We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveler rating
31
84
38
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
31
84
38
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful town small bottle of water church bells bar closes yogurt great shower would stay again double bed family room separate toilet the main square bread blinds cheese bakery jams supermarket
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 166 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for one night with another family in adjoining rooms. It was the last leg of our journey home and we wanted to explore some of the D-Day beaches before heading back to the UK.

First impressions as we walked into reception after a 600 mile drive weren’t that great. The reception area is quite small and dark and had the feel of 1950’s (not in a trendy/nostalgic way). The owners (I guess) were on reception. They were very warm and welcoming and spoke excellent English. Check in was easy and we were in our rooms within a few minutes.

The room we had was a family room with 4 single beds. Really well decorated, spacious and clean and superb bathroom. Everything felt new and of good quality. There was only 1 small bottle of water, however, which is obviously not adequate for a family, especially as reception and bar closes early so no chance of getting more drinks.

We chose not to eat in the hotel restaurant as we wanted to get out for some air having spent all day in the car. The owner phoned a couple of restaurants for us to see if they had a table, which was very kind. They were all booked, so we strolled around the corner and into the main square which had a choice of several eateries. We had a fairly decent meal and headed back to the hotel. It would have been nice to finish off the evening with a nightcap but, oddly, the bar closes at 9pm so we headed straight to bed.

Breakfast was the usual buffet-style affair, and it was adequate for our needs. Plenty of choice, and even hot options.

All in all, a good little hotel and would recommend it if you are transiting through the area.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here as a family while we did a mini tour of the area. Bergues is a charming medieval town, but it's worth noting that it pretty much shuts down at 9pm... A bit frustrating. The room was clean, large and well furnished (if lacking in storage) great shower! Breakfast was good, and we did partake of the bar and restaurant, both with a good choice, but like bergues itself... They close early, which a bit like bergues is its achilles heel.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Balding_Bon_Viveur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for one night during a brief trip to France with my wife and two daughters. We stayed on a Monday night and arrived around 4pm.

Plenty of free parking in the town so we got parked right outside. Check in was fine, nice lady spoke good English. Was asked at check in if we wanted breakfast the next day and we said yes. (Wish we hadn’t).

We had a family room- 4 single beds. The room was nicely decorated and the bathroom and shower was very nice. Free shower gel and sufficient towels. Small kettle and only two cups which seemed odd as it’s a 4 person room. Also a small bottle of water- with 2 kids I’d have preferred a large bottle and sufficient tea and coffee facilities for a family.

Be warned- Bergues is a quiet town and we didn’t find much going on. Had a nice meal and a beer out, no supermarkets or convenience stores in the town itself. We were back at the hotel by 8.30pm and the bar was closed.

The following morning we went down for breakfast. It is €12.50 per person. Later I asked why my youngest daughter (10 yrs old) was charged at the same rate and was told child rate was “over 9yrs”. (Convenient).

Breakfast was “ok”. It’s a self service buffet. Tea, coffee, juice available. Boiled eggs, bread to toast including brioche. Some chocolate croissant that were supermarket bought. There’s a selection of jams and yogurt etc. There is also cold meats, cheese and what were described as home made cakes. Three heated containers held scrambled egg, bacon and chopped up hot dogs- none of which looked at all appetising, grey bacon etc.

I have to say that I’m not satisfied all of the buffet was fresh, a lot looked as though it had been there a while and that it was just wheeled out each morning. Whilst eating a large dog strolled through the buffet area and there were flies buzzing around with nothing covered.

For €50 for two adults and two kids it was very steep for what it was. We’d have been better getting something on the road or at a bakers.

When I spoke to the manager at check out he shrugged and tried to blame Expedia, explaining that had I booked direct he’d have been able to do a better deal. Hard to justify when breakfast is optional!

All in all- I’d be happy to stay a night in the future, I’d just make sure I didn’t bother with the breakfast.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Biscuitsbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2017 via mobile

Good hotel, very clean with rooms updated recently. In the center of a pretty historical town, meaning on road parking. Staff were excellent, as was the breakfast but I wouldn't bother with dinner. There are plenty of places around. Would stay again as it is a very convenient stop over before crossing The Channel.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank helensU9663PT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2017

It was a Saturday morning and we had nowhere reserved to stay close enough to Calais for a mid-morning ferry, which required early arrival to overcome delays at the port.
Rang several old favourites but all were booked or gone out of business ( thanks M Holland!)
It has 39 traditional old style rooms, clean and comfortable. A welcoming Patron.
A very good evening meal in a quiet corner of the town, beside the church. Breakfast was a delight.
Overall a very good stopover en route home

Room tip: our room was in the annexe. very quiet
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SIMONDARMSTRONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews