We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Cocquempot

Le Cocquempot
Price range: $22 - $49
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Full of AUTHENTIC CHARACTER When you step over the threhold of this bourgeois house you will enjoy a traditional, mouthwatering cooking. Careful attention has been paid to the decor, as the service. With the possibility to have lunch or dinner in the inner courtyards in the summer months.
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Reserved a table and were expected on arrival. God choice and variey of food available, 'menus' are well thought out. Meal was cooked and served well. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank David2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    52
    17
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
102 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent and very French Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

This was our third stay in the hotel and again we had our evening meal. The atmosphere was excellent with both english and french packing the tables. The extensive menu (with English) meant choosing took a while and the resultant meal was excellent. Elsewhere on tripadvisor this hotel is rated as number 1 and we believe the restaurant contributes greatly to this.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denis9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“a little 'retro' but we liked it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

The food here was good, if a little on the 'retro' side (at times a bit heavy and fairly traditional). The service was excellent though and the prices reasonable. We were staying at the hotel and booked this for ease and whilt other restaurants might have a more contemporary menu, this was perfectly acceptable. The meal was relaxed and relaxing and woudl defintiely eat here again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graeme347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Expectations were met.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

The signature dish (chicken) was very tasty and, overall, my wife and I had a lovely meal. Nothing fancy, just good old-fashioned cooking at a reasonable price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soar84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food delicious, service diffident”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

I had a very lovely meal at the Cocqempot. The Chicken in beer was fantastic! The smoked salmon blinis were also amazing. The wine list is extensive and I had delicious bordeaux. While the service was a little, well diffident in the French way, overall it was attentive and competent. The resto was filled with locals, so clearly they like the food too! I completely recommend this place!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank bernie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cocquempot also viewed

Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 
Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Montreuil-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Le Cocquempot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing