We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Le Lichen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Lichen
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batz-sur-Mer
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay...”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We booked this hotel on the back of previous Trip Advisor reviews and we weren't disappointed. It's a very nice, quaint little hotel in a lovely location. The gentlemen running the place was most welcoming and polite. The hotel has lots of character and the rooms are very interesting, definitely something a bit different and it felt like excellent value. The breakfast was very good with a large choice of food & drink, and the breakfast room is a lovely place to start your day overlooking the sea!

One thing I would say is the area is pretty boring, there's not much going on at all so i'd advise if you were thinking about visiting, don't expect anything other than lots of sunbathing!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoshuaAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    50
    23
    7
    4
See reviews for
26
71
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Penarth UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I had reserved a basic room but the owner had had a cancellation for a room with a rooftop terrace which I could have for 25 euros extra. The view of the Cote Sauvage was amazing so we took the room. The staff were very friendly and there is off road parking which was important to me as I was on a motorcycle. Room had a bath which was nice but was room was quite small.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbharrold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We really liked this place, which we discovered at the last minute, because it was away from the bustle of a large city ir town. The room was average but sufficient for three of us. The scenery surrounding the hotel was simply gorgeous. The receptionist and owner were very friendly and helpful. For a place, off the beaten track, I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prueby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

The receptionist was kind and helpful but this is as great as our stay got!
The weather was horrendous which probably didn't help matters but the room was due a make-over about 10 years ago. The room smelt of stale smoke/sewage and was unclean, there were also lots of people wandering in front of our room which was on ground level. The view was blocked by bushes and even the garden furntiure was worn out.
We avoided the breakfast room after reviews on trip advisor.

We are a young couple and this was our first French adventure together and it will most certainly be our last visit to that area - the area was run down, restaurants closed down and not a lot to see. Some lovely coastal walks and a cycle path though! Definitely would not recommend to anyone looking for an enjoyable coastal hotel break.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaCa27062012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Great setting overlooking rugged rocky coastline. Very clean and quiet small hotel, yet spacious room. Lionel, our host was very courteous and informative. Away from the bustle of tourist area, yet very close to town. Full breakfast offered and very good. Nice to be able to relax and play billiards after a long day of sightsseing. Look forward to staying there in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tedsturkeypick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Due to cancellation we were upgraded without extra charge to a room twice the cost of our reserved room. Though it seems unfair to complain, I think it's appropriate to rate this based on what we would have received or paid, and in comparison to other places on the shore (one certainly gets 2-4 the value going only a few kilometers inland). The room we would have had has a view of the common patio and it of the room. The upstairs room we got had a wonderful deck and view (though cool even in July) but the room itself was tiny; almost impossible to pass by each other without negotiation. Bath lacked enclosure, no towel hangers. Our host was very friendly, informative and cooperative. Breakfast was adequate but expensive compared to 7 other places we stayed on this trip along the coast. Location is superb, with coastal trail and a couple of nice beaches within 10 minutes walk. It seemed that there was adequate parking for all guests. Except for size of room and minimalist bathroom, I liked the place and want to overlook the shortcomings and love it, but for my budget value was a real problem.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worms2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2008

We booked this hotel as a rest and relaxation after 3 days in Disney, Paris and it was exactley that.

We have a 5 year old and although the hotel was a 10 minute drive from the restaurants and bars we all enjoyed ourselves. The best beach was a 2 minute coast walk away and although we didn't have much of a view we had breakfast overlooking the sea. The staff were helpful and attentive and the overall experience was exactley what we wanted.

The only thing i could complain about was that we picked an area which prides itself on its fishing and we don't eat fish so had a few difficulties on the food side, but that was our fault and nobody elses.

All in all a holiday is what you make and we would definatley use this hotel again!

  • Liked — The view of the sea and the walk to the beach
  • Disliked — It was a little way out from the towns
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellie-pip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batz-sur-Mer
2.8 mi away
Hotel Les Nids
Hotel Les Nids
#2 of 10 in Le Croisic
73 reviews
4.1 mi away
Castel Moor
Castel Moor
#5 of 10 in Le Croisic
96 reviews
2.8 mi away
L'Ocean
L'Ocean
#1 of 10 in Le Croisic
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel de Pen Bron
Hotel de Pen Bron
#2 of 3 in La Turballe
202 reviews
2.8 mi away
Les Vikings
Les Vikings
#3 of 10 in Le Croisic
116 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mercure La Baule Majestic
Mercure La Baule Majestic
#3 of 24 in La-Baule-Escoublac
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Lichen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Lichen

Property: Hotel Le Lichen
Address: 4 route de la Govelle | Cote Sauvage, 44740 Batz-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Loire-Atlantique > Batz-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batz-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Lichen 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between cosiness and discretion, Hôtel Le Lichen offers all the modern comfort so that your exploration of the wild coast reflects your dreams, an unforgettable experience in a unique place. The hotel is composed of 17 bedrooms, most of them with the sea view and some with a beautiful terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Lichen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing