We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great overnight stay”
Review of Hotel LE VAUBAN

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel LE VAUBAN
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This was a great little find. A small typically French hotel - so much nicer to break your journey through France in a place like this than in one of the formula one inns, which lack any heart or soul. Here you can wake up in clean white sheets in a room overlooking the main square in Montreuil, with the ramparts just a short stroll away if you like walking before breakfast. And breakfast is simple but perfect - fresh baguettes and croissants, butter, real homemade jam, Brie, ham, orange juice and great cafe au lait. Only 60 euros for a double room for the night! What's not to like. A bargain.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank MargaretJonesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Hotel LE VAUBAN
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 113 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed 2 nights. Clean, friendly and great value. Food was tasty and well cooked - not 3 star but neither was the price. Breakfast was plentiful with a good choice. Reading some other reviews, if people want more, they should go elsewhere and pay a lot more. You get what you pay for in this world. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaggiePF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

we arrived at the hotel to a warm welcome, rooms very clean and presentable, and for a 2 star hotel excellent presentation,.

Decided to eat at the hotel the 1st night The food and presentation was exellent,one could not wish for more.
Breakfast wouldnt go amiss in a 4Star hotel. everything you could wish for, plus fresh fruits. All four of us were treated wonderfully

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Its november and nights are cold so one would expect to find a warm room. Not so. No heating came on in our room until after 1800 and then it was minimal. We also couldnt fail to notice a smell reminiscent of stale cabbage. Add to this the extremely cramped conditions, and tired decor. On the plus side the breakfast was worth every euro.

Room Tip: Avoid being near the bar...it can get noisy.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elizabethjane064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Owning a property in France and making 10 or more crossings a year from the UK we have stayed at le Vauban many many times over the last 10 years to break up the trip from south Brittany to the north west of the UK. Situated in Montrueil sur mer right on the town square the hotel is clean and comfortable and reasonable value for money considering the prices of some of the other hotels in Montrueil. Staff and management have always been helpful and friendly, rooms are clean, Montrueil is a beautiful town and just 45 minutes from Calais. The food in the attached restaurant is reasonably priced and tasty and breakfast is plentiful and pleasantly presented by the staff if a little overpriced.

All in all a good little budget hotel in a nice location within easy driving distance from the ferry and eurotunnel terminals.

Steve, Wigan UK.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevejoeshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel was open when the Remparts nearby was not. Inexpensive, a quiet room even though over looking the market square, so lots of parking space. Tiny bathroom.
Breakfast not good, especially at 9 euros.

Room Tip: I thought a room not facing the square would be quieter, but it did not matter.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Had a nice time at the Vauban - it was hard to find as the sat nav went a bit crazy so it took us longer than we expected & arrived after the chef had gone but no mind - the beer was cold so was happy. A couple in the bar mentioned the food had been excellent & good value for money too. Daniel was very helpful & pleasant as was Mrs the next morning at breakfast which was delicious, fresh breads, croissants, jam, coffee/tea/chocolate, ham & cheeses. There was cereals & fruit salad too - all help yourself so we left full to the gills as it was so tasty. We had a pretty view of the Square (place de Gualle I think) & the fountain from our room which was decorated in a modern style, flat screen TV & hairdryer in the showeroom. The white linens were crisp & fresh, plentiful towels but the bed was too soft & bouncy for me as I sleep better on a harder mattress but that is just my preference. I would definately stay at the Vauban again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seneca111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montreuil-sur-Mer
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Hermitage
Best Western Hotel Hermitage
#3 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
685 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Hauts de Montreuil
Les Hauts de Montreuil
#1 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coq Hotel
Coq Hotel
#2 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
#4 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
738 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chateau de Montreuil
Chateau de Montreuil
#5 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
275 reviews
8.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Berck sur Mer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel LE VAUBAN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel LE VAUBAN

Address: 32 Place du General de Gaulle, 62170, Montreuil-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Montreuil-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Montreuil-sur-Mer
Price Range: $77 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel LE VAUBAN 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel LE VAUBAN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing