'Avalanche - good places for watching sport.
On the piste - you can get a lovely meal in Chez Crepy.
A wonderful holiday and you are even provided with a dvd from the week's skiing to take home.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABsHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolkpaula
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2009

We have been going to Nick's as it is known in our house for over 7 years now. Both of our sons learnt to ski there,the clear wonderful instruction was amazing then as it still is now. We have had so many many wonderful weeks there, we have gone with lots of friends also on our own, with extended family. Every holiday, a few things always remain the same......wonderful friendly hospitality, delicious meals every evening, wonderful breakfasts every morning, clean very comfortable rooms. Our every need has always been met. We have made friends with so many people at La Chaumiere over the years.
The village of Chatel is very pretty and has a good choice of shops, incase of forgetting anything. The skiing in the Portes du soleil is absolutely vast and so beautiful.
Nick and team always manage to take you somewhere differant and they make up the groups in the morning(if you are having guiding)i would highly recommend this as you get to see so much more.
As a nervous skiier myself, Nick and team gave me huge confidence in my ability and touch wood i haven't looked back. The guides are all very patient and cater for all levels f skiing. Last year we went twice and and gone at al differant times of the year, each time wonderful. I would highly recommend it, guaranteed you won't regret it!!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulasuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2009

Great food, accommodation, personalised ski lessons and a wonderful setting. We've been going for years and love it!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolteachEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2009

I've been coming to the Chaumiere for years. Nick Taylor has a brilliant set-up, friendly and accommodating, with first class, knowledgeable guiding and instruction for every level of ability. The "full package" is well worth the money for me - making the most out of my annual skiing experience - but you can save by doing your own thing if you prefer. The Portes du Soleil is a world-class skiing area, with vast linked pistes bridging the French/Swiss border, and providing everything from the most challenging pistes and off-piste to the most leisurely and relaxed skiing. I almost forgot to mention the apres-ski hot tub and sauna.

Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Bastwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
2 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2009

Babies are well catered for with fresh food, cot, highchair, a lovely nanny and well equipped playroom. Toddlers are taught to ski by the owner during the morning then returned to the chalet for lunch and playtime if required. Our 3 three old was on the green runs on the first day. Tea is ready for them when you return from the slopes and then you can enjoy the evening dinner at your leisure once they are in bed. Great adjoining rooms with large modern bathroom. Fantastic food and wine. As our first family skiing trip with friends it was better than we could have expected.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsCBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chatel hotels
0.6 mi away
hotel La Bergerie
hotel La Bergerie
#17 of 18 in Chatel
62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant le Castellan
0.7 mi away
Hotel - Restaurant Fleur de Neige
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Macchi
Hotel Macchi
#1 of 18 in Chatel
265 reviews
2.0 mi away
1861 Chatel Hostel
1861 Chatel Hostel
#8 of 29 in Chatel
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Logis le Roitelet
Logis le Roitelet
#7 of 18 in Chatel
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Connick Ski - La Chaumiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Connick Ski - La Chaumiere

Property: Connick Ski - La Chaumiere
Address: 581 route de Thonon | 581, Route de Thonon, 74390 Chatel, Abondance, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Abondance > Chatel
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Chatel
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connick Ski provides luxury catered ski holidays in the idyllic village of Chatel in the French Alps. Now in its 17th year of operation Connick has built an outstanding reputation for its level of service. Nestled on the French/Swiss border Chatel is a charming Savoyard farming village and forms part of the enormous Portes du Soleil ski area. With over 650km of piste spanning two countries this spectacular region ski is the largest linked ski area in the world and boasts an enviable and reliable snow record that keeps people returning year after year. The newly renovated, charmingly traditional chalet ‘La Chaumiere’ provides the backdrop for your stay. One of the oldest chalets in Chatel, it has been lovingly and sympathetically restored to provide luxurious yet authentic accommodation just 500m from the centre of the village. Our complete service ensures that your every need will be taken care of from the minute you step off the plane, allowing you to unwind and enjoy your holiday. Our unique in-house ski school caters for all levels and allows for intensive lessons or instructional guiding, whatever your level of ability or age. Your skiing will be taken to a new level – with no compromise on fun and spending time with your family or friends on the slopes. We look forward to welcoming you at La Chaumiere where skiing, comfort and attention to detail mingle perfectly with the relaxed family atmosphere. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing