We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautifal House Oustanding Area”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of St Genies

Swimming pool with view to fields
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swimming pool with view to fields
Front view of house approaching from Tremolat Back of house and garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Swimming pool with view to fields
Front view of house approaching from Tremolat
Back of house and garden
Kitchen with range cooker (not seen here)
Double room
Double room
Bunk beds
Double room with extra single bed
View from front of house to Dordogne River
An inviting pool on a hot day
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Tremolat, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John S
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautifal House Oustanding Area”
Reviewed December 3, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

One Week of Heaven , Arrived in Bright blue sunshine 24 Degrees at the end of October! the house is visually stunning with lots of character and room with everything you need for a great family holiday. We made great use of the bikes table tennis table and even the pool although a little chilly at this time of year. The house is set in a tranquil rural location with lots to do in the local area. If you like food, wine and markets this is the place for you. Monpaziers and Beynac a must. Highly Recommended will be back !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Size and character of the house and area
Liked least: Only spent a week
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S
1 review
“A wonderful house in a wonderful location.”
Reviewed August 28, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My family and I stayed at St Genies and couldn't rate our stay high enough. The house itself is lovely, the area gorgeous and there was so much to do. Our party had 4 adults and five youngsters ranging from 10 years old to 21 years old. Nobody was ever bored and full use was made of the bikes supplied, the table tennis and of course the swimming pool. The weather was perfect and we watched shooting stars in the evenings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Coming home
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smkite
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect escape for all ages”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 for a stay in July 2012

This house was perfect for two families with a toddler, teenagers and their friends. There is plenty of space both inside and outside and endless wonderful things to do. The teenagers swam in the pool, played table tennis walked in the surrounding countryside and cycled the bikes to the village - very Enid Blyton!
Our Toddler loved the pool, learned bat and ball games and rode his Trunki through the house. We relaxed by the pool, visited enchanting towns and villages and had great fun canoeing down the Dordogne.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: BBQs & Table Tennis in the Barn, Watching Shooting Stars
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkers67
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Big - Peaceful - Great for families”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at this farm house for a large family party. The newly refurbished section of the house is really well done and the property is ideal for 2 families as there are 2 staircases which means that there is a sense of separation at night time but all together during the day. The kitchen isn't massive for a large party but it has everything you need and plenty of crockery etc. This very much feels like a family holiday home that is rented out rather than a sterile rental only holiday property. The bedrooms in the older part get very hot - fans are provided but no a/c. The kids were fine but my husband and I slept downstairs on the sofa bed a couple of nights.

The outside it great! its quite away from the nearest village (Tremolat) which means that there is not much passing traffic - the patio looks a bit worn but is serviceable and the "barn with no walls" is perfect on the rare rainy days as its huge and has games in it, there was even a swing so the kids could be inside but outside nearly all the time!

The pool is a perfect size for sunbathing and swimming with plenty of outdoor furniture.

Locally there is plenty to do, albeit a drive or cycle ride away, there were some bikes there, I'm not sure if they are always there but they were great to pop into Tremolat for the morning croissant! The Michelin starred (I think!) Vieux Logis restaurant was a fabulous experience when we took it in turns to babysit for each other - fab food and a wonderful atmosphere! There were at least 2 other places to eat which were rather more "family" budget.

I'm not sure how much there would be to do in the evening for older teenagers who can't drive but as we didn't have any in our group it is difficult to assess.

I love markets so St Genis is ideally located for me with several great markets within a 30 minute drive and the prehistoric Caves are less than 45 minutes, I think if you drive directly, which we didn't!

Lemieul (?) is close by with an enchanting (steep!) walk up to the village centre. By the river there is a pizza type restaurant with outside seating and a lovely glass blowing shop where you can see the glass actually being blown. From here (as well as numerous other spots along the river) you can hire canoes to use on the Dordogne. As far as we could tell you could have the canoes all day if you wanted, the company drives you someway up river and drops you off and it seems to be up to you how long you take to get back so a picnic along the way is a great idea!

All in all this is a lovely peaceful holiday, ideal for extended or multiple families.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Rural Location
Liked least: Nothing really! Maybe the patio was a little worn but not badly!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard W
Stratfield Mortimer, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great holiday location , loads of space, nice pool and the canoeing of course!”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 for a stay in August 2012

We stayed here a few years ago and we will be back again this year, the house is very big and can accommodate 3 families, the kids loved the pool all day every day ! Nice village up the road to cycle to for the morning pan and a quick beer. We did a lot of canoeing in the river and came home very relaxed. I would highly recommend this place for a very relaxing holiday with enough around to do if you want more adventures.
Thanks Chris and Nic we will be on touch soon

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing