We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property, excellent restaurant”
Review of Le Vieux Logis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Vieux Logis
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tremolat
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, excellent restaurant”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

As part of our trip in the Perigord noir, we spent three nights at the Vieux Logis. The Property is located in the charming village of Tremolat. It is very well integrated in the village. One doesn't feel completely secluded and separated from the surrounding environment. To the contrary, it's is difficult to say where the village stops and the property starts, which is something we very much appreciated and makes of the Vieux Logis an authentic place in symbiosis with it environment and the people around. The garden is lovely, the common area such as the lobby, the restaurant and the bar are elegantly decorated. We also had a nice room with all the necessary comfort and free internet. The bathroom had a bathtub and a separate shower which we quite appreciated. The staff is generally very nice, generous, welcoming and helpful especially those at the reception. We would like to particularly thank the young lady who is generally at the reception in the mornings. She was always so helpful and warm. The maitre de maison is very dynamic and engaging. She gave us some excellent advice on what to do in the area and what restaurants to go to. We had dinner on the first night at the hotel's restaurant. The food was delicious and very creative. The restaurant fully deserves its star in the Michelin Guide. However, the restaurant personnel including the maitre d'hotel were very polite but too rigid. The servers were very distant and barely smiled. Again, they were polite but too chilly. Believe me, a restaurant can still be elegant and upscale even if the servers were warmer with the clients.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReneDijon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    80
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
69
243
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Konigswinter, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The restaurant is marvellous .... in all respects. You might have difficulties to find a better one.

The hotel on the other hand is a nice old building, well cleaned and charmingly equipped, but our room was very small. Further, there was a permanent awkward smell in the lobby and some rooms, like old burned wood.

The pool is fine, you just have to pass along the well clothed restaurant guests in your swim suit ... certainly not everybody's relish.

The receptionists and the service in general is very good.

Just go in any case to the restaurant .... you can't be wrong!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r-bier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We are used to travelling throughout Europe and stay in many top class hotels for business and leisure, including many different Relais & Chateaux members, but clearly Le Vieux Logis goes this little extra mile further than the others...Their definition of service is simply unique, just as is their understanding of customer satisfaction, their way of never saying no, the smiles the staff offer at anytime of the day...the list goes on. To put it in another way, they make you feel at home and part of the family, where you know that you can pretty much as for anything and as long as it is done with respect and appreciation, you know before you ask that it will be with pleasure! On top of that the buildings, facilities and surroundings are simply superb, with their recently refurbished rooms, reflecting at the same time the chic and subtle touch you look for.
Having stayed there back in 2008, we knew at the time with my then partner, that this would be one day the place where we would get married...and guess what...5 years later we just went on and did it. The challenge, or what we thought would be challenge, was to manage the entire preparations for 60 guests, being 500 miles away. Challenge it was not to be, as they simply managed everything for us, relying on trust and modern technologies, from flowers to decorations, church books, DJ, photographer, gifts for guess, jazz band, printing, binding...all we had to do was to read mails and say yes or no, and if need be they would keep presenting other options. Simply great and such a weight off our chest, allowing us to focus on other aspects. Forget about wedding organisers, and save your money for renting the complete place for the weekend, draft the outlines of the menu with the chef, leave his inspiration do the rest and ask the sommelier to align his wines with him, for you and your guests to then enjoy the great results.
We have recommended this hotel to many people, including friends and family whom have since never been disappointed and like us, keep coming back for more.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Olivier C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

At 8am on July 17th, 2013, there began scraping of the exterior walls, moving around clanging ladders, and looking into the room windows, bathroom included. I brought this to the attention of the receptionist at 8:15am, letting them know that that kind of work at the hour was inappropriate, but they said it was just their gardeners scrapping ivy off the walls. They did nothing to ask them to stop and return later. This hotel forgets that the primary thing being purchased is a good nights sleep, and gardeners scrapping the walls at 8am is not condusive to that. This is supposedly a four star hotel, but few, if any, one star hotels would even do this. Their staff attitude shows a complete lack of respect for its guests.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EvanL1346819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

A TREMBLING BEAUTY: The charm of Trémolat’s LE VIEUX LOGIS

The rolling French countryside around the Dordogne River is a charming, rural haven – easily accessed from the hubs of Bergerac and Perigueux. Enjoying idyllic time-travel, one meanders through medieval villages, past ancient, stone churches, and through picture book countryside. There are overhanging trees, sparkling rivulets and crescent shaped rivers. Trémolat boasts an eye-stopping, natural bend in the river known as the Cingle de Trémolat; hosts a wonderful Relais & Chateaux Hotel and pays court to two historic churches. (The impressive Church of St Nicholas is built on the sacred ruins of Trémolat’s first, 9th century church.)
A short distance away are the attractive towns of St Cyprien; Limieul - toy-sized and pretty as a picture postcard - and the slightly larger market town of Le Bugue - just waiting to wecome you to lunch.

But the half-hidden, piece de resistance is an incredible, country house hotel. This old Perigord farmhouse was once a Carthusian monastery, then a tobacco farm and has now re-invented itself as a 4-star luxury hotel. It has been in the Giraudel-Desord family for centuries. You will be surrounded by family heirlooms and delight in the antique furnishings – and maybe, even a four-poster bed! The old smoking lounge has a museum-like quality, displays arrays of cigars, and recalls a past era with vivid clarity. A rivulet trickles through the beautiful, landscaped gardens and gently babbles past the captivated diners on the leafy terrace. The formal restaurant, once the tobacco drying barn and now luxuriously furnished and displaying priceless tapestries, so captivated the American author, Henry Miller, that he stayed a month – to imbibe all that this lovely house has to offer. (No doubt his abiding impressions found an outlet in printers’ ink.)

Do dress to impress and treat yourself to a candlelight dinner in the main restaurant – you will not be disappointed. Try the truffe en croute and the canard et pomme de terre farcie accompanied by Bergerac wines of the region.

We, too, were captivated and after discovering this hide-a-away two years ago, we made the pilgrimage again this year. The welcome at Reception is exceptional: nothing is too much trouble for the front of office staff (thank you, Emilie,) and the large bowls of floribunda roses from the garden and glass urns of tempting chocolates make checking in a delight. So impressed were we with the warmth of the welcome that, this year, we arranged to meet friends in the hotel and enjoyed a milestone holiday.

Not finished yet, there is another pearl to add to the string of gems. The hotel owns a Bistro (The Bistro de la Place) just outside its front gates and will make the reservations for you and add the tab to your hotel bill. This Bistro is one of the ‘finds of France’ as, for a very few Euros, you will enjoy marvellous meals and carafes of well-selected French wine. While it is a pleasure to sample the very best that the Dordogne can offer – at prices to match – it is also a pleasure to find food that is delicious and affordable. Perhaps this Bistro is the best kept secret of all and is perhaps worth the price of an air ticket just to partake of its tasty dishes. The whole parcel is a tasty dish and is highly recommended

Room Tip: Garden rooms are quieter and have patio doors opening onto the terrace and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Relais-Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed outside the lovely village of Tremolat on the cingle of the Dordogne recently. One Sunday we had lunch at the Vieux Logis, it was a wonderful meal from start to finish, the creme brulee with foie gras was a real hit with me. The whole experience the meal, the hotel which oozed of class inside and the garden and the welcoming staff was an unforgettable experience. I think I will be keeping the Vieux Logis as a favorite on my computer for a long while so I can relive the experience again and again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank El2012WexfordIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Very lovely mansion in the middle of a very romantic village in the middle of nowhere. We just loved it!

We took a junior suite because we were travelling with our baby and the experience was very nice and smooth.

We will write a review on the restaurant because the restaurant makes the stop even more compelling.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mobida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremolat
1.8 mi away
La Metairie
La Metairie
#1 of 1 in Mauzac
168 reviews
14.3 mi away
La Chartreuse du Bignac
La Chartreuse du Bignac
#1 of 1 in Saint-Nexans
227 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Les Glycines
Hotel Les Glycines
#1 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
236 reviews
18.9 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
533 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Vieux Logis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vieux Logis

Property: Le Vieux Logis
Address: 24510 Tremolat, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Tremolat
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tremolat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Vieux Logis 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Le Vieux Logis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Vieux Logis Hotel Tremolat
Le Vieux Logis Tremolat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing