We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner at Vieux Logis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Vieux Logis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Vieux Logis
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tremolat
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Dinner at Vieux Logis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We dined at the restaurant while holidaying near by. Probably one of the best experiences of fine dining that we've had. The service was excellent, attentive but discreet. We were able to enjoy a pre dinner drink in the garden before taking our place inside. The restaurant is tastefully decorated and tables well spaced. The food was exquisite, using the best of local ingredients and seasonal produce. The flight of wine that accompanied the menu was well varied but matched the food perfectly. Couldn't fault a single thing about our meal.

We didn't stay at the hotel, but if the accommodation matches the restaurant I'm sure it's luxurious.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irlrobins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction324, Responsable réception at Le Vieux Logis, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Sir,
We thank you very much for your review on our restaurant. We have transmitted to our Chef and his team and also to our restaurant manager.
We hope having the pleasure to welcome you next time to the hotel.
Best Regards,
Estelle Lepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    76
    18
    7
    5
See reviews for
67
223
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

I went to lunch with my family on a glorious summer day. We sat in the garden and had the tapas menu of 8 perfectly tasty and appropriately sized courses. The venue was first rate, the food excellent, the service was good and efficient but a little cold.

This could have been a perfect lunch if a smile and a goodbye had been offered.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Partner792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction324, Responsable réception at Le Vieux Logis, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Sir,
We thank you very much for your comment following your lunch in le Vieux Logis.
We just regret the feeling that you had about a cold service and we do apologise for the lack of smile and politeness.
We hope you will be back to see that this is not our usual behaving with our customers.
Best Regards,
Estelle Lepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

On the way to the coast we had to cover more than 1.000 km. In order to still enjoy the holiday feeling and also to have a variation in the trip we have chosen a stop over of three days at this hotel. We had a great time, for the river Dordogne is a pleasent area to be at - plus the hotel offers lovely rooms, excellent food and warmhearted professional service. The design is country mixed with colonial style. Even our dogs had been welcomed warmly - for the kids the pool was fun, though the weather was not hot at the time of our stay. Our stay was embedded in care and attention of the local staff spiced with a great sense of humour. Our rooms had been located in the cottage, second floor. First floor might be a little dark but still lovely to be at. They have a bistro and a restaurant for dinner and lunch and both are recommended. The bistro is easy going and a reasonable alternative if you don't want to spend the whole evening with dinner.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank extravehicular_ops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction324, Responsable réception at Le Vieux Logis, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
We thank you very much for your review following your stay to Le Vieux Logis. We were very happy to read that you have enjoyed the time you spent with us in the area and we hope having the pleasure to welcome you again in the next future.
Best Regards,
Estelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

I can not speak highly enough of this hotel. It was lovely. The service was fantastic and understated. Every comfort was seen to.

And the restaurant was superlative. If they do not have a Michelin star yet, they are well on their way.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusannaRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction324, Responsable réception at Le Vieux Logis, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
Thank you so much for your comment and for your wonderful compliments that we have transmitted to everyone here.
We hope having the pleasure to welcome you again very soon to le Vieux Logis and hope you will live other beautiful moments.
Best Regards.
Estelle Lepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield CT
Level Contributor
112 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

We had booked 2 rooms of the highest class and when we arrived we were shown the first, which was on the ground floor, dark and smelt strongly of mildew. The other room was ok, but also very dark. I was disappointed with what they had offered us and when we requested, they helpfully showed us 2 other rooms that were available. One in the far part of the property, #15, which was very nice, and a room at the top of the main building that had a pretty view #11 ( which actually was one grade lower and less expensive, but lighter and more open ). Be aware that this room is rather noisy though as it looks over the restaurant. The pool and grounds are very pretty, and the terrace where lunch and dinner served very attractive as well. We had dinner there the first night we arrived, and unfortunately we were not impressed. The food was good, but the service was in fact quite poor. Disorganized and distracted. I’m not sure if one person looked us in the eye the entire meal. Another night we ate at Le Bistrot and it was good, somewhat grumpy service, but a nice change from haute cuisine. You need to request a table outside unless you want to roast inside. The best restaurant in town in my opinion is the pizza/italian place, which I wrote a separate review for.
Housekeeping needs some help. After the first night, there was never another bottle of water, no additional coffee pouches, or lotions. We were surprised when we checked out with the cool reception we received. The invoice showed breakfast for 3 of us for 2 days, which we did not have. When I let the lady know this she said “Yes, my colleague told me this, but I thought I would check with you anyway.” I guess checking with us meant adding it to our bill without mentioning anything?
We left feeling that it was a comfortable yet average stay in a very pretty area. We love the Dordogne area and will return, but probably not to this property.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinclair36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Responsable réception at Le Vieux Logis, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
We thank you very much for your comments about Le Vieux Logis, following your stay in June. Even if we have found two rooms that you liked, we are very sorry about the problems you met in our different services (restaurant, housekeeping and reception). We try every day to make our clients feel like at home and we regret that we didn't succeed. If you have had the impress that we wanted you to pay some breakfast that you didn't have, be sure that it is not and will never be the case in our house. Thank you again. Your comments will help us to improve our service and we hope you will give us the chance to visit us again.
Best Regards,
Estelle Lepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumner, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

This hotel was arranged for us by a bicycle tour company as part of our package, so we hadn't known to expect such an incredible place. Impeccable service, gorgeous grounds, a wonderfully charming hotel and a restaurant where we had truly memorable, 10-course meal. One of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Responsable réception at Le Vieux Logis, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
Thank you so much for your comments following your stay to Le Vieux Logis. We are very happy to have made your stay a memorable moment. We hope having the pleasure to welcome you again.
Best Regards,
Estelle Lepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 days in late May. We had an incredible visit! The hotel is comfortable and the grounds are spectacular. The location is great for visiting the area and the staff were all so friendly and helpful. They told us about small towns and areas to visit and were just so nice. We had one dinner which we loved sitting outside looking over the gardens. It was very special experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhuby2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction324, Responsable réception at Le Vieux Logis, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your comment. We are all very happy that you enjoyed your stay to Le Vieux Logis.
We hope having the pleasure to welcome you again very soon and help you to live another special experience.
Best Regards,
Estelle Lepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremolat
18.9 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
9.8 mi away
Chateau les Merles
Chateau les Merles
#1 of 1 in Mouleydier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
14.3 mi away
La Chartreuse du Bignac
La Chartreuse du Bignac
#1 of 1 in Saint-Nexans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
19.5 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Metairie
La Metairie
#1 of 1 in Mauzac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Vieux Logis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vieux Logis

Property: Le Vieux Logis
Address: 24510 Tremolat, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Tremolat
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tremolat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Vieux Logis 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Vieux Logis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Vieux Logis Hotel Tremolat
Le Vieux Logis Tremolat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing