We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Praiseworthy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Clos de la Glycine
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Roussillon
Certificate of Excellence
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Praiseworthy”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in Sept 2011, on half board . Dinner , bed & breakfast. We asked for a luxe room with a view of the valley. The room was really lovely with a big comfortable bed, lovely exposed wood beams, 2 windows with shutters overlooking the scenery which was stunning. The bathroom was modern with a proper bath & shower. Everywhere was clean & unlike some hotel bedrooms there was plenty of space. I advise anybody staying to ask for a car parking reservation as there is a parking problem in the tiny village & it is difficult to unload luggage outside the hotel which is on a narrow street. Wi-Fi & internet is free. The restuarant has a small a la carte choice but on half board you can choose from the 50 euro menu. We sampled a super lobster salad , or Foie Gras as a starter. The rack of lamb was very succulent & pink, the veal was " to die " for ! The location of the restuarant is quite wonderful overlooking the valley below, & the orche cliffs. The staff understand English but will allow you to try out your French without making you feel awkward. Altogether it was a memorable hotel & I could't fault it.

Room Tip: Ask for a valley view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    79
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
23
185
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

The location in the center of town is great and there are lots of signs of luxury -- large room, very silent air-conditioning, ambitious restaurant -- but they are not always matched by the reality. The lovely room's one window was disappointing, the breakfast mediocre, the staff a bit fawning, the dinner menu brief and, in reality, not extremely interesting. For the price one would expect a little common space including out of doors.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acgroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We traveled for 14 days in Provence and the Riviera and this is the best hotel we stayed in and also the best value. It is charming and the service is personal and excellent. Highly recommended. If possible pick the Rose room with the hot tub with view of seemingly all Provence.

Room Tip: Pick the Rose room with hot tub. Reserve a table at Restaurant David at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbyintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I'm 44, brazilian, and travel usually with my wife. Ive been to some destinations in Europe, Latin America, Caribean and in the USA, and have stayed in many hotels of diferent categories and prices (from 60 to 420 euros per night), which Enables me to evaluate well the hotels within their price range.

In April we did a long trip in Provence and in the French Riviera and stayed in hotels with prices ranged from 59 to 150 euros per night. We used the cities of Avignon, Séguret, Roussillon and Nice, as homebases for our daytrips, strategy based on the excellent travel guide Rick Steves - Provence and French Riviera.

Our third base was the Hotel Le Clos de La Glycine, where we stayed between 27/4 and 29/4 (two nights), at a price of 151,10 euros per night (VAT and local tax included), breakfast not included (13 euros per person).

1) Location.

The location is good, depending on the type of feature you are looking for your stay. The hotel is in the center of the village of Roussillon. There are several restaurants close by and the main tourist attraction of the village (a sort of theme park of the ocher, the former main product of the region´s economy) is a few hundred steps away. The downside is that, as the village is daily taken by hordes of tourists on their way to that park, you loose a little of the charm and tranquility of Provence, perhaps available in several small hotels on the outskirts of the village.

2) Room and Equipments.

I booked a room called "charme superieure," but when I checked in I did not like what I saw. It was a room with little natural light and little charm. One of these rooms (fairly common in Europe) that are in the attic of the building and consequently have curved ceilings and small windows.
As soon as I expressed dissatisfaction with the room, the young man who was attending us promptly offered me another room at the price referred in the second paragraph (according to him, a discounted price).

The room we stayed in was actually much better than the first. It was worth the small increase in price. Spacious, with new furniture, nicely decorated and well lit. Very comfortable both the bed and the bathroom.

3) Housekeeping.

The room was kept spotless during our stay, but there was an inexplicable mistake in housekeeping: in the first night it was prepared for us to sleep (the blanket was removed and the windows were closed ... five-star hotel service), while in second night nothing happened and, furthermore, the wine glasses were removed, which forced us to take wine in a coctail glass. :(

4) Breakfast.

Breakfast is served on a balcony with a beautiful view and, on sunny days, the hotel lends a charming straw hat that makes you feel a film actor having breakfast. However, the items offered and the service seemed below the expectations generated by the ambience. There was no variety of cheeses and cold cuts. No variety of fruits and limited portions of all items. It seemed, moreover, that the strawberries had been cut and kept overnight in refrigerator. Inexcusable for a charming hotel!

One last issue to be considered if you are planning to rent a car (a must on a trip in Provence): the hotel has a number of free guest parking spaces far below the number of rooms and, therefore, it is possible that you have to park your car a little away from the hotel and pay for it, envying your neighbor who checked in earlier.

I hope this review can be usefull in your decisions. Enjoy your trip!

Room Tip: See my tips on the best room in the review!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luiz Felipe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blueys Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
263 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

I loved this "Hotel de Charme" and charming it is! Our room was "Le Millepertuis" a name which we found impossible to pronounce. In English it is "Hypericum" or "St John's Wart" which is a herb used to calm. Very appropriate because we found the room very tranquil. Our room was large with lovely Provincial furnishing and a modern bathroom with tub and vanity tiled in tumbled giallo marble. There was a view over the street and beyond to the countryside. The whole hotel continues the Provincial theme using the same furniture and fabrics throughout. Just perfect. The first night we took half board so had a light breakfast of quality ingredients outside on the balcony with a view of the ocre cliffs and dinner from the menu at Restaurant David.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We spent three delightful days here in May. We had Angelique, a nice large room overlooking the ochre cliff with a great bathroom with a large walk-in shower and double vanity unit. The staff were all helpful, we had free parking next to the hotel (I think this needs to be booked in advance) and it was in the heart of the village. The restaurant was very good and like other top class hotel restaurants we had been in in France, although no vegetarian options were on the menu, they whipped up delicious meals for my wife at reasonable prices. Breakfast not included in the room price but the 13 Euros pp is standard at this level. It's nice to eat the breakfast in such a setting but also easy to walk down the street and buy fruit and pastries and sit on a bench and admire the view. We loved Roussillon and this was the best place to enjoy it from. Fighting the traffic and tourists to get in to town when staying outside is not worth it plus you get to see this beautiful village in the quiet times.

Room Tip: Details of each room is on the hotel website
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CFBtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polcenigo, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

This hotel is in the most BEAUTIFUL location and our room had a spectacular view of the countryside. If this place was not on the tour bus route it would be perfect. Since we were there in the off-season it really was heaven. Very romantic. As for clean, fastidious is the word that pops in my mind. I saw a plaque on the wall that they'd deservedly earned for their cleanliness. The roads leading out of town were great places for walking, and there are several wineries within walking distance.

Restaurant- Some people wrote the restaurant was expensive, but I don't think it was for France given the quality of the full course meals. The food was creative and delicious. The views are priceless. At night they have the cliffs lit up; it is a very unique, very romantic dining atmosphere.

To sum up, you'll love this in the off-season. You may even love it during high season, because I imagine the tour buses are a 9-4 kind of thing and the town is so small and quiet at night. It is kind of the same advise with a place like Venice I think, staying there really helps you see it away from the crowds...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajcull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roussillon
1.7 mi away
Hotel la Cle des Champs
Hotel la Cle des Champs
#1 of 6 in Roussillon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
4.8 mi away
La Bastide de Gordes
La Bastide de Gordes
#1 of 25 in Gordes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
3.6 mi away
Auberge de Carcarille
Auberge de Carcarille
#12 of 25 in Gordes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hotel Les Bories & Spa
Hotel Les Bories & Spa
#6 of 25 in Gordes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Sables d'Ocre
Hotel Les Sables d'Ocre
#3 of 6 in Roussillon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
3.4 mi away
Le Mas des Herbes Blanches
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos de la Glycine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos de la Glycine

Property: Le Clos de la Glycine
Address: Place de la Poste, 84220 Roussillon, Gordes, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Gordes > Roussillon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Roussillon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Clos de la Glycine 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of one of the most beautiful villages in Provence, Le Clos de la Glycine invites you to discover the good life in Roussillon. In this little Provencal paradise, the atmosphere, light and sense of well-being are unrivalled.The sophistication, choice of materials and use of elegant warm colours create an immediate feeling of comfort and serenity. Everything is designed for your total satisfaction. All our bedrooms vie to be the most charming, comfortable and refined. Superbly appointed, they offer sublime views of the Apt valley, the ochre cliffs, the picturesque village or majestic Mont Ventoux. Designed to reflect the intimacy of Provence, the furniture is painted in traditional Provencal tones. All our bedrooms are air-conditioned and equipped with minibar, a safe, flat-screen TV, telephone and free WiFi Internet connection and some even have their own terrace. The lobby also features a business corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Le Clos de la Glycine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos De La Glycine Hotel Roussillon
Le Clos De La Glycine Roussillon, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing