We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow. Delicious food with a nice view”

Le Bistrot de Roussillon
Ranked #8 of 16 Restaurants in Roussillon
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
156 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Wow. Delicious food with a nice view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We ate on the terrace with a nice view at sunset! And the food was even better than the setting. Wonderful, delicious. And the best ravioli Provencal style that I've ever ever had! In fact every course was great...not to forget to mention the amazing chocolate dessert! A perfect evening. I could go back to this place any time!! And you should too. Right in the middle of Roussillion.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravellingJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    89
    33
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good spot for a sunny, people-watching lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

On a sunny breezy Friday, we enjoyed a lunch here. We opted for seating outside, not realizing that inside there were tables with a view over the valley. But watching the square on a lovely day was ideal. We both had salad ventoux, which had the usual green, tomatoes, olives, onions, but with little puff pastry wrapped molten goat cheese. The balsamic vinagrette dressing was just right. A bit pricy for a salad, but worth it for the full experience. We'd do it again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eyeduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Bistro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We had a lunch here. Food (meat, fish) met all the expections. Service is good. The main reason to visit this restaurant is of course the view from the terrace inside the restaurant. Magnificient.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jarkko65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
109 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice view, not the finest example of the cuisine of the region”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Great view for lunch or dinner, but it's a tourist joint at heart so don't expect Provençal cuisine except in name. It's probably no worse than the other places nearby.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fearanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“An excellent value with hearty Provencal food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Our innkeepers recommended this place, which is in the heart of Roussillon. If you come here at dinner time there is free parking in the center of the village a short walk from the Bistrot. This place is very informal with a simple decor. However, the outside (it was plenty warm in early October) balcony overlooks the valley below and the nearby Ocre deposits. The view is spectacular. They were able to accomodate my wife's preference for fish without oil or sauce and my gluten intolerance. The duck breast I had was thick and succulent, nothing like the duck they serve here in the states. The creme brulee was the best I had during our two weeks in Provence.
I highly recommend this place. As long as you do not expect high class, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DTCTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistrot de Roussillon also viewed

 
Roussillon, Gordes
 

Been to Le Bistrot de Roussillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing