We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Le Vieux Logis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Vieux Logis
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tremolat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a different hotel every night in a cycling tour of the Dordogne and Le Vieux Logis was one of my favourites. The decoration of the rooms and public spaces is done with great style - something that is lacking in many hotels of this region! Our room was beautiful, with 2 windows overlooking the gardens and a pretty bathroom, also with a window (something I like very much in a hotel room).
Lovely pool. The only disappointment was their bistro restaurant across the road. Despite booking a table there months ago, and being guests of the hotel, we were offered the worst table in the house, right next to the loo, or an alternative in a cramped ante room. Our starter took nearly an hour to arrive, so we had slightly lost the will to live by the time it turned up (and had got through quite a lot of our wine!)
Next time I'll book the main restaurant within the hotel - one of the prettiest dining rooms I've ever seen.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank maximilion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
There are newer reviews for Le Vieux Logis
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 425 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

I cannot add any more to the great reviews for this hotel. The service, accommodation and food are all first rate. Its a great place to stay for a day or two, as the Dordogne is such a beautiful valley, but driving around can take a long time due to the twisty roads, so may I suggest a few days here and another few days or a week in Sarlat la Caneda, which is much more central to more of the attractions of the Dordogne Valley. Le Vieux Logis is a haven of calm and a wonderful place to spend a long weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadamJosephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Charming and interesting hotel with a variety of rooms. We stayed in an outer room which was decorated in an old India motif. Our first dinner was at the Bistro, also owned by the hotel, just steps away. The chef works out of a mini-kitchen extended into the room and my wife, who loves to cook, spent most of the evening watching him work his culinary charms and chatting with him. Great food and a great experience. The second night we ate in the hotel dining room, a beautiful room which many years ago was a stable, so many of the tables were in "stalls". Again, excellent food and service. Set your GPD for Tremolat for a fine relaxing experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joroahen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

A very nice place to stay in the tiny village of Tremolat. Food was excellent whether dining at the hotel or 200 metres away at the Bistro. This is a very old building so all the rooms are different and can be quite quirky. The staff are first rate,speak good english and nothing is too much trouble.
This a very rural part of France and can be quite deserted so a fair amount of driving to get to places.
Overall a good 4 night break.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

It is rare to find modern big city 5 star standards outside of a big city. I find that sometimes in the country side, business owners take advantage of the fact that you really have no other choice within 100 km radius. So finding a place that strives to be the best even though they don't need to be is very rare. Best food I've had anywhere (Michelin rated star), US standards when it comes to customer service and friendliness (unheard of in France), and of course the beautiful location and amenities. Love this place and come here every holiday

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zalthawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

W spent four nights at this lovely place. The rooms are comfortable but could use a bit of sprucing up. The food is excellent and the service is efficient. The reception and restaurant staff are wonderful and we received many wonderful suggestions on interesting tours in the area. The place is charming and well worth a detour.

Room Tip: The junior suites are large and quite roomy
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RS6475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

My husband and I recently took our first France vacation, and we randomly chose this hotel for the second half of our trip. We wanted to get out of Paris and experience some rural parts of the country. From the moment we arrived we were treated like VIPs. Seriously, I've stayed in a lot of high end hotels but this one takes the cake. The service is impeccable and the hotel grounds are truly breathtaking. We spent most of our five days touring nearby villages and towns, but couldn't wait to return to our little hideaway every afternoon. We had one nice day where we enjoyed the pool, and all I can say is that if you are lucky enough to find Tremolat and stay here you will remember it forever. It's that incredible.

Room Tip: We had room number 21, which was upstairs and very large. It was in the outbuilding, which is about...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank espanv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremolat
1.8 mi away
La Metairie
La Metairie
#1 of 1 in Mauzac
171 reviews
18.9 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
561 reviews
14.3 mi away
La Chartreuse du Bignac
La Chartreuse du Bignac
#1 of 1 in Saint-Nexans
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Chateau les Merles
Chateau les Merles
#1 of 1 in Mouleydier
275 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Les Glycines
Hotel Les Glycines
#1 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
318 reviews
14.4 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Vieux Logis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vieux Logis

Address: 24510 Tremolat, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Tremolat
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tremolat
Price Range: $170 - $532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Vieux Logis 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Vieux Logis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Vieux Logis Hotel Tremolat
Le Vieux Logis Tremolat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing