We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveler rating
197
73
25
10
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
197
73
25
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews michelin star main course special offer overlooking the garden huge bathroom on arrival first floor no lift wonderful hotel separate shower dressing table one star delicious meal oysters spoke good english amuse bouche stayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 311 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Affordable luxury. Wow what a place. Beautiful serene, peaceful, luxurious. Great service, fabulous rooms the best location in town. We spent a very very wonderful night there. The breakfast was top class. I'll definately be back

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fitbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here as a fantastic last night of a brilliant holiday. Having visited back in 1995 we knew this place was special and it continued to live up to expectations on our revisit.
We stayed in one of the two storey cottages which accommodated the three of us just perfectly. Upstairs, the bed was as big as Gloucestershire and canopied, of course. Large windows with semi circular seats were special. Downstairs there's a large sitting area with woodburner and a single bed under stairs (no mention of Harry potter here) for our son. The only downside in the room was that the hot water tank was completely empty after one bath. Otherwise, attention to detail was unsurpassed.

The restaurant is very special, with a menu that many might think to be "challenging". The food is truly exceptional, the braver you are, the better it is. The service is very starchy though and in this day and age we found it took itself a little bit too seriously.

Chateau de Montreuil is truly magnificent but it is ruinously expensive. The pricing is simply epic, and whilst the accommodation is merely "pricey", everything else is priced in elephantine proportions. Don't get me wrong, we'll certainly be returning this beautiful, delightful and charming establishment, but it may just take us another 17 years to save up.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank CharlieD79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I have just been back to the Chateau de Montreuil after a gap of 20 years. My husband and I first went 20 years ago with our three-week old first-born son for a quiet break. This time we took our 16-year-old second son and our two dogs. Why did we wait so long? We have missed out. What a glorious place, better even than we remembered. The setting, gardens and rooms are stunning, the restaurant so very stylish, with an elegance that owes everything to French tradition, attention to detail and passionate commitment to offering customers the very best. And the food has got even better: light, innovative and perfectly balanced. As for the breakfast, the finest croissants, homemade preserves and excellent coffee - utterly perfect.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Caterinadisiena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We were staying in a house in the area for my 40th birthday and wanted to book somewhere special for lunch on the actual day.
I couldn't have chosen better.
Yes it is expensive, but worth every penny. The staff, service, location, venue and grounds are just fabulous - we had the 7 course taster menu and they tailored it to suit our table - being 8 of us that could have proved difficult but they managed to please us all!
I would HIGHLY recommend a visit here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne21T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

my wife and I stayed here on Sunday night and had an absolutely fantastic time. it's a short trip from Calais and a perfect staging post for a trip through the Chunnel. We had booked a garden room on a discounted rate but on arrival our hosts announced that we had been upgraded to a superior room in the chateau at no extra cost. The room was spacious, elegant and extremely comfortable. Having felt we had got great value on our room we opted for the 7 course tasting menu and were delighted with every single dish. The sommelier recommended some great wines at reasonable prices which complemented the meal perfectly. the staff were attentive but not intrusive, explaining every dish in both French and English and we had some great banter with them as the evening progressed. in the morning we strolled through the beautiful gardens and then walked around the fortifications which surround this delightful little town. This wasn't the cheapest night of our lives but it was worth every penny and we shall certainly be returning to this wonderful place.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews