We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coq Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coq Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Stayed here with my husband and our 7 mth old baby. It is a great hotel which deserves the good rating on tripadvisor. Comfy beds, well equipped bathrooms, delicious breakfasts and very helpful staff particularly Brigette who works hard to ensure all guests leave satisfied and content.It is one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonShivs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    102
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
68
172
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

The ancient facade hides a wonderful, modern hotel across a courtyard in the heart of this fascinating little town. Our room facing on to the courtyard was spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. However, the food was a disappointment, the starter and dessert were good but the main course was overcooked and not very tasty. We suspect the chef had a night off and the food had been over zapped in the microwave. In future we would stay at the hotal and go to another restaurant.

Room Tip: Only stayed in one so cannot comment on the others, ours was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STN52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed at le coq with two friends to celebrate our Ruby Wedding. Comfortable well equipped bedrooms and the restaurant served excellent food, with good selection of local cheeses. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Strongly recommended

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff and Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Coq hotel this week, and were delighted by the ambience, service, food and the very helpful and friendly staff and management. Perfectly situated in the centre of the Haute Ville, and steps away from the Ramparts which enclose this lovely town. Brigitte works tirelessly at reception, in the restaurant and everywhere else it seems. When booking, make sure you ask for parking in the hotel as the town parking is likely to be a problem ,particularly in high season. I highly recommend a short stay at the Coq Hotel if you are in Northern France. We chose the family room for the extra space it provided, and were not disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tormead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Went to Montreuil to collect wine from Wine Society, like many other Brits I suspect. This hotel was lovely. Our bedroom was in a newish building behind the main hotel only a few yards away across a courtyard. It was spacious clean and very comfortable with a good sized bath. Staff very friendly and food breakfast superb choice of fruit, meats, cheese etc. etc.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fallopian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Le petit déjeuner at Le Coq is certainly the best we've had anywhere in the world; freshly squeezed orange (always a reliable measure of a good hotel), unlimited proper coffee and a fantastic selection of cheeses and charcuterie, breads and confitures. Montreuil is a lovely little town with a history and ramparts to walk round. We were to arrive on my 65th birthday for our last day in France after visiting the Normandy beaches and Bayeux. Le Coq Hotel's facade is classic French and where the dining room and kitchens are located, overlooking a very pretty little square-fleurie. Most chambres, as ours, are at the rear in newer buildings, off a very narrow street. These are modern comfortable rooms, recently carpeted and furnished and well appointed with kettle, flat screen TV, good shower, bathroom and hair dryer. Unfortunately dinner was not being served on this Thursday evening and we ended up having a disappointing meal in the main square (which you can read about here on TA). The worst feature of this hotel, like many others I suspect in Montreuil, is the parking; limited space and a costly 10 Eu per night. Navigating the narrow streets is a problem in this little town not designed for cars. All things considered, if we return to Montreuil as well we may, we would stay at the Coq, but on days when they are serving dinner.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davowolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

We booked our second night in Montreuil at Le Coq which is just opposite our favourite restaurant Le Darnetal. We had hoped for two nights at Les Hauts de Montreuil as it is much cheaper but heyho what's another £45 for a Double Room! A lot!

The hotel is beautifully located and appointed. The main house has vaulted rooms and there is a sense of luxury and a hint of history. Our room was fine and the shower divine - there was also a fridge in which we placed all the stinky cheeses from the Saturday market!

We dined across the road so cannot comment on dinner. The breakfast, however, at 12 euro a shot, was classic! Rillette, pate, fine cold cuts, marolills, camembert, fruit, yoghurts, rustic bread, pats of creamy butter, cereals, croissants = a sumptuous banquet fit for royalty!

What was encouraging was that there were five groups of people at the trencher - and two couples were French!

Being a cheapskate, next time I am in Montreuil, I shall stay at Les Hauts and sneak in to Le Coq for breakfast...or is that flouting the rules?

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are best. Avoid the 10.50 euro parking charge by parking on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montreuil-sur-Mer
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hermitage
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hermitage
#3 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Hauts de Montreuil
Les Hauts de Montreuil
#1 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chateau de Montreuil
Chateau de Montreuil
#5 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hotel Castel Victoria
Hotel Castel Victoria
#4 of 22 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
#1 of 22 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hotel Chateau Clery
Hotel Chateau Clery
#1 of 1 in Hesdin-l'Abbe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coq Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coq Hotel

Property: Coq Hotel
Address: 2 Place de la Poissonnerie, 62170, Montreuil-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Montreuil-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Montreuil-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coq Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coq Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coq Hotel Montreuil Sur Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing