We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Atelier 26 - CLOSED

L'Atelier 26
Cuisines: French, European
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Just the place on a bitterly cold day, warm and welcoming. Charming and unobtrusive service and the €23 menu is a real bargain even at today's exchange rate. You would pay a great deal more in the UK for a meal of this quality. Can't wait for the next wine run, will definitely go back.

Helpful?
Thank NeilJ555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    70
    13
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Loxwood
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Superb - especially on a bitterly cold day!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Having read the reviews, we knew that this was the place to go to and I endeavoured (in my pigeon French) to book a table from England, but the answerphone didn't speak English to me, so I left a (garbled) message and hoped for the best. We were in Montreuil just for the day, to pick up some wine and it was freezing cold!! We found the restaurant and went there early just in case the message hadn't got through, but as soon as we said our names they recognised us and our reservation for later on was confirmed. Thank heavens.
The food was beautifully cooked and presented and the service was friendly and efficient. We had the Menu at 23Euros and what a bargain. My guinea fowl was just right as was my husbands duck (pink, as requested) and the starters and desserts were excellent.
We couldn't get this value in England and can recommend the restaurant to anyone who is anywhere near Montreuil - definitely worth a drive to get there.
It was busy and you should book if possible - they have a web-site now, so look them up.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LoxwoodLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We went with friends Tuesday lunchtime and were lucky to get a table, the place was full and we would really have missed a dining experience if we hadn't got a table, so best to call and book.
I had Duck terrine followed by Veal with Black Forest Gateaux for afters ,loved it all. ( 17 Euro's)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank havenhouseHerneBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A little gem.”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

A really lovely little place to eat. We had researched on trip advisor before our trip. L'Atelier 26 had very good reviews so we decided to give it a try. We are not usually very brave with places to eat abroad as we have been ripped off a few times over the years...not speaking the language! But not this time. We had the set menu, which was lovely. The waitress was very polite and made us feel very welcome. There was a mixture of French and British diners, we felt at ease and very comfortable. Would defiantly like to go back to this restaurant! It was only a five minute walk from the 'Best western' hotel where we were staying.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank carldeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourg-la-Reine, France
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A pleasure to dine here”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Young chef working hard to make it on his own after spending 15 years in the cuisines of others. It is a pleasure to find a place where they are seriously endeavoring for you to enjoy an interesting dining experience. Working from seasonal ingredients, the food is fresh and original. No gadgets here to attract the clients. If you like good food, now's the time to come and enjoy this place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rds888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Atelier 26 also viewed

Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 
Wailly-Beaucamp, Montreuil-sur-Mer
Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 
Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing