We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ghastly”
Review of Les Remparts

Les Remparts
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Remparts
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ghastly”
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I agree with the other reviews and wished I had read them and not booked. Ghastly room ,toilet in cupboard,shower you could not get into. crumpled dirty bedlinen and dirty carpets,restaurant closed, no breakfast available.What a let down in a lovely town.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pandapurdey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    9
    2
    12
See reviews for
8
18
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

I stayed with my wife and two friends for a different new year celebration. The rooms were poor quality in almost every respect. A pervasive smell of vegetables was always present. No attempt to clean the rooms was made, we stayed 2 nights. The manager owner palyed very loud club music until 2.30am for himslef and a few guests. In fairness he did try to mitiagte the noise factor by giving uis rooms on the 2nd floor,however the rooms were miserable so the sum effect was a bad hotel. Our friends suffered even more noise when another guest palyed 80'smusic until 4am very loudly. The manager showed no interest whatsoever when we complianed the next day. Instead of adding to our short break, this hotel was endued rather than enjoyed by each us.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank essigjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreuil-sur-Mer hotels

Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Where do I start, the sheet were crumpled and one had an old blood stain on it, the towels were hard and smelly, the carpet was worn and the emabarrement of having ot go to the toilot in what I can only describe as a hardboard punch and judy box in the bedroom. not hanging polke in the wardrobe and in our friends room no wardrobe at all.
The shower was pathetic and kept going cold and there was nothing to hang wet towells on.
The bar at about 11pm when we were sitting having a late night coffee was turned into what I can only describe as a club with laser lights wizzing around and very loud clubbing music which continued until about 2am, then a very drunk couple in the room above had on loud music and were rowing and the walls are are paper thin we did not get any sleep as this went on until 5.30 am when the dustcarts arrived. I spoke to the gentleman the next day and he shrugged his shoulders and suggeted that I put a not under their door. Horrible horrible horrible

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bev02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Although the downstairs restaurant looked newly renovated and the breakfast seemed fine, the standard of cleanliness of the residential accomodation was disgusting.
All the bedlinen was unironed and smelt stale, even after we asked the patron to put on freshly laundered bedlinen. The bolster was blood stained (lovely). The floors were not properly hoovered and very dusty in places. Although the basin, toilet and shower looked recently cleaned, the towels were ragged, stained and smelly.

One wouldn' t expect anything deluxe at an inexpensive 2 star hotel and we were not surprised that the decor of Les Remparts' residential accomodation was very tired looking. But the basic cleanliness of a room (especially the bedlinen) is surely an absolute must. We will be sending our views to the local tourist office.

It seems strange to find no other reviews on trip advisor - have they been removed?

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nameless186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montreuil-sur-Mer
0.2 mi away
Les Hauts de Montreuil
Les Hauts de Montreuil
#1 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Hermitage
Best Western Hotel Hermitage
#3 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coq Hotel
Coq Hotel
#2 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel LE VAUBAN
Hotel LE VAUBAN
#7 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
108 reviews
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
#3 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
696 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel de la terrasse
Hotel de la terrasse
#3 of 10 in Berck
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Remparts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Remparts

Property: Les Remparts
Address: 5 Porte de France, 62170, Montreuil-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Montreuil-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Montreuil-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Les Remparts 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Les Remparts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing