We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go back ”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Blainon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Blainon
Ranked #2 of 3 Auron B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Would go back ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

It was my first time in Auron so therefore wasn't sure what to expect of the resort, so booking this hotel seemed the best option when reviewing other locations in Auron.

Very central at the heart of the village, one minute from the cable car and surrounded by all the bars and shops and ski hire.

Our room was ok, not very fancy but comfortable and clean and homey. Very clean on arrival and staff were friendly to an extent.

For the price was paid my friend and I thought this was fair and would go back, it is suited for those wanting a short ski break.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jpdski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    23
    9
    8
    7
See reviews for
24
14
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We spent four nights on a ski holiday in this hotel in late January. The hotel is basic, more a 2 Star than a 3 Star standard. The room was pretty small, but at least it was warm and reasonably clean.
We were told we could only book a 'Half Board' arrangement, which meant we had to eat in the hotel every night. Not a problem, as long as there's a modicum of variety or choice in the menu.
Unfortunately this wasn't the case! The first night it was Soup De Legume (vegetable soup) as a starter, and the same option was offered each night afterward! There was usually a second choice of starter (if you don't like vegetable soup every day), but the main course was a 'take it or leave it' dish. Every night we were presented with a hefty meat dish. Steak on the first night, French Stew on the second, Veal on the third and fourth nights. If you are a vegetarian, or have dietary restrictions (such as I do) you better not stay at this hotel.
Perhaps they feel that these kind of dishes are demanded by the clientele, but an offerring of a pasta or fish dish would be a welcome alternative for the non-meat-eaters.

The proprietor of the hotel was generally friendly, but his wife was quite a terror. I never once saw a smile on this womans lips. She scowled as she served each meal, and plates were literally flung on the table in front of you. She speaks good english (we overheard her using it) but she refused to use it to help us out. Instead, each meal 'menu' (such as it was) was delivered in rapid fire francais which left us wondering what she said. We were really curious to sample the Soup Quiche Lorraine, until we realised it was Soup De Legume (again) OR Quiche Lorraine starter!

The final insult came on the day of our departure. I put my (clean) coat on a chair in their bag storage room while changing out of my ski gear. The Madame walked in and exclaimed in horror (in French) - then grabbed my coat, and flung it on the floor at my feet! Incroiable!
Needless to say, we won't be back!

Room Tip: The mountain view rooms have nice views, but are more expensive. The street side rooms are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Starbuck330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auron hotels

UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent 1 night in this convenient, simple, well run & clean little hotel. Located right next door to the cable car up to the main ski area, facing both south looking up the mountain & north, fronting the main square with parking to drop off your luggage (but cars cannot stay in the main square). It is the best located hotel in the village.

The hotel is small, rooms likewise but freshly painted, simple but good quality furniture, flat screen tv, modern & well kept. Immaculate linen, very hard beds tho!! Best rooms are on the south side facing up the mountain & spacious balconies with table & chairs make most of the spectacular views, whilst electric shutters mean you can sleep in near darkness even after the sun's up.

Staff are incredibly friendly, with excellent English spoken. Option of half board or room only. Food is tasty & homemade set menu but ample for hungry skiers (no children's menu). Breakfast is simply croissants & bread with jam, fruit juice & hot drinks but all fresh. Restaurant/breakfast area is basic but again great views up the mountain & as mention before, next to The White Grouse pub which is lovely & cosy too.

We highly recommend this hotel & look forward to going back. Overall, we couldn't fault any part of our stay. I'd say its a 2* hotel (we've stayed in some of the very best hotels in the world) so you can't expect too much in the way of facilities or luxuries but, if you are looking for a simple, clean, very well maintained, modern hotel just 3 metres from the lift & with wonderful friendly service, I doubt you'd beat this... Wonderful.

Room Tip: South facing rooms have best view & are quietest. No childrens activities in the hotel but oppos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingbakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed here for one night whilst driving around the southern alps ski resorts and was really pleased.
It has a neat, relaxed little boozer next door ('the grouse' or something) which serves evening meals and the staff are pretty friendly. During the winter there is an ice rink (ideal for kids and families)directly opposite.
It is next door to the gondola linking to the main Auron lift network and overall is a very nice place.
Breakfast is the usual buffet style affair, the coffee machine is a bit of a let down, but the pain au chocolat and croissants are warm and hit the spot and provide a good foundation before hitting the slopes.
If modest, unpretentious accomodation is your thing, this will score highly.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamezola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auron
0.1 mi away
Hotel L'Ecureuil
Hotel L'Ecureuil
#1 of 6 in Auron
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Las Donnas
Hotel Las Donnas
#4 of 6 in Auron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Chalet d'Auron
Le Chalet d'Auron
#2 of 6 in Auron
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
SoleilVacances Residence le New Chastillon
11.7 mi away
Hotel Club du Soleil Le Pas du Loup
0.5 mi away
Restaurant Hotel le Bataclan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Blainon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Blainon

Property: Le Blainon
Address: Place D Auron, 06660 Auron, Saint-Etienne-de-Tinee, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Alpes Maritimes > Saint-Etienne-de-Tinee > Auron
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Auron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Blainon 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Blainon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing