We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced and under delivered”
Review of Froggy's Tavern

Froggy's Tavern
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“overpriced and under delivered”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We ate one saturday night. There were uncomfortable seats and we were squashed. the food was underwhelming and overpriced - nothing special.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Roddie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    215
    59
    27
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Six of us went here for lunch ages from 9 to 60+ and it was great for everyone except perhaps the 9 year old. I definitely wouldn't take young children unless they are used to eating adult food. The only concession for children is half portions of chicken and some of the meats. The chickens are whole pouissons so not ideal for a young child to eat without help. Apart from that it is great and the best food we ate whilst in France. As soon as we cleared the bread board more was brought, there were plenty of lovely roast potatoes and salad with delicious dressing. The wine was good and the sweets really yummy - the 9 year old loved the warm chocolate fondant! It is very noisy because it is basically a barn with wooden tables and benches so not the place for a quiet romantic meal! The total cost was about 35 euros a head for mains and dessert one bottle of wine and soft drinks and coffees.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinkwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A nice plac”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

This is the "bis" restaurant of La Grenouillere. It's located in the center of Montreuil, in a nicely renovated old house.

You're greeted by generous smiles from the waitresses - they make you feel at ease immediately. They are also very prompt to bring you a jar of "rillettes" and fresh bread while you evaluate what to order from the short menu written with chalk on a slate.

We were in a bit in a hurry and were not overly impressed with the starters list, much more by the rest so we ordered main courses and desserts. There are about 5-6 main courses to choose from that come from the "rotisserie" plus a few additional suggestions including fish, some for an additional 4 euro. Options from the rotisserie (21 euro) include lamb, pork, rabbit, chicken, etc. I took a farmer pork piece, it was both generous in size and very fresh and tasty. All main courses came with roasted potatoes and a side salad. My companions tried out different dishes - all left their plate comprehensively empty.

The wine list is also fairly compact but offers great wines at good value. We picked a Fronton Le Roc at a modest price of 18 euro, which proved a great match for our meat.

The list of dessert is fairly original and extremely tasty. It includes for example profiteroles with red fruit ice cream. I picked a fresh cheese ice cream with a strawberry soup. It was perfect.

The 6 of us were unanimous about this place - simple but fabulous experience !

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pavupapri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent food, wonderful service!”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Had lunch in this lovely little place, off the beaten track, and what a delight.

The staff could not do more for you, and the two French waitresses were fantastic. Excellent locally sourced french cuisine, and a wonderful atmosphere. Highy recommended.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DaversLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Disappointing 3rd visit”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We visited Froggy`s as a couple and were so impressed we took 2 friends on another occasion and recommended it to others ,we visited a 3rd time on 3rd of May with 2 other friends as a treat for my husbands birthday and were very disappointed very limited starters small amount of bread and rillettes as opposed to plenty on the first 2 visits.Pork chop excellent ,2 portions of rabbit each with very little meat, lamb inedible we spoke to the waitress who appeared not to be interested very perfunctionary apology..no-one else to "complain" to the riz au lait was good. Would neither recommend or visit again .

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Froggy's Tavern also viewed

Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 
Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 
Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Froggy's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing