We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Restaurant with Rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Patio

Le Patio
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montreuil-sur-Mer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Patio
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurant with Rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We have eaten at Le Patio a number of times now and it definitely our No. 1 restaurant of choice in Montreuil. This visit we went with friends and booked rooms (2 doubles and a single) so that we could enjoy our French gastro meal and waddle upstairs to bed when we were ready.

We find the owners very friendly. Madame is your hostess and Monsieur is the excellent chef. They recognise us now and are warm and welcoming when we visit.

The restaurant is spacious and smart, but not intimidating. The owners have recently added a lovely glass extension to the back and there are also tables in the garden. We were lucky enough to have a table in the new extension and enjoyed another fabulous meal. You choose from a set menu. Some of the dishes have a small supplement (for example, the steak or if you want 12 oysters, rather than 6). We find the cost very reasonable for the quality of the food. All 5 of us had something different from the menu and absolutely everything we ate was just delicious. The food is fresh and local and the chef, in our opinion, is very skilled.

The bedrooms upstairs (I think there are 5?) are clean and nicely decorated. We have stayed in two of the double rooms and liked both. They are not luxurious, but they are smart and for the price (we paid 60 euro) they are fantastic value. The bathrooms are new and the bed linen is fresh and white. Very comfortable. No. 30 is my favorite. One thing I would say is that if you are a light sleeper, then take ear plugs. Remember that this is a very old, traditional French building so there is some creaking when other guests are walking up/down the stairs plus the restaurant is on the main road coming into town. It's not majorly noisy, but because I am a light sleeper I take this precaution myself to ensure I get a good night's sleep.

We really like Le Patio and love Montreuil itself. I would highly recommend this destination for a weekend break.

ps - Montreuil's market day is on Saturday - yet another reason to head to this lovely town at the weekend - to stock up on all the local cheese, bread and flowers!

Room Tip: Take ear plugs if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraMo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    21
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
35
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

In December 2011/January 2012 I booked two rooms. I got an e-mail confirmation of my reservation on 03.01.2012. On about 21.04.2012 I got an e-mail from the Hotel that our confirmed reservation could no longer be honoured as the rooms were now let out to other people.
I would recommend anyone wanting to go to this Hotel to think twice as they might find themselves withou a rooms shortly before their arrival.
I for one will never go there again whihs is sad as the mother of the owner was such a lovely and honourable person.

Room Tip: No comments as I was prevented to go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanspeterschaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

Just back from a lovely weekend away with friends, staying at Le Patio in Montreuil.
Our room was clean and comfortable, not overly spacious, but good value.
We ate in the restaurant on Friday evening, which seemed to be full of mainly local people (usually a good sign!). The meal was excellent - varied menu, tasty and beautifully presented.
As you might expect, there was a good variety of (French) wine on offer.
We enjoyed the breakfast, especially the creme carmel - which appeared to be freshly made just for us!
Throughout our stay we found the staff to be pleasant, attentive and helpful. However, this may have been because one of our friends can speak fluent French and was therefore able to engage them in full conversation which I'm sure helped them to help us. I'm not sure that my wife and I would have enjoyed the same experience had we needed to rely on our own, very limited, linguistic skills (I'm ashamed to admit)!

Room Tip: If they are unoccupied, why not ask to see the available rooms and choose one yourself, as some don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capel Curig, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

Arrived at 1900hrs with no reservation having read reviews. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. The meal (four courses) was to a very high standard and was clearly prepared with culinary skill and flair in its presentation. We have eaten in many different restaurants in France over the years, it is ones such as this that give memorable experiences of local French cuisine. 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyinlondon1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

Following the reviews we read, we thought we would have a pleasant lunch last Saturday. We were delayed on the way there and entered the restaurant at 1.30pm without having booked.
I explained the situation and looked around as I was talking to check that there was any spare table left. the restaurant was fairly quiet but to my amazement, the lady behind the bar cut me short and said. "sorry we are fully booked in a very sharp way which meant get out, I cannot be bothered!!!"
On one hand we were disappointed as the menu looked very interesting but we thought that if the staff are that unpleasant , we were better off going somewhere else. We ended up having a very nice meal at Le Darnethal were the couple were courteous and polite, the meal was very good and the bill reasonnable. What a shame!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonAml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel on our way back to Calais. The room we stayed in was OK but not 'overly roomy' but it did the job for one night....a bit more of a traditional French hotel. However the Restaurant by far makes up for the room. As it was a Sunday evening we were not 100% sure what restaurants would be open in the town, so we decided to eat at the hotel...what a great choice that was. The food throughout the meal was outstanding very tasty and the presentation was first class. The 'walled' town of Montreuil-sur-Mer is a lovely place to visit, full of character and a variety of restaurants and bars to choose from. In the past we have stayed at Hermitage Hotel (part of Best Western), but I think that the character and the food of Le Patio gives it that 'french feel'

Room Tip: If you have a choice try and book the 'Family Room' ...its a very spacious first floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gurneygary31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
150 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stopped here by chance for a place to eat which did not have meat as it's main course. It was our lucky day! We were welcomed warmly and shown to a table in lovely surroundings. We started with delicious cheese flan served warm with a lovely side salad. It was followed by cod fillet with roasted vegetables served in a chefy piled up style. We asked for them to leave out the chorizo which they were happy to do. The meal was completed with a lovely strawberry tart served on a neat slate platter. We had a small carafe of red wine and the bill came to €37. A real bargain. The meal wasn't huge but it was lunch so was a perfect size for mid day. We thought the whole experience was delightful.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shefftrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreuil-sur-Mer hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hermitage
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hermitage
#3 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Hauts de Montreuil
Les Hauts de Montreuil
#1 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau de Montreuil
Chateau de Montreuil
#5 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coq Hotel
Coq Hotel
#2 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel LE VAUBAN
Hotel LE VAUBAN
#7 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.6 mi away
Auberge de la Grenouillere
Auberge de la Grenouillere
#4 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Patio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Patio

Property: Le Patio
Address: 17 rue Pierre Ledent, 62170, Montreuil-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Montreuil-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Montreuil-sur-Mer
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Patio 2*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing