We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience, would like to come again”
Review of Castel du Roy

Castel du Roy
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castel du Roy
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Breil-sur-Roya
Prague
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good experience, would like to come again”
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We discovered this hotel just en route as we wanted to sleep somewhere and stayed one night. Our experience was better than described in other reviews. We liked the area and the swimmingpool. We could order a dinner without pre-booking and even my son who does not like vegetables had no problems here. The lady ( probably the owner ) was very friendly and helpful even if we do not speak French at all and English was not easy for her. The room was a good standard, clean but could be bigger. I will be very pleased to come again and spend some days in this area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    8
    12
    38
See reviews for
26
30
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2011

The setting is very nice, with the swimming pool and a forest area, but the owners were awful! We were told we couldn't have dinner at the restaurant, since we haven't pre-booked it. Also when we asked if we could at least have some drinks there after dinner out - we were told no :(

The breakfast was worth about 1 EUR, coffee tasted like flavoured water and the "buffet" consisted of croissants, yogurts and stale cheese...

The owners were rude to us when checking out...

Real shame, as it could be a very nice hotel under different management.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maaacka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Breil-sur-Roya hotels

Cote d'Azur
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2009

Terrible place, lovely landscape, all the other review are right.
I found 13 spider in my bedroom,so i don't think i need to say anynithing else.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tana13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2009

Hotel itself is fine in a pretty setting, though a bit out of the lovely town. A wonderful part of France - very beautiful. Sister/wife of proprietor tries hard to make it pleasant, but that is the problem - the manager. The tour company declined to book us into this hotel as they said they'd had bad feedback about the management being "cold" - yet we unwisely went ahead on our own as we wanted to walk the area and the other hotel was full.
However, the manager was difficult. He even put the fear of god into some of the polite women guests when simply asking for breakfast. As one of your french reviewers said, the hotel is run in a military fashion, and the manager seemed incapable of communicating on a friendly or civilised level. At first I thought he just wanted to show the world he felt embarrassed to have guests.
I paid extra on my phone booking when he said I could have a specially good room - this turned out to be incorrect - it was a small box-room just bigger than the bed (room 12) though it is right to say it had a nice view - but I was in no state to debate this by the time the bill was presented as the manager was rowing dismissively out loud with his wife/sister at her kind offer to run me and my wife to the station as she had volunteered she had the time and inclination to do so, and my knee was injured (from hiking).
I recommend you read the other reviews.
The meal on the terrace was indeed very nice - no choice, but enjoyable

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mountainlifeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2008

I really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is in a beautiful setting next to the river with it's own park. It is a very relaxing place.

The proprietress was very helpful and friendly and always there when we needed something.

We were half board. The evening menu is set (written on the hotel menu board in the morning) and was always good. The weather was good enough for us all to sit outside for dinner - under the trees and by the river which was delightful and a real change from home.

It is a walk into the town - but when we were there, the local council was building a wide path away from the road which will make the walk into town easier and is probably open now. It's the nearest hotel to the station which was good for us as we didn't have a car.

For us, the only downside for us was that the beds were very soft which we are not used to and made it difficult to sleep.

  • Liked — the setting - trees and river, dinner in the evening
  • Disliked — the soft bed
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonWebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2006

Already smelled something, when booking a room by phone. The owner ? pressed so hard to give a half pension rate whilst we asked for a room only rate. On our arrival, we were told there is only one set course menu at their "restaurant". With this set menu, you have no choice for the starter (salad) nor for the main course (chicken). You can choose between fruit salad and cheese for dessert ! The food was awful: the grilled chicken smelled stale. The fruit salad was frozen. The 10 euros "buffet" breakfast is just "self service" breakfast with so little to choose: you serve yourself with ham and cheese dired up.We told them we woud eat out for the second night. The owner and his wife behaved rude throughout our stay. The owner and his son were watching TV all the time in the lounge corner which is supposed to be for guests I guess. Don't be tricked by a sign at this hotel gate of Bottin Gourmand, the French gastronomic restaurant association, but thie hotel is not a member anymore (which surprises no one). Not only we but also the other guests of the hotel ended up to stay out from the hotel for the second night: we met up by chance for dinner at a cafe restaurant in the centre village ,which made all of us laughed. It is a great pity, since the village and the surrounding area are so beautiful as intact in many respects. To enjoy tourisme in this area,I should recommend you sleep closer to the coast, the village being less than one hour drive from NIce.

Helpful?
7 Thank porta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Breil-sur-Roya
10.5 mi away
Le Prieure
Le Prieure
#1 of 1 in Saint-Dalmas-de-Tende
67 reviews
19.5 mi away
Hotel Valdeblore
Hotel Valdeblore
#1 of 1 in Valdeblore
64 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Chamois d' Or
Hotel Chamois d' Or
#1 of 2 in Tende
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Apricus Locanda
Apricus Locanda
#1 of 2 in Apricale
217 reviews
15.5 mi away
Hotel le Gelas
Hotel le Gelas
#3 of 6 in Saint Martin-Vesubie
56 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Roya
Hotel Le Roya
#4 of 5 in Breil-sur-Roya
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castel du Roy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castel du Roy

Property: Castel du Roy
Address: 146 route de l Aigara | Breil Sur Roya, 06540 Breil-sur-Roya, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Breil-sur-Roya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Breil-sur-Roya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Castel du Roy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing