We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Hotel - Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel - Restaurant Fleur de Neige
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Chatel
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Super Hotel - Highly Recommended”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

A group of us stayed at the Fleur De Neige for a long weekend in March 2013. The hotel was excellent. We were booked into the non-refurbished rooms, and whilst they were a little "dated" they were large, comfortable, clean, warm and had great views of the mountain. The staff were fabulous, with Stephane the owner being particularly helpful and attentive. As per other reviews we found the food excellent and great value for money, with a good and affordable wine list. The health facilities were also good. We didn't use the pool but the sauna and hammam provided a welcome relaxation after a hard day ski-ing. As regards location, the hotel is about 500 metres from the Super Chatel lift, and the bus that takes you to the other local lifts. There is a free bus operating on the road the hotel is on, so if you don't fancy the walk into town with your skis the bus stops at the hotel every 10 mins or so. I have no hesitation recommending this hotel for families, or friends. We also looked at the reburbished rooms and they are beautifully finished and impressive.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel have mountain view. Reburbished rooms are great but more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BroonNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    78
    7
    7
    3
See reviews for
100
121
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We stayed at the Fleur de Neige for a week at the end of February 2012 and had a wonderful time. The staff were fantastic and their attention to detail was amazing. The newly refurbished rooms are lovely. The highlight was the wonderful 4 course dinner every night and especially the fantastic cheese trolley - as good as in many top restaurants. My companion was a non-meat eater and the staff never had to be reminded of this - an appropriate and delicious alternative dish always arrived unprompted. And the special offers on aperitifs and digestifs were great value. All in all a fantastic experience and I will definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the valley side are quieter and have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicholas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We booked early directly with the hotel and received a very good discount on our stay and lift passes. All staff were extremely helpful responding quickly to emails and when there they were also very charming. We stayed in a double refurbished room at the front of the hotel-although it did not have as good a view as the rooms on the valley side it was a lovely room and was not too noisey although it was on the road side. The hotel food was very good for a 3 star hotel, although their was no choice, there was a set 4 course meal which was of a high standard. We were told if we did not like any of the choices to inform the staff and they would provide an alternative. The spa was very welcoming after a hard day skiing, with a great steam room, jacuzzi, pool, sauna and robes which made it easy to go from your room to the spa. Chatel was a great ski destination with frequent ski buses to Pres la Joux which did mean a short bus journey into Chatel Centre from the Hotel and then another bus-the journey took mininum 20 minutes but could be longer if you had to wait on buses. We booked our ski equipment from Germain Sports-Ski 2000 in Chatel. We were not happy with the service or equipment we received from them and would not recommend them. The Hotel recommended a shop called Twinner which I think would have been a better option.
To summerise a brilliant Hotel, helpful and friendly staff, good location and value for money. This is a Hotel we would certainly consider going back to.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room on the valley side for a better room. You may need to check if the room h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CL3X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

This is a comfortable hotel with very friendly staff. We stayed here during a ski trip to Chatel, on a room only basis, and enjoyed our stay.

Some of the rooms in the hotel have been recently renovated and are of a very high standard. We stayed in one of the older rooms, however, but still found it to be very spacious with nice, comfortable beds. A dressing gown and slippers are also provided for you in the room. Each room has a flat screen television with many channels, although only a few of them are in english, and these are news channels. Free wifi is available in the rooms though.

In the bathroom, there was a bath with a handheld shower head. It was almost impossible to have a shower, though, as there was nowhere to attach the shower to the wall and you therefore had to hold it in your hand. There was also no shower curtain, which meant that the floor got soaked!

We were also not entirely happy with the daily room cleaning service either. One day, we were left with no toilet rolls, and another day our room was not cleaned at all, after having had the "do not disturb" sign on the door for a short period one morning. We were also not given any new bottles of shower gel throughout our week-long stay.

We ate in the hotel on one night and found the food to be a little bit too fancy for our liking and not worth the money we paid. The hotel is only a short 4 minute walk from the centre of the village and we preferred going there to get dinner.

The wellness centre was well worth a visit after a long day skiing. It has a pool, steam room, sauna and jacuzzi and all were clean and in good working order.

If you stay here for a ski holiday, a heated ski room is provided in the garden of the hotel, so our boots were always dry the next day!

Overall, I would recommend this hotel. Despite the few small things mentioned above, there is an overall feeling of comfort, the rooms are lovely, with beautiful views and the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Some rooms have views of the valley, some have a view of the street. There are refurbished and non-r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fairyfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kungsbacka, Sverige
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Châtel, Haute-Savoie, France is charming town in a welcoming region.

Hotel Fleur de Neige was the perfect place to stay for exploring the surroundings. The staff did all they could to make us feel at home and the restaurant was excellent (staying with half-board).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ErikBehm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

We stayed at Fleur de Neige, Châtel, for a full week and had a great time. The hotel is suitable for both adults and families. Kitchen is top level for a 3-star hotel and the wellness-level with swimmingpool is attractive. Hotel management and all service personel were a positive experience. Free WIFI.

Strongly recommendable - only 18 kilometers from highway and a worldclass ski area in walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NissenDahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

This is my third stay at this hotel and I will be coming back. The accommodation is comfortable, the staff are courteous and friendly, and the food is consistently superb. It is also an ideal place for lone travellers - you do not feel conspicuously alone - , and has good access to the ski areas - the telecabine for Super-Chatel is a short walk, and the shuttle buses stop outside the hotel. A gem.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AudL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Macchi
Hotel Macchi
#1 of 18 in Chatel
277 reviews
3.4 mi away
Les Gentianettes Hotel
Les Gentianettes Hotel
#1 of 7 in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Kandahar Hotel
Le Kandahar Hotel
#5 of 18 in Chatel
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
L'Ensoleille
L'Ensoleille
#3 of 7 in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
140 reviews
0.8 mi away
Logis le Roitelet
Logis le Roitelet
#7 of 18 in Chatel
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belalp
Hotel Belalp
#9 of 18 in Chatel
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel - Restaurant Fleur de Neige? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel - Restaurant Fleur de Neige

Property: Hotel - Restaurant Fleur de Neige
Address: 564 Route de Vonnes, 74390 Chatel, Abondance, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Abondance > Chatel
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Chatel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel - Restaurant Fleur de Neige 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel - Restaurant Fleur de Neige reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing