We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely little Auberge”
Review of Les Canisses

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Les Canisses
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Le Goulet
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A lovely little Auberge”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We booked this place as it was close to Monet's Garden and looked pretty good. Although, the bedrooms were in dire need of a facelift and the mattress was too big for the base of the bed, making it a little unstable, everything else was very superb.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating and the food in the restaurant was excellent. We chose to pay extra for breakfast and what a breakfast it was!! It set us up for the day!

The hotel is right on the banks of the Seine and the views are spectacular. It's very close to the a railway line, but the trains stopped at 11pm. However, they do start very early in the morning!

We tried to follow the directions provided by booking.com and it took us 2 hours to find the hotel. This is not the fault of the hotel, but the route finder website chosen by booking.com. Also, we tried to call the hotel to get directions and the number provided was unobtainable. Thank goodness for a very helpful petrol station attendant!

I'm planning on going to Monet's Garden again next year and wouldn't hesitate to stay at Les Canisses again, provided I had a renovated room!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendywoo359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paikan66, Propriétaire at Les Canisses, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear client,
Thank you for your encouragements. Don't hesitate to come back next year as all of our bedrooms will be renewed before next february.
Kind regards, Jerome Crépatte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    69
    28
    4
    8
See reviews for
32
71
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We recently had a very last minute & short break in Normandy, the main purpose to visit Monet's house & gardens at Giverny, which is 15 minutes away.

The hotel is a hidden Gem, very friendly & professional staff. Stunning views across the Seine, and a superb resteraunt. Great value for money all around.

There is a railway line behind the hotel, we didn't notice the noise. We also had a cheaper "non-refurbished" room, which was OK, as we were hardly in it. I would described as similar to an older UK travelodge standard.

In a typical rural French way, it all goes a bit quiet around 10pm, and there isn't a great deal in the adjoining village, but it was very well situated for us, and we found it quite easily.

The staff speak excellent English, but were polite enough to let us try our best in French...you don't get that in Paris !

We had a lovely time, and will happily stay there again, and recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rswift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balcombe
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Our satnav brought us through a never ending industrial estate and we were so relieved when we arrived at this charming hotel on the banks of the Seine. Unlike Pammie56, our room had not yet been refurbished and did not look across the river. Otherwise we agree with everything she has said.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clutton
Level Contributor
335 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

A great stop-over. The newly refurbished room was very clean and comfortable with a view of the river. We did not expect the railway line to run right behind the hotel and on arrival were worried we might not be able to sleep. In fact we slept very well and were not disturbed even with the windows wide open. The restaurant was excellent, fresh well cooked food and well priced wines. The staff very helpful.

Room Tip: Choose a newly furbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pammie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Ok starting with the positives, I had one of the best steaks I have ever eaten and the view over the river in the am is breathtaking BUT the refurbishments are not finished and our room was distinctly tired but more of a concern for us was that if you have a high vehicle or like us a roof box and arrive after 2030 you wont be able to get to the hotel. the only 2 access routes are over a level crossing that shuts at 2030 or through a tunnel that won't admit a car above 1.8m!!!! It was a bit of a shock to discover that we had to leave a car full of luggage and drag our suitcase about a quarter of a mile in pitch dark!
still, with this caveat, the people were friendly and helpful but I was disappointed not to get some recognition of the problem especially as I had very clearly asked if our being late would be a problem,

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

This hotel looks out on the beautiful Seine - gorgeous views with the occasional barge quietly rumbling past. What they don't mention however is quite a different noise level coming from directly behind the hotel. A mainline railway. So be prepared to sleep with the double glazed windows shut in the height of summer, without any air-con! Breakfast was fine, but if you are not prepared to drive a few kilometres for supper then you will have to pay inflated prices at the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TopkapiSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paikan66, Propriétaire at Les Canisses, responded to this review, September 4, 2011
Hello, thank you for taking time writting comments over your stay. We are renewing the little Inn that we bought last year. This winter, all the rooms will be totally refurbished and all equiped with air conditionning system. Concerning the "inflated prices" of the restaurant, I'm very surprised by your comments. Straters prices start at 7 euro and main courses at 12 euro. We also propose a full menu at 29 euro which only cost 20 when you stay in the hotel and choose the half board. Honestly, I find this very reasonable...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
160 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

The setting is gorgeous - right alongside a quiet stretch of the River Seine. Although there is a railway at the back, you hardly notice it & we couldn't hear it at all in our (front) bedrooms, once the windows were shut. Giverny, Les Andelys & Rouen are a short drive away, in stunning countryside. (but be aware that the level crossing service stops in the evening, when the only access is via a tiny road tunnel)
All the staff were really helpful & friendly (some waiters spoke sound English & they were all patient with our Franglais). We'd read poor reviews of the rooms & were a bit worried, but ours had modern ensuite, comfortable beds & good TV & were clean & tidy- certainly every bit as good as your average "one-nighter" type hotel - even though it was about to be refurbished.
Breakfasts gave no choice, but were ample (croissants, bread, yoghurt). The restaurant menu was rather limited & we felt a little overpriced, compared to similar restaurants in the area (probably because of the setting). The excellent English website was a little misleading, in that there was no help available to translate this menu - what the waiter told us was like a meat pie turned out to be a heap of raw mincemeat with a raw egg!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fifytyplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Goulet
12.1 mi away
Domaine de la Corniche
Domaine de la Corniche
#1 of 1 in Rolleboise
1,010 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Normandy
Hotel Normandy
#1 of 3 in Vernon
217 reviews
7.2 mi away
La Musardiere
La Musardiere
#2 of 2 in Giverny
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Le Jardin des Plumes
Le Jardin des Plumes
#1 of 2 in Giverny
277 reviews
6.1 mi away
Chateau Corneille
Chateau Corneille
#1 of 1 in Vieux-Villez
185 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Baryton
Hotel Restaurant Baryton
#1 of 5 in Saint-Marcel
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Canisses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Canisses

Property: Les Canisses
Address: 1 Chemin du halage de la gare | Saint Pierre la Garenne, 27600 Le Goulet, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Le Goulet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Le Goulet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Canisses 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 minutes from Giverny and Monet's gardens charming inn along the Seine river. Restaurant offers a wood burning cuisine and a beautiful terrasse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Les Canisses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing