We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous service, luxurious suroundings”

Chateau de Montreuil
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $36 - $98
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“fabulous service, luxurious suroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Came here to celebrate my 50th birthday.and it was a perfect place to do so. The staff had decorated all the wine glasses with pink ribbons in recognition my momentous age! Very friendly staff, beautiful dining room and menu with so many delicious things on it so that it was difficult to chose! If I were being picky, and perhaps one should be since this is such a high class restaurant; a couple of the things that we had ordered were overcooked (steak and turbot) and it is for this reason that I have given them 4 and not 5 stars.,

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KatG100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    47
    13
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

What a treat! Little did we expect to find a lunchtime table for 8 available to round off a perfect family holiday. We knew Montreuil to be an attractive destination and impulsively made straight for the Château restaurant. The setting though formal was unusually relaxed - our confidence in the kitchen staff and somellier was high and the waiting staff were brilliant with the four children. Amongst other things, we ate the most mouthwatering US beef fillets and the children enjoyed smoked salmon and pasta. The peach tarte tatin was scrummy and the soufflé obviously equally delicious. After dessert we adjourned to the outdoor terrace for coffee and petits fours, overlooking a beautiful lawn where the children beat the grown-ups on the giant chess board. An excellent and memorable lunch though it's a pity that profit margins seem to rely heavily on the price of children's drinks.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrandMrsT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london england
Level Contributor
123 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Definitely the best Montreuil has to offer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

We have eaten here many times over a period of more than 20 years. The food has been consistently superb thanks to the chef-owner Mr Germain. Presentation and service are impeccable and well deserve the Michelin star. Prices are high though as might be expected.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UKandFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“i wish i was richer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

My husband and i stayed at the Chateau for 3 nights and on the day of our arrival 12th july being his birthday we had dinner there..We were treated like royalty and did appreciate the little touches to make us feel special like small crystal pearls on the table glasses with gold ribbon (to remind the staff it was a special meal i suppose!).The meal itself was excellent Crab gratin the best we ever tasted and the veal chop for 2 was succulent not to forget to mention the raspberry souffle which just melted in the mouth.Needless to say that with drinks on top it was not cheap but it was our special day so well worth it.I wish we could have dined there for the other 2 nights but the rooms were expensive the cheapest being200 euros meant we had to go elsewhere to eat!However no regrets!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank danielle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Memorable Luncheon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

We visited with friends, having been recommended, and we weren't disappointed. Charming staff, who paid attention to our every whim, glorious food cooked to perfection, all in the most glorious of settings. Even if you are not passing, it is worth a detour. A memorable luncheon.

Helpful?
Thank 20H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau de Montreuil also viewed

Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 
Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 
Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Chateau de Montreuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing