We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another great stay....”
Within 500m of Chatel village centre
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Within 500m of Chatel village centre
Cosy log fire in the open lounge Great service and great wine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Within 500m of Chatel village centre
Cosy log fire in the open lounge
Great service and great wine
Egyptian cotton bedding in spacious rooms
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Chatel, Abondance, Portes du Soleil, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jaytia
Nuneaton, Warwickshire
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Another great stay....”
Reviewed April 8, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed with Alpine Breaks last year in chalet Linga however as it was fully booked this year we decided to try a different chalet...... we are so glad we did.

Same great service, fantastic hosts and an abundance of food and drink. However as Timide is located in central Chatel there's so much more to see and do here...... walking the lake, a small park for the kids and plenty of shops and bars to visit.

Chalet was comfortable and we had the whole of downstairs to ourselves. Additionally after the other guests left 4 days into our stay we had Chalet Timide exclusively for the last few days..... it really was home from home.

Thanks to Hannah and Ellis for their cooking, company and patience (with my kids )....
my 6yr old daughter supervised their cooking every evening and they chatted away to her endlessly when I'm sure they really had much better things to be doing....!

The bus transfers to the slopes were a great touch and again Ellis accommodated us daily.
Just another reason to return next year to maybe try another Chalet with Alpine Breaks . ..... thanks guys you were fab!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2017
Thank you so much for your kind words and taking the time to write a review.

People love both chalets for different reasons, but certainly with the new link opening up by Lake Vonnes, (Super Chatel to Linga), Chalet Timide is desirable for ease of apres ski activities and the flexibility of getting to/from the ski area easily.

I am pleased to say that Hannah and Ellis have signed up for next year also, so continuity of their great service is super news for us all.

The end of season can be quiet and not only will you have the whole chalet to yourselves, but also the pistes. Easter is so much quieter than Feb half term or New Year for example and a great time to introduce people to skiing, when the weather is reknown for being sunny and warm.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you next year ;-)

Darren and the Alpinebreaks team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethlight...
Devizes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed March 18, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Amazing week at Chalet Timide with Ellis and Hannah! Outstanding service, fantastic food and great company. Would recommend them and the team at Alpine Breaks anytime!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 22, 2017
Thank you for your visit once again, it was an absolute pleasure to have you all stay. With the expansion of your group, we were so glad to be able to offer you other chalets which accommodated you all. We so look forward to your visit again next year...which chalet this time? ;-) Have a fantastic year and all the best from Darren and the Alpinebreaks team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicPe...
Bristol, England
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Another great week...!”
Reviewed February 20, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed half term week 12-19th Feb with three families of 6 adults and 4 children, but chalet can hold a few more easily. Another great ski trip with Alpine Breaks - first time at Chalet Timide. Thanks to Isabella and Ellis for the super food and great hospitality, making for a very relaxing holiday. The bedrooms and bathrooms here are notably spacious in Timide. (We were a group but this feature is probably really helpful if you just book a room in the chalet.) The hot tub was always looked forward to each evening, in-chalet ski service was a blessing and mini bus transfers to the slopes and back were magic, not to mention the short and well organised transfers from Geneva. Chatel did not disappoint again on our fourth trip. Snow was good and slopes well maintained. A good service culture in resort and on the slopes - people seemed pleased to see you and help. The modern pool and spa complex in Chatel is only 5 minutes walk from the chalet. Thanks Darren - see you next year...or maybe sooner! Dominic, Janice and Murray.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. It was an absolute pleasure to see you all again.

We are so glad to be able to maintain the high standard expected from us, and thus enticing you all back year after year.

Chalet Timide is a great chalet, in a great location and of course great hot tub overlooking the mountains. We do our best to make everything simple with the service we offer.

Thank you once again to you and your family and we look forward to seeing you all soon,

Darren
ps. Summer email itinerary on the way.... ;-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cstanifor...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“skiing for Christmas!!”
Reviewed January 5, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Fantastic chalet, 5 minute walk to the village where there was plenty of shops, bars and restaurants. Traditional decor, very clean and well kept. Beautifully decorated christmas tree and roaring log fire on our arrival. We were greeted by our very friendly chalet staff Dom and Jes who are a credit to Alpine Breaks. Nothing was too much trouble! Excellent 3 course meal every evening, always served with a smile :) Lots of skiing available in the area, not as much snow as we would like but it was the start off the season. Still manage to ski everyday with a choice of slopes.
Would definately recommend the Chalet Timide and Alpine Breaks who organised everything for us, from the ski hire to ski school and even the appointment with the local vet for our foured legged friends. Thanks to Darren and all his team for a brilliant holiday. Can't wait to return already looking at next years dates!
Can't wait to return already looking at next years dates.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2017
Thank you Clare for your very kind words and so glad you, your family and friends had such a fantastic time.

The snow was not the best ever admittedly but fortunately, we were one of very few resorts open this Christmas due to the excellent management of the pistes and the heavy investments in snow cannons.

Prior preparations for your holiday, mean that we can relax and enjoy the holiday experience and quite rightly concentrate on the great food and wine we serve at the chalets, and of course presented by our wonderful team. Dom and Jess are magic :-)

We look forward to you returning in years to come and cannot thank you enough once again for taking the time to review our chalet and the service on tripadvisor.

All the best,

Darren and the Alpinebreaks team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing