We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good dinner”

Le Clos des Capucins
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A good dinner”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our first visit here.
The bar, which is at the entrance to the restaurant, was busy when we arrived whilst the restaaurant was almost empty. However as the evening progressed the bar emptied and the restaurant became pleasantly busier.
Both my wife and I had starter and main course from the set menu.
The food was interesting, good quality, well-cooked and attractively presented - traditional modern French.
The wines were excellent and not too expensive.
The owner and staff were very friendly helpful and efficient.
We thoroughly enjoyed our evening and will return.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank rogjacgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    129
    34
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
88 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“OK, but no more”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We picked the restaurant as our first choice (Darnetal) was closed on Saturday and we remembered walking past this one on the main square of the town.

Service was friendly- noticing our halting french the waitress discreetly included an english translation with our menus- which helped with one or two of the dishes!

To start we had the foie gras with almonds and the salad with poached egg, both OK, but a little bland compared to other restaurants- in particular the bacon with the salad was very chewy, and difficult to cook.
For main courses the T bone- carved off the bone, but served alongside it were greasy and lacking flavour, the accompanying couscous was dry from the hot slate used for serving and the mashed potato was lumpy and lacked flavour.
Desserts were better than mains- but still decidedly average, the profiterole with salted caramel ice cream was pleasant, but very sugary, and sauteed strawberries with strawberry sorbet was tasty, but strangely greasy again.
Including wine and drinks the meal reached 150 euro- way more than deserved for the quality.

I don't think we'd bother here again- much prefer to return to l'Atelier 26- just around the corner

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank abomination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We ate here during new year as our hotel recommended it. We were not disappointed. Great food and friendly staff.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snack-a-Jacka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were two couples staying two nights in Montreuil and as we were eating at our hotel on the second night, we decided to eat elsewhere on our first night and chose Le Clos. As it turned out, it was an excellent choice. The food was lovely and well presented. I had a starter of escargot and champignon in a very tasty sauce followed by a beautifully cooked lamb joint and trimmings and finished with a desert of three flavoured sorbets. The menu was Euros 23.50 and a bottle of Sancerre, Euros 33.00 which I felt was good value. The service was efficient and courteous and could not be faulted.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“"Very enjoyable lunch"”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had lunch at this restaurant whilst on a Eurotunnel day trip to Calais. Montreuil-sur-Mer is an attractive town and well worth a visit. We strolled around on what was quite a cold frosty day looking at the menus on offer from a number of restaurants and decided this was to be the one. Our decision in part being that it appeared popular as quite a number of tables were occupied (mainly by French) and the atmosphere on entering the restaurant was very nice.

We were given a choice of tables by a very pleasant young woman and given chance to settle before menus and wine list were brought.
We opted for a set lunch men and the dishes on offer were varied and interesting. We both enjoyed a delicious terrine. I then choose the shoulder of lamb with almonds and a delicious sauce. Very tender, melt in the mouth meat. My husband had risotto which was nicely presented and tasty. Dessert consisted of a very large profiterole with salted caramel ice-cream for me and a superb tarte tatin for my husband. We enjoyed a carafe of red wine and coffee.
We spent a pleasant couple of hours enjoying an excellent lunch in a nice warm restaurant for less that 50 Euros including service. What more could we ask?

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fussyfemaleKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Clos des Capucins also viewed

Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 
Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Le Clos des Capucins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing