We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Very enjoyable lunch"”

Le Clos des Capucins
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
kent
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“"Very enjoyable lunch"”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had lunch at this restaurant whilst on a Eurotunnel day trip to Calais. Montreuil-sur-Mer is an attractive town and well worth a visit. We strolled around on what was quite a cold frosty day looking at the menus on offer from a number of restaurants and decided this was to be the one. Our decision in part being that it appeared popular as quite a number of tables were occupied (mainly by French) and the atmosphere on entering the restaurant was very nice.

We were given a choice of tables by a very pleasant young woman and given chance to settle before menus and wine list were brought.
We opted for a set lunch men and the dishes on offer were varied and interesting. We both enjoyed a delicious terrine. I then choose the shoulder of lamb with almonds and a delicious sauce. Very tender, melt in the mouth meat. My husband had risotto which was nicely presented and tasty. Dessert consisted of a very large profiterole with salted caramel ice-cream for me and a superb tarte tatin for my husband. We enjoyed a carafe of red wine and coffee.
We spent a pleasant couple of hours enjoying an excellent lunch in a nice warm restaurant for less that 50 Euros including service. What more could we ask?

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fussyfemaleKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    131
    36
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not disappointing, but not exciting either.”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Booked a table at le clos des capucins but really there was no need. The whole of montreuil was pretty quiet when we were there and although the restaurant did get busier whilst we were there it was never full. 5 other groups arrived after us, 1 of which was a french couple and the others all english groups. We decided in the end to go for the more expensive set menu at 37€ each. The amuse bouche were really nice, and the starters were delicious (one scallop croque monsiour and a frois gras), but it all went a little down hill from there. We both had rump steak for our mains, and although the steak was clearly a very good quality cut of meat, they were over-cooked for what was ordered (I ordered mine blue and my partner ordered his rare, but both came medium with rare bits in the middle), the plates were blisteringly hot and the vegetables were cold - which was confusing as the cold veg were on the hot plate. The sauce was very tasty and there was plenty of it on the plate, but it was dried onto the plate at the edges and just had the feel of having sat around for a while. The net course was essentially cheese on toast. Nice cheese, but cheap white supermarket bread and a sprinkling of salad with a bit of balsamic reduction. That course felt like it was unnecessary, not thought about and didn't really add anything to the meal other than feeling more full. The choice of dessert was poor, with either a 'fantasy of orange chocolate' or a 'Sable Breton with marscapone and mango'. We both went for the sable breton and really enjoyed it, but it was just a basic pastry tart with some fruit and cream on it, and I would have expected more from a menu at this price. I think if we were to go again, we would stick to the cheaper fixed price menu. The extra 15€ each was definitely not worth getting extra food that wasn't that great. On a positive note, the wine list was extensive (although a bit pricey), and we were able to have a half bottle of white wine and then a glass each of red with the main. Both were delicious. Also, the service was very good, with the waitress and owner both serving tables and being very cordial, polite and efficient. Just a shame that the main course was poorly prep'd, and the lack of thought about the second half of the menu.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnandmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent local restaurant in main square”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Bustling place well used by locals. Booked a table for six and were expected and seated on arrival. Good selection of food and good service. Good value for money. You must realise that this is a busy place and has a good atmosphere, not really the place for a quiet romantic evening, but great for our party.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank David2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Traditional French Cuisine”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Good food at a reasonable price, service is a little on the slow side, however the waiting staff are good and the food is worth the wait.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank GSRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“lovely food”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

and atmosphere.

We( Four ladies of a certain age) ate here on both nights of our 2 night stay and enjoyed both.There was a varied choice on the menu and the portions were of a good size!The staff were very helpful --and smiley---shame that can't be said for the lady owner who was as miserable as can be, Never lifting her head when any one entered or left-----amazing!
Very nicely laid table with proper linen and lovely glasses.
Excellent ambiance in the restaurant , locals were in having a drink and pleased to say not many English!
Definitely one to pick.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank handbagsbrockham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Clos des Capucins also viewed

Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 
Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Le Clos des Capucins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing