We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a detour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chateau de Montreuil
Certificate of Excellence
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Worth a detour”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Old fashioned innkeeping at its best.Member of Relaix & Chateaux which usually means first class.Took my wife and son for one night .Comfortable,unpretentious with delightful staff.A reminder of what staying in good hotels was all about,before bling became fashionable.Food was excellent,service attentive,wine recommendation good without breaking the bank.For non linguists like us,everyone spoke good English and they were happy to use it!Close links with the Roux brothers so no better pedigree than that.
They have it just right.Worth a detour.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    60
    17
    11
    5
See reviews for
41
167
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

It is our first visit to this hotel, so were have an open mind, all we can say is this will not be our last.
The room is lovely, room 4 has a balcony as well overlooking the front lawn. Our dogs were welcomed rather than tolerated.
The star of the show is the kitchen staff, our meal to celebrate my wife's birthday was simply perfect. We tried the 7 courses tasting menu, it is fair to say every course was executed to perfection. We are regular diners in London restaurants and it is fair to say, it exceeded our expectations, and at 95E better value than most Michelin starred establishments in London.
So if you are in the area, highly recommend you have a meal here. As a previous reviewer said when he bumped into Michel Roux, he said why come to the Waterside when you can eat here!
I laughed when I read that review, I can honestly say you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Dogs are allowed in the restaurants!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toothfairy723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Refurbished since our last stay, plus free internet too. Rooms on the second floor in the hotel are preferred to the cottages. Christian's cooking is sublime. We bumped into Michelle Roux there at one time and he said "why come to a The Waterside when you can eat here". This restaurant sets the benchmark for me to compare restaurants around the world. Wines are chosen by the experts so ask their advice as to which wine is best for the meal.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hw1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Thank you to all at the Chateau de Montreuil for another perfect stay - this time to celebrate two birthdays! As is customary the welcome and hospitality is friendly and polite and dinner was, as usual, truly excellent complemented by fine wines. Breakfast too is always a delight. We have been visiting the Chateau for approximately 25 plus years (we found it quite by chance having parked outside once at lunchtime, looked around for somewher to enjoy lunch and voila!). We have introduced many people to its charm down the years and have never had reason to criticise anything in all that time. Quite an accomplishment. Renewed thanks and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: We love room nos 3, 4 and 1. It is hard to choose between them. All are different in decor but ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

would have loved a tea tray in the room but thats because us Brits are used to it. However, the travel kettle did the job and we used the fridge in the room for milk. Agree - a new stair carpet is needed but the rooms are lovely...very french, the loo is typically in a cupboard but the bathrooms are large and have everything you need (in the superior rooms). Bed comfy. Breakfast expensive but extremely good with a lovely freshly cooked loaf for two people! The town is great. A few little cafes and the walks around the old walls is a highlight. We would visit this hotel again. The staff are friendly and do speak a little english.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Premierely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We tried all sorts of places just inland from the channel crossing, but since finding the Chateau de Montreuil some 10 years ago we have never looked for anywhere else. The location is quiet, the rooms and beds very comfortable and the staff are absolutely charming. We have always had wonderful seasonal food and the chef's way with a sweet souffle (never the same flavour in all our visits) is legendary. Like David M we can't understand people who complain about prices. Surely they check out what to expect before booking. This is a first rate hotel and restaurant and has offered us a consistently high standard over a number of years.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I really felt that I had to write a review after reading some of the comments on another booking site.
We have had the pleasure of visiting the Chateau on many occasions over the last 20 years; we have brought friends and have been entertained here as well.
The food is always first class and I really do not understand why you would complain about your restaurant bill when you are staying in an establishment of this standard.
As for the staff comments; I can only say that we have always experienced the highest service standards which would be associated with an establishment like this; service is always attentive and we have never had a problem with language or translations when stuck.
This place is always on our list when visiting Northern France; I really do not think you will be disappointed; oh...........and leave the kids at home!
A Bientot ( sorry no accents!!)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montreuil-sur-Mer
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Hermitage
Best Western Hotel Hermitage
#3 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Hauts de Montreuil
Les Hauts de Montreuil
#1 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coq Hotel
Coq Hotel
#2 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
#4 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
0.5 mi away
Auberge de la Grenouillere
Auberge de la Grenouillere
#4 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
#2 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Montreuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Montreuil

Property: Chateau de Montreuil
Address: 4 chaussee des Capucins, 62170, Montreuil-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Montreuil-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Montreuil-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Montreuil 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, charming hotel, set in lovely gardens with a very good restaurant. The rooms are all different and cosy with space to relax. There is also a drawing room with an open log fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chateau de Montreuil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Montreuil Hotel Montreuil-Sur-Mer
Château De Montreuil Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing