We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Montreuil

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chateau de Montreuil
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Montreuil-sur-Mer
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We live in London and we decided to stop in Chateau Montreuil on our way from London to Paris by car. We love Relais & Chateau experiences (usually, with some exceptions) and we found this property gor-ge-ous!! It is a little chateau on the top of the (beautiful) village of Montreuil, very charming, cozy and elegant.

The property has a beautiful garden where guests can enjoy a number of services in sunny days. Inside the property - in the common areas - is elegant and similar to a private country house. The breakfast room offers a beautiful garden view and the quality of ingredients is truly exceptional (and we understand largely hand-made).

We slept in a suite in a dependance (1 minute from the main building) which was on two floors: beautiful, with two bathrooms, a great wonderful sleeping area on top and a living room downstairs. It was winter time and the room had a great heating system on. Charming furniture, very good taste, exceptional style. We loved it. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: We slept in a Suite in the dependance, chalet-style. Great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    51
    15
    9
    5
See reviews for
35
150
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Yes, it could just be! From the moment we arrived, everything was perfect. The bedroom was absolutely beautiful, full of old-world charm and wooden panels, with windows on three sides, numerous balconies, great views, a walk in closet, and a huge and spotless marble bathroom, simply perfect, in fact I can't think of a better room I have ever stayed in, anywhere in the world. I didn't see the other rooms to comment on, but presume they were similar.
The grounds were beautiful, and very well maintained, as was the pool area, and they were lovely to walk around, as was the town outside the hotel's walls. Dinner was also excellent, combining modern French cuisine, with the friendly unpretentious warmth of home cooking. Add to this the lovely staff and owners, and we simply couldn't have had a better stay. I can't recommend the hotel highly enough. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Delory123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and were enchanted by this hotel. Our room was delightful with a huge period bathroom (even a dressing table in it!) charmingly decorated. The staff were very kind and helpful and we were welcomed on our (very late) arrival with a glass of freshly squeezed orange juice and a brandy for my husband. Perfect! The restuarant is also a charming room overlooking the garden, and breakfast was very good indeed and well worth having. Sadly we were unable to stay for lunch but will be back sample the chef's skills on our next visit.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Luxuryloafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

After a wet, windy and cold morning trudging around the ramparts of Montreuil we were in need of cheering up, and having avoided the Chateau de Montreuil in favour of something cheaper on the other occasions when we visited the town, we decided that now was the time for luxury. The Chateau is set in a walled formal garden and despite a blackboard outside offering sweet or savoury snacks we saw several couples peer through the gates and then move on. It was after mid-day and in the restaurant the waiters were polishing spoons but the bar, which is a cosy sitting room near the front door, is where the snacks are served and we choose tea, hot chocolate and crumpets.

The crumpets were home-made (of course) and cooked to order and arrive on a chaffing dish accompanied by enough butter, blackcurrant jam and orange marmalade to feed a dozen 18th century travellers. The bill came to €19 including the baffling array of taxes that appear at the bottom of every bill in France, and which I hope includes service. No-one seemed bothered that we sat for an hour waiting for the rain to ease and the only other party in the bar were still drinking champagne and ordering their lunch when we left. By the way, very good toilets, reached by walking through the restaurant (which is how we know the waiters were polishing the spoons).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin7man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
305 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

One night of perfect hospitality (such nice staff), delicious meal with specially dressed table (top dishes scallops & pigeonneau), plus luxurious and comfortable room made a birthday break to remember. The cooking was generous & excellent; it felt quite traditional in some ways, but had the lightness of a modern approach with a delicate broth sauce. We were still too full of dinner to try breakfast! Not our first visit & I'm sure not our last. This is a really good hotel.

Room Tip: Room 1 has good 4-poster bed, comfy sofa, flame -effect fireplace & an absolutely fabulous bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

If you want to treat yourself for a special birthday or occasion, I can highly recommend this venue.
Spent my 60th birthday here and they really treated me like a Queen. Would not hesitate to go back. The staff are lovely, the rooms are spacious, the beds fit for a great nights sleep.
Lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olwyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south notts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Chateau de Montreil is situated in the heart of a lovely walled town made famous by Victor Hugo who set part of ' Les Miserables' there.We have visited the Chateau many times and have never been disappointed. It is a typical Relais et Chateaux with very high standards of decor, comfort amd service. The restaurant is excellent and the food outstanding.Prices are at the high end of the market but one has to pay for quality. For members of the Wine Society whose depot is in Montreuil it is the perfect last stop on a french motoring holiday to combine some luxury with wine collection.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthNottsMagpies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montreuil-sur-Mer
0.1 mi away
Coq Hotel
Coq Hotel
#1 of 10 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hermitage
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hermitage
#3 of 10 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 stars 565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Hauts de Montreuil
Les Hauts de Montreuil
#2 of 10 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Auberge de la Grenouillere
Auberge de la Grenouillere
#4 of 10 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
#2 of 24 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 stars 1,322 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hotel Chateau Clery
Hotel Chateau Clery
#1 of 1 in Hesdin-l'Abbe
4.5 of 5 stars 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Montreuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Montreuil

Property: Chateau de Montreuil
Address: 4 chaussee des Capucins, 62170, Montreuil-sur-Mer, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Montreuil-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Montreuil-sur-Mer
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montreuil-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Montreuil 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, charming hotel, set in lovely gardens with a very good restaurant. The rooms are all different and cosy with space to relax. There is also a drawing room with an open log fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Chateau de Montreuil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Montreuil Hotel Montreuil-Sur-Mer
Château De Montreuil Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing