We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed bag: some very good points, some bad”

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant La Pietra
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Ile Rousse
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Mixed bag: some very good points, some bad”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The air con was good, the bed was comfortable, the TV had international channels, the view was fantastic and the location was excellent for the port. It also had a balcony overlooking the sea. My partner complained about the walk to town but it wasn't that far - just that it was very hot.

On the down side, the toilet was very dirty and we had to ask them to clean it for us; when we arrived we were quite early (12ish) and they said we couldn't check in til 3pm but they initially said that there was no room for our bags (when clearly there was).

Decor-wise, the bathroom was very good but the bath was unusually-shaped with the taps at one end and the plug at the other, it was also very deep. There was a little old-fashioned furniture, such as the headboard and the wardrobe.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    115
    34
    10
    7
See reviews for
47
143
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, very nice room with same bathroom. Nothing to complain... Nice aircon, view is good and balcony good for some sunbathing. No pool, dark hallway, rest was a-ok. Best thing was the diner. Nice restaurant, with pleassant staff. Good day menus, for good rate. Go there! Breakfast was also the best one we got in Corse. Value for your money!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We've taken about 10 trips to L'Ile Rousse over the years; on the third one we discovered this hotel, and since then, we've never been tempted to stay anywhere else. The location is tops! The hotel is situated on an island that is connected to the town by a dam. A walk into town takes about fifteen minutes, over the dam and then along a lovely seaside promenade.

Going in the other direction, one can follow the road to the top of the small island where the L'Ile Rousse lighthouse is located. From up there, the view over the town is breathtaking, especially in the early morning light. Speaking of views, those having reserved a room with sea view (highly recommended!) are truly in for a treat: the hotel is buil right on the Mediterranean, and from the balcony that each room has, one has a glorious view of it.

The rooms are simple but very clean, and they all have A/C, free WiFi, and comfortable beds. The staff are very friendly and accommodating, and the breakfast buffet is great, though we wish they served real coffee instead of the drip variety.

One caveat: for people who are not very mobile, it may not be the best choice. Most of the rooms are one or two floors up, and there is no elevator. Also, the fifteen minute walk to town is not everyone's cup of tea, even though we enjoy it. Yes, you can take the car into town, but parking is a hassle and driving in town is, too). But for anyone who is reasonably mobile, this just has got to be the best place in L'Ile Rousse. Highly recommended!

By the way, we've just come back from Corsica and stayed at the La Pietra hotel from May 9 through May 12, but the photos we've added are from May 2012. There are more of our photos of L'Ile Rousse and other places in Corsica here: <http://photos.kiechle.com/corsica>.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Everything was excellent, view of the ocean directly from our balcony, we could hear the waves at night when we went to sleep. Excellent location, water view and surrounded by natural environment. Super friendly, smiling staff, very accommodating to our needs. Big variety for the breakfast buffet, delicious! Clean and comfortable rooms. I would go back any day!

Room Tip: can't go wrong with a water side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

I spent 3 lovely nights there. The hotel has a magnificent location, directly facing the sea, and has all the comforts. Rooms are clean, silent and modern. We decided to not having the breakfast there, and definetely is the best choice. The city is full of very good boulangerie where you can have suberb breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

This hotel is right next to where the ferry comes in from mainland France. Our room had a really nice modern bathroom but the rest of the room decor need updating as well. Our view from the balcony overlooking the sea was fantastic
The French staff refused to speak English eventhough they understood what I said as they answered my question given to them in English but since we checked in late and left early and all was prepaid prior to our arrival, we did not need to communicate very much.
This old feud of French hating English and vice versa is getting very boring and old.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zandvoort, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Arriving at the hotel, I was a amazed about the location: close to the lighthouse ant the end of a small peninsula. Disadvantage is that it is located next to the dock with the ferry, but that is out of sight when being in the hotel. The staff was really friendly, answering all questions and always there for a friendly conversation.
From the hotel is indeed a 15 minute walk, but if you don't mind walking it is a lovely walk, passing by the liitle harbour and having all the time to enjoy the scenery of the mountains and sea.
And the best part is the breakfast 'room', you can take a seat on the terrace which is overlooking the Mediterranean and the beaches. Both days I stayed in the hotel I was on my own having breakfast, enjoying the breakfast as a perfect way to start the day.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ile Rousse hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Santa Maria
Best Western Santa Maria
#2 of 18 in Ile Rousse
427 reviews
0.5 mi away
L'Escale Cote Sud
L'Escale Cote Sud
#3 of 18 in Ile Rousse
216 reviews
0.4 mi away
L’Escale Cote Port
L’Escale Cote Port
#1 of 18 in Ile Rousse
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Casa Rossa
Hotel Casa Rossa
#14 of 18 in Ile Rousse
19 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel La Santa
Hotel La Santa
#6 of 18 in Ile Rousse
175 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Davia
Hotel Davia
#4 of 18 in Ile Rousse
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant La Pietra

Property: Hotel Restaurant La Pietra
Address: Way of the Headlight | Chemin du Phare, 20220 Ile Rousse, Corsica, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Ile Rousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Ile Rousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant La Pietra 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Restaurant La Pietra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Pietra
Hotel Restaurant La Pietra Ile Rousse, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing