We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic little hotel, great service, tiny room!”
Review of U Palazzu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
U Palazzu
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Venaco
Bath, UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic little hotel, great service, tiny room!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed here for one night with my fiancee, whilst following the Tour de France around Corsica. The hotel is in a beautiful location in the hills of Venaco, just south of the main town centre. The young lady (who seemed to be running the place single handed!) was 1st class, very professional and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. She was very friendly and was happy to listen to my imperfect French. Breakfast wasn't included in the room rate, but was delicious and taken out on the sunny terrace. The actual bedroom was very small but clean and tidy and perfectly acceptable. The hotel's WiFi didn't reach to the room due to the thick stone walls of the building, which was a bit of a pain. Also, the walls are very thin and you have to be very conscious of making too much noise and disturbing the other guests. Lovely little hotel, would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where the WiFi is strong and actually reaches the room. Also, ask for a room at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gard09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    13
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I were traveling in Corsica with a flexible schedule and when we booked our room in Venaco in the middle of Corsica we thought one night would be plenty. We found that it was easy to use Venaco as a base and just take the train to other spots for hiking or sight seeing and so we booked an extra night and then again one more! As others have mentioned the staff went out of their way to help us enjoy the area. Yes , our room was small but so clean! The bathroom was new and super clean. Quiet at night, good breakfast, good wifi but mostly in the downstairs areas. We felt lucky to have chosen this hideaway!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelingigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We spent a week in this hotel (6-12.07), and took additional night as didn't really want to leave. Hotel and the area is splendid, cooler air, lot of hikes close by, quiet small villages, nature..
The hotel is new, its a 2nd season they are open, everything was working perfectly.
Location: by the main street, most beautiful building in Venaco.
We were greeted by a young Rumenian woman who is working there: she was super nice and gave such a excellent service, managing basically with all the tasks. TALKED english as well!
Room service was also excellent, every day the room was cleaned brilliantly, like 5 star hotel.
Rooms: cozy, elegant, stylish, wardrobe, TV, AC (working very quietly), table, chair. No fridge- its funny we staid in many hotels in Corsica and none of them had fridge.
Size of the rooms are not very big, we were given at the beginning room nr 4 (bigger) but we choose slightly smaller one (nr 5) as it felt more charming and windows were facing courtyard.
Although some room windows are facing the street, it is not noisy, after 9 pm-7am almost no cars passing by..
Bed was comfortable and the sheets were incredibly soft-smooth, high quality material.
Bathroom: soap, hair-dryer, shampoo, gel, soft towels (changed daily).
Breakfast: 10 eur (fruit, cereal, croissant, bread, jam, butter, cafe-tea, fresh juice, water). Another very common thing in Corsica- breakfast is almost never included to the price. I would expect it would as the hotel prices are not low at all.
WIFI- was free of charge, in the room didn't work very well, and I was given the cable, then it worked perfectly.
Eating: ca 20 m from the hotel there was Restaurant-bar- De la place, looks like nothing but the food was delicious, not expensive (mains avg 20 eur, menu 19 eur), well presented. Tried some other places nearby but this is the best. Example one dinner for 2 was 42.70 eur (1 menu, 1 fish, 2 drinks, water).

Room Tip: Rooms are all similar, I preferred with windows facing courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kadi-rei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed two nights at this hotel in June this year. It is located in the quiet little town of Venaco, only 10 KM from Corte. The Hotel has parking, very nice little rooms, fairly comfortable beds, super nice, and I REALLY mean, super nice staff, a cute little courtyard where we enjoyed breakfast and wine (our own wine, the hotel kindly provided glasses and a wine opener). Internet service is free, fast and unlimited in terms of usage. Other hotels I frequented in Europe make you pick up a code from the front desk every 2 hours, which is very annoying. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit the area, or simply enjoy a quiet, romantic weekend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LexMangin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

Arrived here by train to spend a delightful 24 hours, including a challenging walk on the hills. The nearby restaurant nicely complements the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mokeysal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Venaco
2.0 mi away
Hotel E Caselle
Hotel E Caselle
#2 of 3 in Venaco
24 reviews
4.6 mi away
Les Jardins De La Glaciere
1.2 mi away
Le Torrent
Le Torrent
#1 of 1 in Santo-Pietro-di-Venaco
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel U Frascone
Hotel U Frascone
#1 of 3 in Venaco
126 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Arena Le Refuge
4.1 mi away
Hotel U Castellu
Hotel U Castellu
#1 of 1 in Vivario
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Palazzu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Palazzu

Property: U Palazzu
Address: Serraggio, 20231 Venaco, Corsica, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Venaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Venaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — U Palazzu 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ancient dry stone house constructed at the end of the 19th century was completely renewed in 2010 to offer you an elegant and sophisticated hotel. During your stop in Venaco, you will also take advantage of the atmosphere of a typical village of the center Corsica while being in 10 mins driving in Corté, historic capital of Corsica and 1 hour of the other main places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your U Palazzu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
U Palazzu Venaco, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing