We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous restaurant, convenient hotel”
Review of Le Vieux Logis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Vieux Logis
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tremolat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The restaurant is marvellous .... in all respects. You might have difficulties to find a better one.

The hotel on the other hand is a nice old building, well cleaned and charmingly equipped, but our room was very small. Further, there was a permanent awkward smell in the lobby and some rooms, like old burned wood.

The pool is fine, you just have to pass along the well clothed restaurant guests in your swim suit ... certainly not everybody's relish.

The receptionists and the service in general is very good.

Just go in any case to the restaurant .... you can't be wrong!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r-bier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 441 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

We are used to travelling throughout Europe and stay in many top class hotels for business and leisure, including many different Relais & Chateaux members, but clearly Le Vieux Logis goes this little extra mile further than the others...Their definition of service is simply unique, just as is their understanding of customer satisfaction, their way of never saying no, the smiles the staff offer at anytime of the day...the list goes on. To put it in another way, they make you feel at home and part of the family, where you know that you can pretty much as for anything and as long as it is done with respect and appreciation, you know before you ask that it will be with pleasure! On top of that the buildings, facilities and surroundings are simply superb, with their recently refurbished rooms, reflecting at the same time the chic and subtle touch you look for.
Having stayed there back in 2008, we knew at the time with my then partner, that this would be one day the place where we would get married...and guess what...5 years later we just went on and did it. The challenge, or what we thought would be challenge, was to manage the entire preparations for 60 guests, being 500 miles away. Challenge it was not to be, as they simply managed everything for us, relying on trust and modern technologies, from flowers to decorations, church books, DJ, photographer, gifts for guess, jazz band, printing, binding...all we had to do was to read mails and say yes or no, and if need be they would keep presenting other options. Simply great and such a weight off our chest, allowing us to focus on other aspects. Forget about wedding organisers, and save your money for renting the complete place for the weekend, draft the outlines of the menu with the chef, leave his inspiration do the rest and ask the sommelier to align his wines with him, for you and your guests to then enjoy the great results.
We have recommended this hotel to many people, including friends and family whom have since never been disappointed and like us, keep coming back for more.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Olivier C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

At 8am on July 17th, 2013, there began scraping of the exterior walls, moving around clanging ladders, and looking into the room windows, bathroom included. I brought this to the attention of the receptionist at 8:15am, letting them know that that kind of work at the hour was inappropriate, but they said it was just their gardeners scrapping ivy off the walls. They did nothing to ask them to stop and return later. This hotel forgets that the primary thing being purchased is a good nights sleep, and gardeners scrapping the walls at 8am is not condusive to that. This is supposedly a four star hotel, but few, if any, one star hotels would even do this. Their staff attitude shows a complete lack of respect for its guests.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EvanL1346819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

A TREMBLING BEAUTY: The charm of Trémolat’s LE VIEUX LOGIS

The rolling French countryside around the Dordogne River is a charming, rural haven – easily accessed from the hubs of Bergerac and Perigueux. Enjoying idyllic time-travel, one meanders through medieval villages, past ancient, stone churches, and through picture book countryside. There are overhanging trees, sparkling rivulets and crescent shaped rivers. Trémolat boasts an eye-stopping, natural bend in the river known as the Cingle de Trémolat; hosts a wonderful Relais & Chateaux Hotel and pays court to two historic churches. (The impressive Church of St Nicholas is built on the sacred ruins of Trémolat’s first, 9th century church.)
A short distance away are the attractive towns of St Cyprien; Limieul - toy-sized and pretty as a picture postcard - and the slightly larger market town of Le Bugue - just waiting to wecome you to lunch.

But the half-hidden, piece de resistance is an incredible, country house hotel. This old Perigord farmhouse was once a Carthusian monastery, then a tobacco farm and has now re-invented itself as a 4-star luxury hotel. It has been in the Giraudel-Desord family for centuries. You will be surrounded by family heirlooms and delight in the antique furnishings – and maybe, even a four-poster bed! The old smoking lounge has a museum-like quality, displays arrays of cigars, and recalls a past era with vivid clarity. A rivulet trickles through the beautiful, landscaped gardens and gently babbles past the captivated diners on the leafy terrace. The formal restaurant, once the tobacco drying barn and now luxuriously furnished and displaying priceless tapestries, so captivated the American author, Henry Miller, that he stayed a month – to imbibe all that this lovely house has to offer. (No doubt his abiding impressions found an outlet in printers’ ink.)

Do dress to impress and treat yourself to a candlelight dinner in the main restaurant – you will not be disappointed. Try the truffe en croute and the canard et pomme de terre farcie accompanied by Bergerac wines of the region.

We, too, were captivated and after discovering this hide-a-away two years ago, we made the pilgrimage again this year. The welcome at Reception is exceptional: nothing is too much trouble for the front of office staff (thank you, Emilie,) and the large bowls of floribunda roses from the garden and glass urns of tempting chocolates make checking in a delight. So impressed were we with the warmth of the welcome that, this year, we arranged to meet friends in the hotel and enjoyed a milestone holiday.

Not finished yet, there is another pearl to add to the string of gems. The hotel owns a Bistro (The Bistro de la Place) just outside its front gates and will make the reservations for you and add the tab to your hotel bill. This Bistro is one of the ‘finds of France’ as, for a very few Euros, you will enjoy marvellous meals and carafes of well-selected French wine. While it is a pleasure to sample the very best that the Dordogne can offer – at prices to match – it is also a pleasure to find food that is delicious and affordable. Perhaps this Bistro is the best kept secret of all and is perhaps worth the price of an air ticket just to partake of its tasty dishes. The whole parcel is a tasty dish and is highly recommended

Room Tip: Garden rooms are quieter and have patio doors opening onto the terrace and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Relais-Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed outside the lovely village of Tremolat on the cingle of the Dordogne recently. One Sunday we had lunch at the Vieux Logis, it was a wonderful meal from start to finish, the creme brulee with foie gras was a real hit with me. The whole experience the meal, the hotel which oozed of class inside and the garden and the welcoming staff was an unforgettable experience. I think I will be keeping the Vieux Logis as a favorite on my computer for a long while so I can relive the experience again and again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank El2012WexfordIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Very lovely mansion in the middle of a very romantic village in the middle of nowhere. We just loved it!

We took a junior suite because we were travelling with our baby and the experience was very nice and smooth.

We will write a review on the restaurant because the restaurant makes the stop even more compelling.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mobida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a beautiful night at the restaurant - starting with champagne cocktails with delicate amuse bouche in a delightful drawing room whilst reviewing the menu...
The 7 course set menu with tasting wine chosen, my wife (pregnant) knew both the cheese and wine was off the menu - which was a little unfortunate as they were terrific.

The dining restaurant was very well laid out - even though we managed at last minute to reserve the last table in the restaurant, we didn't feel hemmed in... Attention to detail from service to presentation was exceptional.
The food - wow a delight.... From asparagus salad to simply stunning lamb every course was terrific.
Yes it was above our normal budget - but we felt it was worth it and as the weather had been so poor this evening was a welcomed pleasure.

May be a while until we can return - but we will.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremolat
18.9 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
592 reviews
14.4 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
282 reviews
9.8 mi away
Chateau les Merles
Chateau les Merles
#1 of 1 in Mouleydier
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
La Chartreuse du Bignac
La Chartreuse du Bignac
#1 of 1 in Saint-Nexans
248 reviews
5.2 mi away
Le Manoir De Bellerive
Le Manoir De Bellerive
#1 of 1 in Le Buisson-de-Cadouin
37 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Metairie
La Metairie
#1 of 1 in Mauzac
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Vieux Logis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vieux Logis

Address: 24510 Tremolat, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Tremolat
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tremolat
Price Range: $176 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Vieux Logis 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Vieux Logis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Vieux Logis Hotel Tremolat
Le Vieux Logis Tremolat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing