We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Hermitage
Certificate of Excellence
Aldbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable venue”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We've been staying here for many years and just had a couple of nights (February 2014). Always a very comfortable hotel - big rooms, comfortable beds, pleasant bathrooms. Our room had clearly just had a redecoration - don't know if this applies to all rooms.

Breakfasts have slightly changed with no hot dishes of scrambled eggs and bacon any more - sadly missed - but a big selection of the normal continental options. At 13 euros, breakfast is not value for money. But the rooms are at c. 190 euros for 2 x 2 nights. Car parking expensive within the hotel car park - but no need to use this as always plenty of spaces in the square outside so don't waste your money on their parking fees. (Best Western note - this always used to be free).

But aside from my carps about breakfast and the car park, a very good hotel and always an interesting destination.

Room Tip: Never had a bad room at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 743Pip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    346
    101
    20
    7
See reviews for
59
413
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The exterior of this hotel has the "wow factor", and the public rooms downstairs have an air of grandeur. The reception was friendly, efficient and straightforward. The public areas become more utilitarian as you move upstairs to your room, and plastic flower arrangements on the staircases don't really seem to fit in with the rest of the décor. Our bedroom at the front of the hotel was of majestic proportions. The bedroom curtains were double height, and the bathroom windows - of similar height - had an arrangement of blinds which did not entirely convince me that I had total privacy in the shower. The bed was huge, plenty of storage, extra pillows and clean crisp bedding. We slept well. The hospitality tray was well stocked, some toiletries were provided in the bathroom, and the room was lovely and warm with responsive heating controls. This is really an excellent place for a short stay. It's within striking distance of the ferries and we will certainly consider using it on our last night before returning to England in the future.

My tips for enhancing your stay:
1. Don't pay for the hotel car park - there is plenty of free parking right outside the hotel. The square gets really busy at the end of the school day as parents base themselves in the square and children walk or are bussed into the area. Once they have gone there is plenty of room.
2. If you find the hotel breakfasts overpriced - we did - you can get a really nice 5 euro breakfast in the Bistro café a 5 minute walk away.
3. There are plenty of well priced restaurants close to the hotel. In January plenty of them were closed but we got good advice from the hotel receptionist, and the tourist office, about places to eat.

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the square - it's a lovely aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tranquilnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here over the New Year period. The hotel looked characterful and promising from the outside, however inside was a different story unfortunately and we were quite disappointed.

We checked in on New Years Eve and received a sterile welcome from the guy on duty at reception. No offer to assist with bags or show us to the room or even the lift! Reception and the communal areas were very drab and in need of a makeover. The corridors were dim and dreary.

The room was pretty small - you could just about walk around the bed and the bed itself was not especially comfortable. TV was limited to French channels only.

Most annoyingly both nights of our stay, even though we had our "do not disturb" sign on the door, the hotel disturbed us anyway and woke us up on both days. On one occasion the maid just walked in without even knocking!

All in all it was an ok hotel for the price, and a day or two's stay would be enough, but service was lacking and we found it rather depressing and impersonal inside, so we checked out early from our planned longer stay and wouldn't rush to come back.

We didn't eat breakfast so we can't comment on that. The restaurant was closed for a month for holidays too unfortunately, along with most of Montreuil's eating establishments sadly.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mobilelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed at the Hermitage for one night when visiting the Wine Society shop which is directly behind the hotel. The hotel is very grand and stands proud at one end of the square. We booked direct via their website for a very reasonable £70 / night for the two of us (breakfast is an extra EUR13). The hotel receptionist was very welcoming and helpful and it wasn't a problem that we asked to check in early but we were out of season. The rooms are basic but clean and large enough with a TV as well as coffee / tea making facilities and free Wi-Fi which is available throughout the hotel – again the bathroom was fine but they could do with a better shower head.

The small bar area is cosy but a nice place for afternoon tea or a night cap and again the service was very good. Breakfast is basic with a selection of hot and cold buffet items and the opportunity to boil an egg yourself or make toast…sadly the breakfast room was very dull.

Montreuil is a lovely little town with lots of history (it was the setting for Les Miserables) and character and I would recommend a visit – it’s less than an hour from the Channel tunnel. There are a couple of very good wine shops (Wine Society as well as Vinophilie), there is a lovely walk around the ramparts and many small interesting shops. The town is also blessed with a good selection of restaurants – we ate at Le Patio and the food, wine and service were excellent.

I would highly recommend a weekend in Montreuil and the Hermitage offers good value for money for an average hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBurgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Mids
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Elegant Hotel and of great age with excellent ambience. Room was very comfortable with ahuge bathroom and great shower, light coloured carpet showing a few grubby marks, but it was Winter. Staff at reception helpful and friendly, breakfast had a good selection but the waitress was not a happy soul. Will definetly rturn in spring/summer for a proper look at the town.;recommended for a long weekedn, plenty of places to eat in the twon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HippyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We returned here, for our 4th stay,after a gap of a few years and were pleasantly surprised that the hotel was just as we remembered. Montreuil is one of our favourite destinations and a beautiful town and the hotel remains an integral part of that. Our room was spacious and comfortable, the bathroom was huge and spotlessly clean . The bed was also huge and very comfortable - we both slept well . Breakfast was plentiful and relaxed . All staff were helpful and friendly . We will definately be back again next year .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NismoNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed one night on our journey back to the UK. We love Montreuil and this was the first time at this hotel as the rate was good. We had a lovely room, very comfortable bed and large bathroom. The bar had a super atmosphere and the staff were very helpful. Staying on a Sunday night in winter, we discovered the hotel restaurant closed (as were most in Montreuil), but the guys were happy to make a recommendation that proved fantastic. We parked free in the square facing the hotel, had a great sleep and a great stay. We'd recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank handif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montreuil-sur-Mer
0.2 mi away
Les Hauts de Montreuil
Les Hauts de Montreuil
#1 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
305 reviews
8.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
#4 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
719 reviews
14.5 mi away
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
#1 of 1 in Hesdin-l'Abbe
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Novotel Thalassa Le Touquet
Novotel Thalassa Le Touquet
#11 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
1,685 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chateau de Montreuil
Chateau de Montreuil
#4 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
271 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
#2 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Hermitage

Property: Best Western Hotel Hermitage
Address: Place Gambetta | Hauts de France, 62170, Montreuil-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Montreuil-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Montreuil-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Hermitage 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic city of Montreuil sur mer, the Hotel Hermitage offers 57 bedrooms beautifully decorated and conference rooms with a capacity of 100. The bar is a delightful place to treat yourself with his wide range of cocktails. A fantastic SPA and a good restaurant are adjoining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Hotel Montreuil Sur Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing