We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location. Good value for a trendy place.”
Review of L'Escale Cote Sud

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
L'Escale Cote Sud
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Ile Rousse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We took 2 rooms - both on the small side but very nice and modern/clean. Hotel is virtually on the beach and is also right in the middle of the shops/restaurants. The hotel has a very smart cocktail bar, which is hardly used - but don't let that put you off the hotel itself. My tip would be to take breakfast at one of the many cafes nearby - much cheaper and more flexible. The rooms themselves are good value, have lcd tvs, good aircon, etc and everything is new and in really good condition. Ile Rousse is a real gem of a place - beach, shops, food - fantastic! Very relaxed and not overly commercial - it feels like a real homely sort of place. Fair amount to do nearly and not far from Calvi. We flew in via Bastia, which is actually only 1 hour away. Several quieter beaches nearby if the 'urban beach' is not your thing.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank itsthatbirdagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 240 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2010

The perfect sopt for a relaxing, romantic mini-break.
We boked the suite inadvertently and thought it was great value at £200 / night. The room was enormous, luxe bathroom with enormous shower room, separate sitting room, multiple flat screen TVs (albeit wasted on us with only French channels). But the real feature is the big decked tarrace with jacuzzi! we bought delicious cheeses and cured meats from the marketplace right across the road and had aperitive in the jacuzzi at dusk overlooking the beach.
The decor of the hotel is very clean and modern - all white and airy.

L'ile Rousse is a quaint little town - quiet and chilled. Great open air spots for coffee and a square to watch the people playing boules in the afternoon. Plus lots of lovely restaurants in the old town to choose from for dinner.

Definitely worth renting a car so you can splore the beaches a few miles either side of L'ile Rousse - 7 miles east there is an amazing, untouched beach. Also great to explore the villages in the hills.

Our one complaint with the suite was that the cleaners seem to have their 'base' right outside of the door. This meant a noisy wake up around 7-8am every morning as they rattled and banged away. they chatted loudly , not even considering the fact that their highest paid guests were being rudely awoken by all the commotion. When I asked them to please keep it down, not only did they keep talking loudly but they then didn't clean our room that day - apparently a protest. I do hope management sort out this problem as it was the one glitch on an otherwise perfect holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonCarlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

When I decided to go back to Ile Rousse, I had a more modest location in mind. The place I stayed before was full, and anywhere at a reasonable price was also "complet". We don't do trendy, but it had to be the L'Escale CS. It was dearer than we planned, and the place we had just stayed near Bastia was much cheaper and classier. But ... we loved it.

Our room was the one at the top. The lift does not normally go up there, so we had to get a lift key to work the access to the top floor. It was a mini-suite. It had a separate WC, a tiny but very nice balcony, one room and a bath. No bathroom, the bath was in the corner of the bedroom. That might sound crazy, but it was fine. The slope of the roof, and a change of level, made the bath look perfectly OK in the room. Plus, the bath was big enough for two (we tested that just to be sure).

So, we would not normally have taken such an expensive room, but it was the only one we could get four months in advance in the middle of a world recession. Ile Rousse is a chic place, and you have to pay to be in the centre. We had no problems with noise on the balcony, but at the top floor we were well up from the road. The cafes and restaurants in the street and in the square in IR were great.

Ile Rousse is a good place to travel to Calvi by train, and indeed Ajaccio for a really spectacular train trip. The bio gardens on the road to Bastia were well worth a visit. We parked the car opposite the railway station where there is a public car park - at busy times we parked down the town and brought the car up in the evening. The place does get very busy.

We did not visit the bar at L'Escale. Not our type of place. But the staff were friendly enough when we arrived and sorted out our room. We would normally avoid a chic town centre hotel, but this was really good and I would go back again - if I could afford it.

Jim

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marklejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

I only had the pleasure of one night at this fantastic hotel whilst on a business trip. I think I may have to go back for a long weekend to enjoy the hotel and the rest of the island very soon. The staff very very helpful, the restaurant was excellent, the room was modern, clean and quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westcountrybasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

This hotel is in a fantastic location for both the beach and the restaurants and cafes Ile Rousse has to offer. The staff were hard working and very gracious and you got the sense they were very much a team. Not many of the staff spoke any English so best to have a few French words ready or speak little French, but either way they were very accommodating and friendly.

The room (No.11 on level 1) we stayed in was superb as it offered (at an additional cost) a small balcony to enjoy looking out across the bay and the hills. We were also surprised to find a superb bath in the room complete with lights and jacuzzi; however the only shower was just a small handheld shower in the bath with no screen. A couple of small comments about our room are that it was over the restaurant/bar which one night did get noisy with a group of friends singing French songs until about 1am and there was no fridge or minibar. Apart from that one night the sound from the bar was fine, as the main hotel restaurant is just down the road so the restaurant/bar below our room was never really busy. High season though it might be different. You might want to ask for a room on level 2 if they are available. I would also pay the extra for a sea room view as the rooms on the side of the hotel are smaller and face a wall of the next building.

With the smaller room you don't get a bath, but you do get a good shower. You can see the sea if you open the floor to ceiling window and look to the right. We opted out of the €17 breakfast instead deciding to have a fantastic Cafe au lait at the hotel and get breakfast out or pick up some fresh fruit from the local market everything morning. The small market was superb and usually closed by about 11:30.
The look and feel of the hotel is modern chic and the bar downstairs is great in the evenings to enjoy a cocktail before heading out for dinner. Dinner wise you can't go far wrong in any of the restaurants Ile Rouse has to offer or the hotel restaurant just down the road which was very busy. My recommendation would have to be 'Bistro sur La Place' for a fantastic meal and warm welcome. Just head to the main square and you will see it near the church. Fairly costly and worth booking in advance, but the food and warm welcome from the husband (Chef) and wife were both fantastic.

I would recommend this hotel for couples, more so than families, wanting a great place to stay to explore Corsica or simply have a beach holiday and eat and drink really well. Ile Rousse is very much a French resort, complete with a Place and people playing Boules in the evening, which we thought was fantastic and delivered everything we wanted from our holiday. We only saw/heard a handful of English people for our entire week. The sandy beach was a 3 mins walk from the hotel and was great. The water is only about 1 metre deep 200metres from the shore line and very clear which is great for kids or swimmers. My recommendation would be for a cheap lunch get a takeway pizza from the most of the cafes/restaurants on the beach (Pizza a Emporter) for 8-9€ to eat of the beach.

The taxi from Calvi airport to the hotel was €63 and on the clock. Due to our flight times we also asked our taxi driver for a card and arranged for her to collect us for the return journey. If you do stay here and rent a car, parking is not brilliant and you will block the small road when you drop your bags off at the front door. One option to get to the hotel is the local train from Calvi if the times work. If you decide on the train, a taxi from the airport to Calvi station will be about 10-15€ . The train station is very samll and easy to navigate as I think there is only one line. The train itself is only two or three carriages and takes about 45 minutes running along the coast with some great views. For two people the ticket is 8€ one way. The station at Ile Rousse is only a five minute walk to the hotel. Internet access was free, but only available downstairs in the bar area.

If you do go then I hope you enjoy you stay as much as we did.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaytraveller2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

I have already started saving for our next holiday to Corsica and we will definitely come back to L'escale. It has everything that I look for in a good hotel. Beautiful design, convenient location, amazing food but above all - you really feel like a treasured guest in a family hotel rather than just a number in a huge faceless corporate chain. Antoine the owner is a gem, giving tips and excellent chat. We had perfect cocktails with a view of the sea that took our breath away. I LOVE this hotel! I want to live there!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amaliamercedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Thank Damien T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ile Rousse hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Santa Maria
Best Western Santa Maria
#3 of 18 in Ile Rousse
476 reviews
0.2 mi away
L’Escale Cote Port
L’Escale Cote Port
#2 of 18 in Ile Rousse
300 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Santa
Hotel La Santa
#7 of 18 in Ile Rousse
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Davia
Hotel Davia
#1 of 18 in Ile Rousse
179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Rossa
Hotel Casa Rossa
#11 of 18 in Ile Rousse
41 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberata
Liberata
#6 of 18 in Ile Rousse
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Escale Cote Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Escale Cote Sud

Address: 22 rue Notre Dame, 20220 Ile Rousse, Corsica, France
Location: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Ile Rousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ile Rousse
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ile Rousse
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ile Rousse
Price Range: $76 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Escale Cote Sud 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the old town and at few metres only from the beach of fine sand, the hotel is determinedly contemporary. Its design with its pure lines, its intimate spaces, as well as the noble materials will seduce you. For your moments of relaxation or restauration, the Lounge Bar "Le Rendez Vous" and our restaurant "L'Escale" are opened every day of the week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your L'Escale Cote Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Escale Cote Sud Ile Rousse, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing