We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (518)
Filter reviews
518 results
Traveler rating
185
176
68
56
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
185
176
68
56
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family room breakfast room make your own chateau courtyard luggage character uzes provence
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 518 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2019

Charming, elegant and affordable, and great for kids, so what more could you ask for? We had extremely courteous and helpful reception and service. There is a very old sprawling fig tree in the court yard that is quite amazing for anyone who is into that. A great added plus is the restaurant, which we personally found to be excellent the night we were there, comparable in quality and refinement to many top rated restaurants, perhaps not with the kerfuffle of a Michelin star place, but definitely up there and one of the meals we enjoyed most on our trip. The hostess, a native from Uzes, was absolutely delightful.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2019

We drove in from Nice and after a long drive, we found the family room comfortable and my daughter loved the mezzanine floor.

However the particular person at the reception that day was a tad uptight and not exactly someone you wanto meet when you arrive.

We skipped the 3 course dinner at the chateau and drove into Uzes (5min drive) for a fantastic meal with a few restaurant options packed with the locals.

The chateau could invest in some family activities (cycles), swings in the garden area. (the cycles we found were possibly not functional and rusty ...)

The overall space is lovely to spend a few days.

We drove to Nimes on our second day. which was wonderful .

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhartiyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2018

The hotel is installed in a medieval or Renaissance mansion, renovated in the 18tth century, and subsequently converted into a hotel. The rooms are fairly good (but not altogether ours, but this is due to last minute booking). Having dinner in the courtyard is enjoyable, and the food is quite good (albeit with limited choice, so if you stay there for a certain time, it might become dull). Service is all right, in the good sense.
But the devil is in the detail: The receptionist on arrival - a rather sophisticated and condescending girl in a shiny skirt - gave us a lecture on where breakfast was served (I have staid at over 1,000 hotels in the world, so think I can manage to find the breakfast room), but never offered to call for any assistance for the luggage, and although I hinted that I would be happy to take an expensive room if only I could see one, she dumped us in what turned out to be a cheap room (not bad actually, but with the lavatory door inside the bedroom, by the bedstead. Air-conditioning did not work, neither did the television remote control, and internet was a joke. Also, two out of three lamps were out of order (I would have expected this to be checked by housekeeping daily).
The yard was infested by mosquitoes, for which the owners are not to blame, as they try to spray the vegetation, but which could be kept under control with some more drastic action.
Also, we ordered whisky and soda before dinner, but the barmaid did not know the difference between Bourbon and Scotch, served us in brandy glasses (the first time I have seen it), and the soda was already mixed when the drinks arrived.
But do not jump to conclusions: We enjoyed our stay, and the glitches noted can happen in the best of hotels. Arpaillargues also offers an excellent cost/quality ratio, and from what I hear, we were just unlucky, last-minute guests. So it is well worth giving the place a second chance.

Room tip: If you are not afraid of the stairs, try the rooms/suites in the main mansion.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank French_US_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

At a stone throw from Uzes, an oasis of elegance and simplicity. Great staff, great restaurant, beautiful pool area with a lovely lunch bistro. We loved every single second we spent there, we will be back and we highly recommend the Chateau.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Les Collectionneurs
Thank letessier2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018

A warm welcome by the staff, good information about the stay and possibilities in the surrounding, an explanation of the room and the different codes for parking and access to the building, great swimming pool, beautiful outside terrace where we had an excellent dinner, and finally a great choice for breakfast! If you book this Chateau, look forward to a Fabulous Experience, value for money.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Les Collectionneurs
1  Thank Wil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews