We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Different form all the rest”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Froggy's Tavern

Froggy's Tavern
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Different form all the rest”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We found this restaurant accidentally when wandering the streets of Montreuil-sur-mer when all the shops were closed, tucked up a little ally way it's easy to miss. It was closed at the time but a member of staff happened to come outside while we were passing and told us they would be open at 7 o'clock, we arrived just around 7.20pm and it was still closed so we went and had a drink in one of the bars and came back a bit later to find it open and plenty of customers there. The menu is in French so I wasn't 100% sure what to expect although one of the waitresses spoke very good English and explained each dish to us. Excellent choice and I would say some of the dishes quite English with a French twist. It was nice to see something different compared to all the other local restaurants. The service was great until the waitress's friends turned up to eat and then it was quite difficult to get her attention. Good value for money, great choice. Would definitely go back there if we are ever in Montreuil-sur-mer again. Which is quite likely.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phonelogic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    203
    56
    26
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Herstmonceux, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice food, nice atmosphere!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

This was an interesting place, recommended by friends, where old meets new! Staff friendly and helpful explaining each dish. Some might say limited choice for starters, mains and desserts but this means more attention to detail. All mains had fries and delicious green salad as accompaniment - simple concept which for us really worked! Good range of local cheese instead of dessert! A good find!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great twist to the classic French Bistro”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We had dinner here and enjoyed it as it was different to your classic bistro style experience. Although some diners may not like to share their table with others we were happy to do so, especially as they were locals and we found out more about the area. The staff were very friendly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food!!”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Really lovely location and great food! Outside dining is preferable and the suckling pig (only available on Saturdays) was incredible!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Chose this place mainly because most other restaurants were closed. The restaurant at first glance looks good but we we immediately put off by the bench style tables where we had to sit side by side with other diners, rather like a college refectory. My starter of squid was very chewy & would have soled a pair of boots for a couple of weeks. My wife's starter was undercooked peas with creme fraiche, not very inspiring. We both ordered the 'farmers pork chop' which was dry & clearly had never seen a griddle as the fat was pale. Asked to look at the wine list & decided not to bother as they offered ordinary wines at high prices. We opted for the house wine instead. Didn't bother with the dessert as they looked ordinary at best.
In short, this place is pretentious & expensive & we will not be returning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IDR190786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Froggy's Tavern also viewed

Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 
Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 
Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Froggy's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing