We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another vote for Le Clos de la Glycine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Clos de la Glycine
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Roussillon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Lovely hotel. Central location. Spectacular views over the Provence valley. Although we did not eat dinner at the hotel, our travel companions did, and said it was the best meal of our entire two week trip to France. Our room was small( ish) but completely adequate with a wonderful terrace overlooking the cliffs and valley. Service was fine, if a bit understated. It feels like their restaurant is the real draw here and gets a bit more of the staff's attention....the front desk sometimes going unmanned.

Loved Roussillon....especially after 5 PM when all the tourists left.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a terrace. Eat breakfast on your terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 266 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

We recently spent 2 nights at the hotel while on a do-it-yourself bicycle trip in Provence. It had been a tough day getting to Roussillon and nothing could have been better than arriving at the hotel. As others have said, the front is unassuming, but the inside is great -- airy, tastefully decorated, and very friendly staff. We stayed in Eglantine and although the room is a little small, it was big enough for us, had a dressing space, great bathroom (great condition, nicely decorated, with lovely amenities) and a huge terrace (which obviously makes the room feel bigger). Free wifi and great airconditioning made for a really comfortable stay and a great night's sleep. It was fantastic to be in Roussillon 2 nights, because after 5 pm most of the tourists are gone and it's absolutely gorgeous and quiet, filled with great shops and scenery that you have mostly to yourself.

We ate dinner in the hotel's Restaurant David both nights -- slightly more expensive than some other meals in the area but terrific. (We had the 50 euro dinner one night, the 38 euro the other). The food was beautifully presented, really creative (without being fancy or pretentious), very delicious. And the setting -- out on a patio above ground overlooking the red cliffs - -was amazing. Service was very nice, very relaxed.

We had breakfast in the same spot both mornings -- a large assortment of breads and pastries, yogurt, a little cheese, some fresh fruit, juice and coffee. Given how lovely the hotel is and how divine the dinners are, I think breakfast could be a little better for the price, but all in all, it was fine.

We really hated to leave -- such a nice room, such a nice town - very well situated for day trips. We took a bike ride for the day to Gordes and although that is a beautiful town, we preferred Roussillon; it feels much more down to earth.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room with a terrace facing over the valley or a room overlooking the red cliffs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank efpatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The unassuming entrance and reception belied what was a most pleasant one-night stopover for us. The hotel exudes great charm and is in a wonderful location close to the centre of the village - the only possible drawback being the close proximity to the village bell tower and the hourly peal of the bells throughout the night! But, hey, it does add a certain something to your stay! The staff were extremely helpful and welcoming.
We dined at the Restaurant David and had an excellent meal - great food, a great wine list and good value we thought. Likewise, a very good breakfast, with the added bonus of a spectacular view.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mactraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

If you are already searching for a hotel in Rousillon, then you know that you want to see the magnificent cliffs and hills of brilliantly coloured natural ochre. ( I just have to say that the colours "Live" are much richer than most photos reveal.) This newer hotel is beautiful .. the suite I shared with friends (total 3 guests) was the largest 1.5 storey suite. So far, you know this hotel is new, I believe just over 5 years old, so it is in excellent condition. Add to this the modern classical decor and furniture are easy on the eye and very comfortable to relax in. I enjoyed the coolness of the private jaccuzzi spa on the patio outside our suites doors. Yes it was working, but the hotel does not let guests use the jets after 10:00 pm so as not to disturb other guests. It could have been the hottest day in June when I was in Rousillon, so just taking a dip in the cool outdoor jaccuzzi spa was an ideal way to cool down my body in the evening.) This suite had a wonderful large tub with jets also. The choice of restaurants in Rousillon is magnificent, ... add to that the gift shops. Parking was included ... the hotel will give you a pass to exit the municipal parking lot, some 100 metres away. I would love to stay here again ... the staff are friendly and most welcoming.

Room Tip: I have forgotten the name of there largest suite (1.5 storeys) ... but this suite would be wonderfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mw360world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We've just spent 4 lovely nights in this beautiful town. We loved the hotel. It wasn't cheap but it was well worth it since you pay a little more in Roussillon for many things. We were very pleased with:
* good sized, clean and tastefully decorated room, lovely bed and beautiful, panoramic balcony view over this lovely part of the world, including one of the ochre cliffs
* probably the best location in town - short walking distance to restaurants, shops, markets and more importantly the heart of the very beautiful village
* really handy hotel provided car parking only metres away, in a town where parking can be a problem
* extremely helpful staff (the dark haired young lady was particularly impressive)
The restaurant (available for all meals) has, in our opinion, the best view in town, and getting a good view of the stunning ochre cliffs as the sun goes down is a key reason for going to Roussillon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

185 euros a night in France goes a long way. But not in this place. That is what the junior suite costs. This is a nicely decorated, large room with a large comfortable bed and a bath (but no shower). However you do not get a balcony so you have no opportunity to sit out and enjoy the view and a drink in the sun. In fact the hotel does not offer guests any nice places to sit out and 'chill' in the sun. (The only terrace belongs to the restaurant)
The junior suite is overlooked by two rooms with sun balconies.
The junior suite has a limited view to the ochre cliffs and shops above them.
This was the worst value place that I have ever stayed in 51 years of visiting France

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a balcony and do not go for the junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank artsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We loved our stay here while visiting the beautiful hilltop villages of France. Roussillon can get very busy during the day but calms down by night. Although the hotel is smack in the middle of town, the reserved parking allowed us to get in and out of town with ease. The service was extremely friendly and the view from our room was awesome. Our room was on the top floor overlooking the lush French countryside. Roussillon is within driving distance of many villages, which made the experience very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADayNotWasted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roussillon
1.7 mi away
Hotel la Cle des Champs
Hotel la Cle des Champs
#1 of 5 in Roussillon
283 reviews
3.6 mi away
Auberge de Carcarille
Auberge de Carcarille
#13 of 24 in Gordes
245 reviews
3.4 mi away
Le Mas des Herbes Blanches
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Sables d'Ocre
Hotel Les Sables d'Ocre
#2 of 5 in Roussillon
246 reviews
4.8 mi away
La Bastide de Gordes
La Bastide de Gordes
#1 of 24 in Gordes
276 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Les Bories & Spa
Hotel Les Bories & Spa
#9 of 24 in Gordes
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos de la Glycine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos de la Glycine

Address: Place de la Poste, 84220 Roussillon, Gordes, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Gordes > Roussillon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Roussillon
Price Range: $137 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Clos de la Glycine 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of one of the most beautiful villages in Provence, Le Clos de la Glycine invites you to discover the good life in Roussillon. In this little Provencal paradise, the atmosphere, light and sense of well-being are unrivalled.The sophistication, choice of materials and use of elegant warm colours create an immediate feeling of comfort and serenity. Everything is designed for your total satisfaction. All our bedrooms vie to be the most charming, comfortable and refined. Superbly appointed, they offer sublime views of the Apt valley, the ochre cliffs, the picturesque village or majestic Mont Ventoux. Designed to reflect the intimacy of Provence, the furniture is painted in traditional Provencal tones. All our bedrooms are air-conditioned and equipped with minibar, a safe, flat-screen TV, telephone and free WiFi Internet connection and some even have their own terrace. The lobby also features a business corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Clos de la Glycine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos De La Glycine Hotel Roussillon
Le Clos De La Glycine Roussillon, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing