We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise for a 2 star hotel”
Review of Hotel Las Donnas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Las Donnas
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Auron
French Riviera
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise for a 2 star hotel”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay. We were prompted by a half price deal on Groupon and decided a few months ago to book the last week-end in March - actually before hotel closing. The station itself closes on April 9. I hadn't been to Auron since I was young and a skier. My wife and I were just looking for a get away and were not disappointed. Not much snow left due to the hot weather (over 20 ° C) which made it nice for walking around in city clothes. The hotel is quite central facing the slopes. The pleasant surprise was to discover a hotel that was in mint condition. The rooms are rather small but normally so for this category. A large closet and wall mounted flat screen TV were welcome as well as an adequate bathroom with toilet, sink and bathtub but which required taking turns. We were given a room in the front of the hotel facing south and the slopes. Must be great in January/February but end of March we had to leave the window open to get some fresh air ! yep, always complaining: either too hot or too cold :>)
The breakfast was plentiful with a nice quantity of french pastry and fresh bread included in the price of the room. A priced menu is available for an upgrade to American breakfast. Unfortunately the restaurant was already closed for the season but we came upon The White Grouse Pub (see review).
TIP: The 1 euro/person bus ride is still available twice a day for those who don't want to drive up in the heart of the winter. Departs from Nice with a stop at the airport.
TIP: The parking is at the back of the hotel with a small entrance saying bagage entry - need to ring the door bell for access.

Room Tip: rooms on 3rd floor don't have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jr_hummel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    41
    22
    11
    7
See reviews for
47
29
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Coast
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Just spent 4 nights here with 2 families, very pretty, traditional hotel with great service. The location is fab for ski lift, ski hire shops and restaurants. Auron has a great village atmostphere with no nasty modern develoments and the skiing is closeby. We ate in one night and enjoyed the lovely bar area, its a family run place and we felt well looked after. For a rustic hotel in a pretty resort you should have a lovely stay. The drive is just over an hour from Nice airport with an amazing drive through huge rock tunnels and great craggy mountains.

Room Tip: balcony rooms have stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kittywakeems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Had an excellent 4 night stay at this perfectly located hotel for Auron skiers, which fortunately is keeping its atmosphere from past decades, however with all necessary comfort. Very friendly and welcoming staff, and a good restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2011

This charming hotel gives a comfortable stay right in the village with sunny balconies. Breakfast and evening meals are excellent. All round a good hotel and good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Las Donnas is located in the centre of the village of Auron across the road from the main cable car. The views from the bedrooms at the front of the hotel are stunning. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean and more than adequate for a skiing holiday. Food is very good (typically french cooking). All of the main bars and restaurants are a couple of minutes walk away and the ice rink in front of the hotel is a good meeting place in the evenings. Auron is a great family ski resort with a good variety of ski runs and lifts. Consistent snow.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soest, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

For a two star rated hotel the rooms are very reasonable. After 10 pm. it is quiet and you will have an excellent night rest. The personnel is very service orientated and we enjoyed the half board with a 5 course dinner. In front of the hotel there is a skating and entertainment for the kids. The ski lift is just a two minutes walk of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Plezier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2010

Stayed 3 nights as part of a "pack privelage" deal which included ski pass. Great value for money. Lift is right next door and nice views across the valley.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bike_wake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auron
0.1 mi away
Hotel L'Ecureuil
Hotel L'Ecureuil
#1 of 6 in Auron
213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Chalet d'Auron
Le Chalet d'Auron
#2 of 6 in Auron
109 reviews
0.6 mi away
Restaurant Hotel le Bataclan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Adonis Valberg Residence du Grand Hotel
9.1 mi away
Hotel Le Blanche Neige
Hotel Le Blanche Neige
#2 of 5 in Valberg
108 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#1 of 3 in Auron
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Donnas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Donnas

Property: Hotel Las Donnas
Address: rue Sainte Marie Madeleine, 06660 Auron, Saint-Etienne-de-Tinee, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Alpes Maritimes > Saint-Etienne-de-Tinee > Auron
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Auron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Donnas 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of Auron, the large ski resort in the south Alps, one hour away from the Nice airport on the French Rivera, the Las Donnas Hotel widely faces the sunin front of the trails as well as 80 meters of the cableway, and is just a couple of steps from the activity center.The hotel will seduce by its exceptional location and comfort. Since 1962, a warm, personalised service and a carefully prepared and traditional catering menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and ACCOR so you can book your Hotel Las Donnas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing